We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"spur of the moment visit"”
Review of Restaurante Mare

Restaurante Mare
Ranked #126 of 477 Restaurants in Lagos
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 7, 2017

Just before Christmas my wife and I visited the "Mare" restaurant. We saw a "sandwich board" advertising a mixed seafood platter for euros 19:90 Taking the lift (elevator) to the restaurant, with probably the best view in Lagos from its terrace. We ordered 2 soups. Prawn and a French Onion,both good. The Onion soup would have been even better if the cheese had been melted a little. The seafood platter consisted of, 2 fillets salmon, 2 fillets monkfish, 2 sizeable Tiger Prawns and a helping of grilled octopus pieces, new potatoes and mushrooms and peppers in a sauce. Plus a side salad each. We also had an excellent white wine,a small bottle of water, a brandy and 2 espresso "bica" coffees. Grand total just over 34 euros. Served by a very pleasant. helpful waiter. He even turned down the volume on the sound system for us ! We will definitely return. VFM

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank philip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 255 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2016

Beautiful terrace but pity that they exagerate in pricing their drinks. The wine was not extremely good, but the price of our bill wat a bit of a ripp off. nearly 13 euro's for 2 small coffee and 2 glasses of wine. Not strange that we were the only ones on the terrace.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank donnat719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Only stopped for drinks one saturday lunch time amazing views friendly staff had a nice atmosphere will definitely visit again when in Lagos.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
Thank StocktonSween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016

We only grabbed coffees here but it was a great place to relax - staff were so friendly, and the coffee very good!

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank MrTwizzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

My mum and brother and I had dinner here on our first night in Lagos. We enjoyed it that much that we went back again the second night. The staff were friendly with good English, and the good was very tasty. All with a beautiful view overlooking the harbour.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Stacey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Mare also viewed

 
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing