We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment within a few minutes walk to the...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa do Pinhal

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lagos, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ginandbit...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment within a few minutes walk to the beach”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is located just a few minutes walk from Meia Praia beach so is an ideal location for beach lovers. The accommodation is really spacious, very clean and comfortable with two full size bathrooms. All of the equipment in the kitchen was of good quality and worked perfectly. What isn't mentioned in the description of the property is that there is air conditioning which we found essential given the very high temperatures during our stay. There is also a safe which was a welcome bonus. There are two balconies - a large one at the front which is ideal for eating and sunbathing on. An outdoor table and chairs, a parasol and sunbeds are provided. The small balcony off the kitchen at the back of the apartment is ideal for drying clothes and there is a clothes airer with plenty of pegs available.
We arrived very late at the apartment but we were met by Carlos who showed us how everything worked. There was a welcome pack there with a bottle of water, red wine and a some tea and coffee sachets.
One thing that we did find surprising is that there are no shops whatsoever close by to get even the basic food items. There is however a really good supermarket Pingo Doce which is fairly close to Lagos marina. We did a couple of big shops there and got a taxi back to the apartment (no more than 5€).
There is a bus service no.2 that goes along the beach road into town and further. If you are planning on using the bus a few times it is worth getting a travel card from the bus station. Ten journeys for 11€ - if you then top the card up it is 8€ for ten journeys. The card is valid for journeys anywhere within the Lagos bus network. The bus station is just on the old town side of the marina footbridge.

Meia Praia beach is lovely, really soft sand and clean water. Sunbed hire varies depending where you go and what type of sunbeds you choose - 10, 12, or 15€ per day for two beds and an umbrella. There are several beach cafes for drinks/lunch during the day and these then become restaurants for dinner in the evening.

I think I'll stop now - I could go on indefinitely!

Summing up... the apartment is ideal for self catering (once you have planned your food shop) and perfect for the beach. It is a great place to unwind and relax. If you are looking for nightlife then Lagos is only about 20 minutes walk away.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
We feel glad to know that you have enjoyed. Thanks a lot for your extensive and fair comment..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoJo1963...
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Apartment/Condo in Lagos”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I had a wonderful stay in Lagos, Algarve, staying in Paulo's apartment/condo. This was our favourite spot that we visited in Portugal.
Lagos is a lovely small town - lots to do, see and great choices for bars and places to eat.

Communication with Paulo (the owner) prior to and after our stay was prompt and helpful. Carlos (the agent) who met us for check in was very helpful.

The condo was very clean, spacious, bright and well equipped. The beds were comfy and the large balcony was a great place to start and end each day! There is only partial views of the ocean but we still enjoyed the balcony.

Maia Praia beach was wonderful and only a few min. walk away (very clean with great sand).
We enjoyed walking to and from Lagos but did take advantage of the little train when we were too tired.

This is a newer listing but don't let the lack of reviews concern you - you won't regret it. I'm sure that by next year Paulo's apartment will be constantly booked.

We really enjoyed our time in Lagos!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed Lagos and the apartment. We always try that our guests feel confortable and have nice days in Casa do Pinhal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsGodd
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous apartment in Lagos!”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My family and I have just returned home from a fantastic holiday in Lagos, Algarve, staying in this beautiful accommodation.
Lagos is a lovely small town with an old world charm in the historical side and modern around the marina. Plenty of bars and places to eat.
We have had great communication with Paulo (the owner) and Carlos (the agent) throughout our stay, where they answered our queries promptly and were helpful at every turn. They offered to book transfer taxis and let us store our luggage in the private garage as we had to wait a few hours (by the pool) after we checked out before our transfer back to the airport. Nothing was a problem.
The apartment's location is a 15 minute walk from Lagos - along either the beach or the road- so walking back with groceries or a day out in town had to be well organised - hopping on the little tourist train from town back to the Maia Praia area. This train was a godsend but could sometimes be late.
I'm a wildlife nut - and the accommodation block backs on to some scrubland with walks along an old track and there were amazing birds (bee-eaters and azure winged magpies) and insects to spot in this area, even at night where there are little owls in the roof of an old hut and red-necked nightjars everywhere.
The accommodation itself was almost faultless. Spacious and roomy, with a little balcony from the kids room and a rear balcony off the kitchen for drying clothes, etc. One large balcony to the front with access from the master bedroom and lounge area. The views were onto a road but it was quiet and pretty and facing south so was a lovely sunny spot to unwind. You can see the sea through the gaps in the accommodation in front.
The kitchen was well stocked with all the equipment you would need and beds and bedding in the bedrooms was great.
The pool wasn't free and we arranged with Anna (lovely lady who owns the pool) to use the pool for 20 euros per day (5 euros each person) You could also pay for a week's usage via Carlos for 30 euros each, though we didn't want to be tied to the pool for a solid week.
The beach Maia Praia was amazing and is a 2-3 min walk away across the railway tracks. It was lovely and clean (in fact the whole place is clean and well looked after) and the sea is cold but refreshing and safe for kids to paddle being gently shelving and not rocky at all.

We had a wonderful holiday and plan to come back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: No mirrors in bedrooms.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2016
Mrs. Godd
Thanks for your pleasant comments.
For us it is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the appartment and the summer days at Lagos. We try to do our the best in order to be a confortable stay.
We are always opened to sugestions to improve the service. All the best to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 17, 2017
Cara Cristina Costas Gil,
Agradeço as palavras simpáticas. Procuramos fazer tudo para que os hospedes tenham uma estadia agradável. Será um prazer recebe-los de novo.

Cumprimentos,
Paulo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aline D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2016
Dear Aline
Thanks for your pleasant comments.
For us it is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the appartment and the summer days at Lagos. We try to do our the best in order to be a confortable stay.
We are always opened to sugestions to improve the service. All the best to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing