We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better.”
Review of Clube Vilarosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clube Vilarosa
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Nice apartments, but bigger complex then what I thought when booking. Pool does get busy, with stag parties etc so can be loud. Plus the locals come in to use the pool as well, the pool has got gated entrance but they leave them open for everyone to use.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawesje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Clube Vilarosa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 143 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Visited Vila Rosa for 4 nights out of season in January. Unsurprisingly the main pool was closed. So too were the restaurant and bar. In fact the only thing open was a small pool.
Hotel is 8 mins from the beach and main bars / restaurants etc. I stayed in a studio apartment that was very spacious. In season these would be above the bar but lovely and quiet at this time of year. I had apartment 6 which seemed the best room as it was on a corner so had a massive balcony.
Small but functional kitchen. No washing brush, washing up liquid or tea towel though which wasn't helpful.
I'd happily stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room C6 was the best studio apartment due to size of the balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pete_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I spent 7 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment and had a wonderful time.Clean rooms,friendly and helpful staff,nice ambiente, very tidy environment. It is very nice place to travel in spring or fall, if you would like to have a relaxing and peaceful holiday.I wouldn't reccomend to travel in summer, as it may be very crowded. Only the breakfast didn't really meet my taste: I could choose between English breakfast,Sandwiches or Omlett with french fries.This kind of breakfast is too heavy for me,I would prefer the continental breakfast or some local food or fruits.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olgitta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on here I was a bit worried, I didn't need to have because we had a wonderful time. We had a three bedroomed apartment and it was absolutely brilliant and spotlessly clean. Nothing it's to much trouble for the staff. We ate a couple of times at lunch in the pool bar and that was very good and not overpriced. It's about 10 mins walk onto the main strip where you will find lots of bars and restaurants. We ate somewhere different every night and didn't a one bad meal. The best was in the Miral which is just under the bridge, it was full of local people but the staff made us really welcome and the food was amazing and not expensive at all. We had one shared starter and five adults main courses a jug of sangria, bottle of wine and a large beer for 70 euros can't beat that can you. Please if you do go call in at Bacchus Bar where Arthur the owner is a brilliant host and deserves your custom he works so hard.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room well worth the little bit extra.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed 7 nights in a superior 1 bedroom apartment overlooking the circular quiet pool. 2 adults and 2 children ( aged 9 and 4). Very pleased and had a great time. Grounds are grassy, pretty and buildings attractive with low rise apartments. It was spacious, clean, small balcony but enough room for table and 4 chairs. On the top (2nd) floor I would not recommend for people with pushchairs or mobility problems etc. The ground floor would be better as you get a terrace or small garden. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Pools were never packed even in August and there was no bagging of sun beds, which was SO nice. 10 min walk (with 2 kids) to main row of shops, restaurants and a beautiful sandy beach. Lots of choice to eat and a small selection of kids activities at night (e.g. go karts, trampolines). We kept returning to the Pizzeria and Taffy's Grill as we had fussy eaters. The walk there was not brilliant or pretty as you cross a bridge over a busy road. Spar located at the top of the this road is much better than the Vilarosa shop. Its a long staircase down to the beach from the top, but worth it as the sand and water is safe and perfect for playing and paddling. We did a day trip to Slide and Splash which was brilliant. I would recommend VilaRosa if you are choosing this resort. However, I would choose a different resort next time in Portugal.

Room Tip: If you struggle getting up stairs, ask for a ground floor room. There are no lifts.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

spent 10 days at clube vila rosa and must say had a very relaxed time. Stayed self catering but the on site pool bars where excellent and the food and service great. The food in Portugal is fantastic and we eat out 8 out of the 10 nights and had a lovely meal each time. Would recommened for a meal saffari in pria de roshsa and titanic as well. Clube vila rosa was a grat place to stay and would go back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for a long weekend at the beginning of August. When we arrived although there was a wait for a our room the staff were excellent and spoke perfect English.
As we were on a budget, my partner and I were apprehensive about the quality of room, service, etc. we would receive. We were delightfully surprised!! The room was more than we could have ever hoped for!! Kitchen and bathroom were modern and clean even included a washing machine. Modern air conditioning system. Dual aspect room. Sweet little balcony. Cleaners came everyday with fresh towels and so on. Pools were great and even though was the middle of summer was never packed.
Location was perfect as we did not have transport. Praia da Rocha is around a 5 minute walk. So easy to find. Major supermarket walking distance. Night life was great with great restaurants lining the cliff tops.

Would highly recommend if on a budget!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia5194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
0.1 mi away
Vila Rosa Hotel
Vila Rosa Hotel
#13 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,031 reviews
17.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Yellow Alvor Garden
Yellow Alvor Garden
#15 of 24 in Alvor
664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#10 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Vilarosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Vilarosa

Address: Lote 1 Rua da Vila Rosa, Portimao 8500-782, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Portimao
Price Range: $43 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Vilarosa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clube Vilarosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Vilarosa Portimao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing