We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing WE”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Catarina

Villa and Pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa and Pool.
Sun bathing terrace and pool. Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Villa and Pool.
Sun bathing terrace and pool.
Lounge
Entrance Hall
Bright alfresco dining area
Pool and Sun Loungers.
One of the garden relaxing areas.
Kitchen.
The Master Bedroom
Shaded Courtyard
Gazebo next to pool.
View of Kitchen
Hall and Staircase
Ground Floor Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
One of the Bathrooms.
Lounge and Dining Area.
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Another view of Master Bedroom.
Ground Floor Twin Bedroom
Villa and Pool
Gazabo
One of the al fresco dining areas.
Pool at night
Gipsy Market in Loule
A typical wide sandy beach
View over sea at Sagres
Sunny Roof Terrace
Part of the Garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Loule, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
grantwall...
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Did not match up to the previous reviews”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I am not sure if the standards of the cleaner have slipped since the previous reviews. Dirty, drainage problems, broken washing machine, layers of dust and cobwebs, damp rooms, damp bedding, dirty pool, old towels, broken heater (caused an electric shock) dead bird inside the door as we arrived, large sharp staple on top of one of the beds intended for one of the children, dirty bedding, water kept cutting out and pump needed re-setting on a daily basis. This villa is just about child friendly but certainly not toddler friendly, Seems to be some kid of building/renovation work going on within the grounds which makes the garden look messy and less relaxing. Maybe our standards are high but paying £100 per night we would expect some care and attention before our arrival. We ended up spending the remaining 3 days of our holiday elsewhere as it was becoming an unhappy experience.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2017
I cannot believe the lies he has put in this review and I stand by the previous reviews as we have the same excelent cleaner as before. He leaves much to be desired as a guest as he left the toilets unflushed and he used an expensive bed cover in his childs cot. He only contacted me 2 days after his arrival as he was unable to turn one of the showers on. I told him how to operate it and on the next day he sent a message saying 'all is good' he also mentioned that there were some leaves in the swimming pool that I told him he could remove these with the net provided, notwithstanding that I arranged for my pool cleaner to attend to check the pool and he found nothing wrong with it. I never heard from him again until he left this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen K
1 review
“Amazing WE”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Casa Catarina is the perfect location if you are looking for a spacious, bright and warm place to spend vacations.
The villa is near to the beach (5-10 mins by car) but you will enjoy spending time in the swimming pool.
I had an amazing time and will be back for sure!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden and the pool
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoccoSido...
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good option”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We have spent about two weeks with friends at Casa Catarina; the villa is pretty well maintained overall, interestingly decorated, clean and equipped with all the basics you'd require during your stay in Portugal.
As mentioned in former reviews, more comfortable beds would be an added value, although good enough for a short stay.
The outdoor areas and gardens are pretty well-maintained at first sight but would benefit from further attention if you go more into details. The small pool comes as a welcome relief during these hot sunny days in Algarve.
This independent villa is pretty isolated about 10 minute drive from the nearest town and all commodities, restaurants, etc... and about 30 minutes to the main popular beaches, hence a vehicle is necessary as there's nothing around at walking distance. However its central location is certainly very convenient to access the highway and most touristic attractions in the region. The main road and its traffic just overlooking the pool deck is unfortunately spoiling a peaceful and relaxing environment during peak hours. At night, you'd be very lucky to get over barking dogs from the neighboring properties disturbing a good night sleep.
We've certainly enjoyed our stay in general and would recommend this property to holiday-makers who are actively visiting the region, but would recommend 'home-birds' to seek alternatives.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The paintings on the walls... :-)
Liked least: The traffic noise just down the road
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renardo01...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely villa”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Catarina in August, the weather was beautiful, very hot indeed, the villa needed more fans as it doesn't have air con. we did have the windows open where the mosquito nets were, but not all bedrooms have mosquito nets. There was a little road noise and barking dogs in the evening. The beds were rather uncomfortable too. But other than that, the villa was very well equipped, and seeing as it is a work in progress, the decor is beautiful. It was extremely clean, bedding was clean, towels were supplied and they all smelt fresh. The pool and surrounding area is beautiful, sunbeds and patio chairs and tables were new and all in working order. Bathrooms and kichen were well equipped too. Bar-b-q was clean, and the area surrounding it was clean too. The villa is close to Loule town and the supermarkets, but you do need a car, which is fine because you can venture out to the other lovely places nearby. We had a fab holiday and would stay at the Casa Catarina again.

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaC14
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely beautiful villa in a lovely location. Had a fabulous holiday and stay here couldn't have asked for more. It felt like a home away from home and we all settled in straight away with ease and did not want to leave when the time came. We could've happily stayed another week or more if we could. I would definitely reccomend staying here.

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen A
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, comfortable, gorgeous pool, well equipped villa”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful holiday. The villa is excellent. Very comfortable, with all mod cons. Large spacious rooms and lovely gardens. Some great restaurants including, The Birds Nest and a local suckling pig restaurant. Supermarkets in Loule have everything you could need. Gorgeous beaches are only a short car journey away, but with such a fabulous pool never felt the need .......... will be going back to Casa Catarina next year.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well kept and comfortable villa
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela H
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in July 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing