We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gypsy market ok, local town market FAB!”
Review of Loule Gypsy Market

Loule Gypsy Market
Ranked #12 of 27 things to do in Loule
Attraction details
Rainhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gypsy market ok, local town market FAB!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to the Gypsy market which was a bit of fun, there's lots of fake stuff and traders will make bracelets with yours/kids names on for a couple of Euro's. Not much else really however go into the town itself and you will find a great indoor market on a Saturday.

When we went there was a Chocolate Festival on so as you can imagine my other half was delighted. Lucky we had left the kids at home otherwise it would have been very messy and expensive. (before anyone asks we had arranged childcare and hadn't just left them with the dog!).

Anyway back to the market and town. It's a very pleasant town with many traditional 'features' including old blokes enjoying a coffee and a cigar in the street café's. There seems to be a fruit stall every 10 meters but the atmosphere of the town is really warming and traditional.

The council were putting up signs for a fiesta the following weekend and it looks like there's regular events.

Well worth a visit!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    30
    76
    49
    40
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit, but the food market definitely is”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The indoor food market with fresh fish and vegetables are really worth a visit and we loved the town. I don't think the gypsy market is any different from any other market, can get exceptionally hot in mid summer. Maybe worth a visit at other times of the year?

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Town worth a visit, gypsy market overrated”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Gypsy market was overrated, but the town is definitely worth a visit! The locals have their own market on saturdays, which is bigger and better. You can get just about everything. The actual gypsy market is poor and they all sell almost the same things and we were offered drugs a few times. The town is beautiful, no problems and weren't offered drugs this time!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuanaJ444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for handbags!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visited the Gypsy Market as part of a half day visit to Loule. As other posters have said, a lot of the stalls sell similar items, but I found it was good for handbag shopping. We enjoyed haggling and enjoyed the atmosphere. We weren't overly hassled to buy unless we stopped and picked things up to look at which is then to be expected!

Apart from the main site of the market, there were lots of stalls dotted around the town with some lovely traditional type products for sale. We visited Loule again on another day when the market wasn't on and it was like visiting a completely different place - no atmosphere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rehcaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“WORST EXPERIENCE.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Myself and Boyfriend went on a day trip to Loule,
This town is beautiful and brilliant for fresh, homemade produce, however our visit was completely spoilt when we visited the gypsy market, where we were hastled non stop to buy, they offered us drugs and intimidated the life out of us.

You can get some bargains,but I wish that we hadn't wasted out time their.

DO NOT GO WITH CHILDREN,

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Janie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loule Gypsy Market also viewed

 
Loule, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 

Been to Loule Gypsy Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing