We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monchique
llangollen
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“peaceful paradise”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having visited Caldas de Monchique previously I decided Id like to invite my man to share this piece of paradise with me when he flew out from UK. Leaving the greyness behind he arrived not knowing what I had planned for our 5 days together.
Id spotted a special offer of 2 days B&B, one evening meal (with wine included if desired), and two spa treatments each and two full days use of the spa facilities and outdoor pool where we enjoyed the seclusion of a private area. The cost a mere 188 euros.
The hotel room was known as Charming - and it was. Regally decorated with full bathroom en-suite, shuttered windows and a view across the courtyard, which because it was out of season was quiet in the evening. The room was furnished clasically. Aircon was installed and a bar fridge available.
The hotel itself boasted a beautiful quiet sitting room which was a wweclome cool space.
The staff were friendly and helpful, as where the restaurant staff. The food was delicious. The five course meal included in the offer would have cost us 57 euros. Breakfast was ample. Cereals, fruit, cheese n meat, toast and eggs to order. Bought seperately that would have cost us 8 euros each.
What I really appreciated was the gluten free cereal and bread they supplied at no prior notice.

The treatments were good value for money. We both enjoyed a vigorous massage which was like no other ive experienced. We particularly appreciated being massaged in the same room together. Lovely and intimate experience.
One thing to note is that it is compulsory to wwear a swimming cap in the pool as it is in all pools in Portugal and Spain apparently.
Another noteable point is that in the offer the massages were only 20 mins and so we extended to 50 mins. there was an additional cost of 25 each for this. Well worth it tho.

What makes it extra special for me is the setting. An old style cobbled village with nooks and crannies, pathways and best of all the natural features. And of course, you must have a drink from the Font de amora for eternal health and loving heart.

Room Tip: 3304 overlooks the courtyard where the restaurant is. In the season it may bet a bit noisy, but for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitorsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações com clientes at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to receive you both in Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa Resort! We would like to thank you for your kind words about our services and staff.

We will always be available for any question and we will try to give you our best offer for your next stay!

Please contact us anytime you need!

Best Regards,

Villa Termal das Caldasde Monchique, Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    147
    74
    25
    20
See reviews for
75
208
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had our wedding here in September 2012. Having researched multiple venues throughout the Algarve we decided on the scenic mountainous area of Caldas de Monchique over the typical beach & coastal options because of its unique and tranquil setting. We were not disappointed. It is simply the Algarves hidden gem for weddings.
Pedro, Tiago and Anna from Villa Termal were exceptional from start to finish. Their attention to our needs and requirements, and their handling of the wedding ceremony and celebrations was excellent. The church, the hotel, the reception, the photos all take place within 500m of each other, yet they all offer a different perspective of this amazing area.
The small tree covered church and grounds located beside the hotel and set behind a small stream, offers the most beautiful setting for an intimate wedding, whether it is held on the steps outside of the church or inside the gorgeous old chapel.
After the ceremony we strolled back to the the hotel where we held a drinks reception on the hotel balcony overlooking the valley of Caldas de Monchique. This was a perfect location to unwind and relax before the most amazing meal in the stunning tree lined, cobble-locked courtyard of the hotel. The standard and quality of the food was superb, as was the entertainment all set out below the natural canopy of the beautifully lit trees. The nearby natural spring and lovers fountain also offers a unique setting to have the perfect wedding photos taken.
We really cannot recommend this area enough as a wedding venue. It is also only a short 30 minute drive from the beautiful fishing village of Alvor and easily accessible from the A22 motorway.
We used 'Class Travel' as our local wedding planners and they delivered in every single way possible. Their local knowledge and advice really helped this to become our perfect wedding day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações públicas at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Gary,

Thank you very much for your comment and preference about Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique.

Iwas a pleasure to welcome you and your family on this day so special.

Thank you for the wonderful photos that other users can view the surroundings.

Hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

The Team of Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Central in the historical area of Villa Termal Caldas de Monchique for two nights, the hotel and surrounding area have a very "fin de siècle" atmosphere, with lovely decoration, the bedrooms are big and sunny, bathrooms were good. Everything quite clean and the staff very nice. The thermal waters and spa facilities are very good and the surroundings beautiful. It's very close to the beach (Portimão is only 20km away) but really green and hilly and perfect for hiking. The drawback was that the room was too noisy (I could hear the TV and talks from next door), the new hotels in the resort are probably better.

Room Tip: Hotel Termal is probably the best choice in the resort if you're really into the spa and thermal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abetarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We just went as day visitors to the spa and were disappointed. The staff were unhelpful and did not tell you what facilities were available or where they were. The small pool itself was nice but there are two small saunas and one of these was not working so there was a long wait for the only one that was. The steam room was not working either and we had not been told this before we paid. When we asked about the steam room the member of staff went to find out but never bothered returning to tell us. No dry towels given to you for a shower and changing after. It wasn't terrible, but over-priced and could have been a lot more enjoyable with better service and working facilities.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 765Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have stayed at Estalagem S. Lourenço (one of the hotels of Villa Termal Caldas de Monchique) for 1 night and I have enjoyed the facilities. Although the hotel is not a 4star, the bathroom was very good, the bedroom had a good size and the breakfast had fresh seasonal fruit. The location is great for people surching for a quiet place to stay surrounded by the countryside!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my husband last month while visiting friends for a special occassion. The main problem was NO HOT WATER at various times throughout our stay. In fact we managed ONE hot shower late afternoon on day one. I asked at reception and they said they would look into it, however the next day, same problem. We actually had to shower at our friends place.
When we tried to have breakfast on the Monday we were leaving, it was not served until 8oclock(very late for a weekday morning). However, by 7.55am they were not even set up so we cut our loses and decided to get on our way as we had a flight to catch.
When we went to reception to check out it was unmanned. Eventually we found a worker who could not speak English and simply took our room card. We asked to see someone about the bill but there was noone else available. On returing home I got an email requesting full payment, although they did acknowledge we had attempted to see someone. I explained the problems we encountered. There was no explanation but an offer of a free Spa treatment-really? We live in the UK so an empty offer! Their next move was to get our credit card details from the booking agent (thank you bookings.com) and simply took the money. Steer clear- this is NOT even a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Over the years we have eaten here on several occasions. This year however was the last. Our family were ignored to the point of bigotry. When our meals did eventually arrive the vegetables weren't cold they were frozen!!!! The failures of this hotel and it's restaurants are SYSTEMIC and it's hard for me to conceive of any time soon when I would consider parting with my hard earned cash for such deplorable service. My advice to all go across the square to the little family run hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monchique
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Monchique Resort & Spa
9.4 mi away
Colina dos Mouros
Colina dos Mouros
#1 of 1 in Silves
264 reviews
10.1 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Morgado Golf & Country Club
10.0 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#17 of 76 in Portimao
297 reviews
14.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort

Property: Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort
Address: Caldas de Monchique, Monchique 8550-232, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monchique
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monchique
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the top of Algarve!Resembling a white village perfectly nestled among the Monchique Hills, Villa Termal features an outstanding Thermal spa using the only thermal waters in the south of Portugal . An indoor warm rich mineral water pool and exquisit facial and body treatments and massages by La Phyto are a welcoming card.The elegant and charming rooms distributed through 5 unique lodging complexes, are furnished with 18th- and 19th-century pieces.Guests of Villa Termal Das Caldas De Monchique Spa Resort can enjoy some great tapas and a glass of local wine at the stone-walled bar " O Tasco". The 1692 Restaurant offers a grill menu and Portuguese cuisine with traditional delicacies from the Monchique region, including special meat dishes.The outdoor swimming pool is surrounded by green garden and padded loungers. Besides relaxing in the sauna or steam bath, guests can enjoy walking and mountain biking tours in Serra de Monchique National Park. Other Nature related activities are available including canoeing, Climbing, Paintball, mountain bike downhill just 10 min away.Perfect for a relaxing getaway or an alternative holidays, the Villa termal das caldas de Monchique is 20 min away from the main stream locations, 25 min from the The best Algarvian beaches on the Atlantic, 40 min from the best wild Alentejo coast and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Termal Das Caldas De Monchique Spa And Resort
Villa Termal Das Caldas De Monchique Hotel Monchique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing