We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent facilities, beautiful horses, stunning scenery and a fabulous host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Da Ribeira

Monte Da Ribeira
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monte Da Ribeira offers riding lessons, hacks, all-inclusive riding holidays, livery and pony club throughout the year. Fantastic hacking in the beautiful countryside near Loulé. Lessons catering from complete beginners to training in jumping and dressage. Happy and healthy horses and ponies in a friendly and confidence inspiring setting. Very reasonable rates and experienced, qualified staff. Great facilities and top quality livery.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities, beautiful horses, stunning scenery and a fabulous host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I visited Monte Da Ribeira for a riding holiday last week and I returned feeling completely refreshed and ready to start the new year. The owner, Katharine, made me feel very welcome and cooked up mouthwatering dishes every night and lots of homemade bread. Luckily the riding offset all the calories as hacking through the gorgeous surrounding countryside gave me a good workout. The horses were beautiful and well mannered and I felt completely safe. I was allowed to help out with grooming and rugging up at night but there was no pressure to help out, I just enjoyed being around the horses. I even managed a trip to nearby Loule where there were some good shops dotted along the picturesque cobbled streets. I thoroughly recommend Monte Da Ribeira for an energetic but relaxing break.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford Lincs
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent horses, excellent surroundings, excellent everything!! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Each year i visit very close friends in Portugal and each year we ride!, My friends keep their horses with Katharine at these stables where they are much loved and very well cared for. Katharine is a wonderful person with endless patience and full of fun and a huge confidence giver, not one ounce of panic about her! The stables are spotless as are the horses and the whole place has a sense of tranquil flow about it.
You can take a ride fast or slow according to ability or just how you feel and be well looked after taking in the beautiful scenery and then be offered a lovely cold drink and a piece of cake at the end.

This year my 13 year old daughter rode Annie who is only 4 years old, BRILLIANT!!

Take a look for yourself you won't be disappointed! Thank you Guys!

Jacqui from Stamford Lincs
Jacqui

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent friendly horses & owner very well organised & taken care of thx Natalie & the girls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Couldn't fault this place my girls go every week to a stable day on a Saturday where they learn to look after the horse have rides out in the beautiful countryside or lessons in the arena . I go when I can & the horses are so friendly well looked after and it's very organised , great place worth a visit wonderful rides out very scenic & peaceful

Helpful?
Thank Nataliealgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilamoura, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun, safe & beautifull horses!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you want to get an impression of the real Portugal, go and ride at Monte Da Ribeira, The countryside is stunning!
Compared to most riding schools, the horses at Monte Da Ribeira are healthy, happy and safe ro ride.
The English owner of the yard, Katharine, is very kind and patience. She also gives very good lessons in jumping and dressage and is really good with children.

You definitely have to visit this yard when you want to go horseback riding in the Algarve!

Maaike van Ginkel

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maaikeerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loule, Portugal
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reasons to explore & to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It is hard to find words that would be good enough for description of this marvelous place... Tranquility, joy, stunning nature, noble and well-behaved animals, ...
For me this place is the reason why I will come back to Portugal or maybe one day my own horse will grow up there.
Thanks to Katharine Cook, whose great experience and priceless influence, made this place the warmest horse riding center in the whole Algarve!
Visit it and you will never regret!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Da Ribeira also viewed

 
Loule, Faro District
 

Been to Monte Da Ribeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing