We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pirate ship tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Bernarda

Santa Bernarda
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pirate ship tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The tour was excellent. We were taken down the west coast of the Algarve near Albufeira and stopped to see all the caves along the way. You also get to taken in small boats through the caves in the dark. Its definitely worth seeing if you like to see something different! You can do an all day tour or half days.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anjellyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    37
    3
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We couldn't understand anything the captain was saying in English or Portuguese.
they didn't make it fun or exciting. Basically not great tour guides. Boring and dull.
Water got choppy, not their fault but they cancelled the trip early and didn't give out refunds or discounts. Went first week in September

Helpful?
Thank nikistevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Highlight of holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Being sailors we went on the afternoon trip to visit the caves. We were fortunate that there was some wind behind us so the sails went up - really fascinating to see how the old-style sails went up in comparison with a modern sailing yacht. We transferred into small motor boats to go into the caves. The waters were quite choppy but we were able to see and enter all the caves. The Captain was impressive, speaking 4 languages. We motored back as we were going straight into the wind so swimming/snorkelling was cancelled but we werent too worried about that! For 27EUR per adult it was well worth the money. FYI the trip is normally 30EUR but the agent we booked through was giving 10% off.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fiona186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A memorable morning cruise...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We picked the 4-hour morning cruise specifically because we were advised that the waters are calmer and therefore able to go into most of the caves... which was perfect! Truly enjoyed the whole relaxing ride, eventhough it was quite chilly. Loved that they are prepared on board with jackets for anyone who might need it, they also served coffee and other snacks and beverages. We just took everything in, the clear waters, fresh air and majestic coastline... snapped great pics!
The captain spoke in few different languages fluently, but it was difficult to hear what he was saying 90% of the time...would certainly help if spoken a tad bit louder.
Also, we arrived by car to the boarding dock after few phone calls of trying to identify/looking for signs where exactly is the meeting point. The map displayed on their website is rather unclear, we ended up parking few blocks down.
A proper clear signage or representative there standing by at the boarding dock would've helped us identify, as we arrived there about half hour before schedule and the boat or staff was not there yet.
Nevertheless, we truly enjoyed the unforgettable cruise and the caves, and for only 30 Euros/person... it is definitely worth it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahpangkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
164 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fun and enjoyable trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We went out on the Santa Bernarda during late May and had a very enjoyable experience. The captain was great, gave directions in four languages. It was a rough weather day, so he was especially diligent about explaining sea sickness and willing to give back fees if anyone was concerned. We still went and enjoyed the voyage. Unfortunately, we did not get to visit the caves due to the rough conditions and the concern for safety. If i had more time in the area, I would have gone back for a calmer sail.

There is plenty of free parking at the docks, for those with cars. It is not a real easy trip to the dock area due to the one way streets. Be careful that you don't plug the company into the GPS and go to their office. It is not where you actually board the boat.

There was quite the assortment of young and old on the boat - so unless you really get sea sick, it is a good trip for all ages.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank henry21_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Bernarda also viewed

Portimao, Faro District
Praia da Rocha, Portimao
 

Been to Santa Bernarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing