We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    Spa d'Alma(Monchique)
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Free Parking
      • Breakfast included
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Pool
      • Room Service
      View Hotel
      Good 3.5/5
      • Free Parking
      • Breakfast included
      View Hotel
      • Pool
      • Restaurant
      Reviews (425)
      Filter reviews
      425 results
      Traveler rating
      104
      169
      93
      33
      26
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      104
      169
      93
      33
      26
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsvilla termaltapas barspa resortthermal bathsdecent standardbad weathersmall hotelsdecoration stylelovely corner roomnice squareamazing locationup to daterestaurant foodthe main hotelpool bardifferent buildingsatlantic coast
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      124 - 129 of 425 reviews
      Reviewed July 10, 2013

      The location of this place is stunning. Caldas de Monchique is like a spa village in a lush valley. The rooms are nicely decorated and very well kept. Breakfast is amazing, as is the restaurant. The pool area is clean and well maintained and the service level is very high. If you are a couple looking for a special treat, just go to this place! We simply loved it.

      • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank Kalle K
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações com clientes at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

      Dear Guest,

      It was a pleasure to receive you both in Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa Resort! We would like to thank you for your kind words about our services and staff.

      We will always be available for any question and we will try to give you our best offer for your next stay!

      Please contact us anytime you need!

      Best Regards,

      Villa Termal das Caldasde Monchique, Spa Resort

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed July 8, 2013

      Came here as we passed through due to recommendation and decided it would be great to stay at the end of our holiday - the town itself is very pretty and a lovely shaded break from the strong Algarve sunshine. The hotel is nice - we stayed in the old section overlooking the square. The only problem - the 'spa'! I was led to believe that this had been a spa town since roman times - so when we paid 25euros to enter a dirty, cold and ugly 1960's building I was quite suprised. It felt more like a local authority council estate swimming pool than anything luxurious - the treatment rooms looked better suited to a hospital than a resort. Also many of the jets in the pool were broken - the styling was awful, dirt and mould were present in the tiles and the sauna and steam room felt like they were harbouring legionnaires. This town has the potential to be wonderful but the spa completely lets it down - all they need to do is hire a decent architect and spend some money. Bring some of the towns charm into the spa! My advice - visit the town by all means but avoid the spa - not worth any money

      • Stayed: July 2013
        • Value
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      5  Thank lngboarder887
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações com clientes at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

      Dear Guest,

      It was a pleasure to receive you in Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa Resort! We would like to thank you for your opinions and suggestions about our service.

      We will always be available for any question and we will try to give you our best offer for your next stay!

      Please contact us anytime you need.

      Best Regards,

      Villa Termal das Caldasde Monchique, Spa Resort

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed July 7, 2013

      It was just amzing. One of natures natural creations. We wanted somewhere quiet and relaxing. We got exactly that! We booked a standard room and it was lovely. We were in the Estalagem do Sao Lourenco.
      Set in a ravine in the beautiful mountain of Monchique. It feels a million miles from anywhere yet is only 20 minutes from the coast.
      Breakfast offers something for everyone and it was so lovely to sit and eat in the square outside the restaurant. We also ate dinner there. The 'dish of the day' is very good value for money.
      Monchique water is provided in the rooms every day and a lovely touch is the lovely green apples in a basket by the pool and also at reception.
      In the Central Hotel, which is where the reception is there is a lovely terrace where you can read a book and look down the valley . There are lots of quiet shaded areas where you can just be alone if you want to .
      The staff were helpful.
      Because of the location, it is very steep so not suitable if you have walking difficulties.
      We enjoyed it so much we are going again later in the year.

      • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank grandmaportugal
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações com clientes at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

      Dear Guest,

      It was a pleasure to receive you both in Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa Resort! We would like to thank you for your kind words about our services and staff.

      We will always be available for any question and we will try to give you our best offer for your next stay!

      Please contact us anytime you need!

      Best Regards,

      Villa Termal das Caldasde Monchique, Spa Resort

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed June 26, 2013

      We needed a few days of rest after lots of walking and cycling and this place was perfect. Quiet, cool and very restful and I thought very good value for money - €61 per night including breakfast. There is a lovely pool with lots of towels and water and green apples - all provided free for your good health. The spa was wonderful and I had my first ever facial - it will not be my last. Hotel Central was a very clean, quiet relaxing place to hang out with a really excellent breakfast - very fresh fruits, homemade jams, eggs, lovely pastries, bread and cake. We ate in the restaurant one night but found this did not match the standard of everything else even though the waiting staff were lovely. The main courses were disappointing and the chef had not been informed of menu changes so I got something different from what I had ordered!The desert was very good so this was some compensation.

      Room Tip: All the rooms seemed good
      • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank bayheads12
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed June 2, 2013

      My partner booked this and i did not see the reviews below beforehand. They must have got their act together since last year.
      Superb value spa high in the hills far from the madding crowd. A slightly fantastical collection of buildings set in sunny valley a bit like a mini Port Merrion. We paid 178 euros for 2 nights B&B with two treatments included each. Booking these was mildy chaotic. The pool was in a lovely sunny hollow for guests only and we had jealous day trippers peering over wall at us.
      We stayed in the hotel next to reception. Large room with antique furniture looked over a beautiful courtyard. Excellent buffet breakfast in 1692 restaurant and the deal included wine with dinner one night. Rooms with spa access can be had from 50 euros per night (not per person) and we extended our stay!

      • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Pikeman1963
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações com clientes at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

      Dear Guest,

      It was a pleasure to receive you both in Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa Resort! We would like to thank you for your kind words about our services and staff.

      We will always be available for any question and we will try to give you our best offer for your next stay!

      Please contact us anytime you need!

      Best Regards,

      Villa Termal das Caldasde Monchique, Spa Resort

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews