We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value around”
Review of Foz do Banho

Foz do Banho
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Monchique
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best value around”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a family run restaurant and gift shop. Every year it just gets better and better, the food is great at very reasonable prices and the service is good and friendly, in winter there is a log fire. I recommend the pork and prawn cataplana. This restaurant is what Monchique is all about, Authentic!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NS357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    77
    10
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the mountains for my money”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Have eaten here on every one of our several holidays on the Algarve. Great food, good choice, generous portions, friendly service, an idyllic outlook from the rear terrace. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank captainblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice view, average food”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a leisurely lunch here on a cool, sunny day. The best part of the experience was the lovely view of the valley from the terrace. Wine was good; food was average. Our pork had a nice taste but was definitely overcooked. My husband and our friend had the squid and enjoyed it, I thought the taste was too strong. There was not much of a selection for our vegetarian friend (as is the case in much of Portugal), but her omelette and french fries were acceptable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donostia (Basque Country)
2 reviews
“We won't come back”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We are a Basque couple with a second residence in the Algarve. Due to this we frequent the restaurants located in the Serra de Monchique zone. On March 31st, after making a phone reservation we went to this restaurant. On arriving there they surprised us with no reservation. Upon our enquiry they proceeded with the usual chain of excuses and lies (sorry, no written record of your phone call, etc.). Finally they gave us a badly situated table on by the bar, on the entrance. Unfortunatelly is not the first time this happen to us in his zone of the Algarve and we have already met this kind of lack of consideration towards the customer. We will not come back again. As to the gastronomic experience we found it within the normal, without any extra quality, but not bad either. Price/quality ratio was good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juan M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

been using this restuarant for over 10 years.
excellent food, very generous portions, if your not a big eater ask for a small meal.
the house wine served in terracotta jugs, is very good.
And if you can get a seat on the terrace, you have a view down the mountain to Portimao.
Very good value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deburto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foz do Banho also viewed

Monchique, Faro District
 
Monchique, Faro District
Monchique, Faro District
 
Monchique, Faro District
Monchique, Faro District
 

Been to Foz do Banho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing