We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Didn't want to come home”
other travelers have booked this property
Pool in Marina Park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool in Marina Park
The Lounge The Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Pool in Marina Park
The Lounge
The Dining Area
Main Bedroom
bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
kitchen
bathroom
balcony
Tennis courts
Children's paddling pool
kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Lagos, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
SuperMarr...
Gloucester
1 review
“Didn't want to come home”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed here for a week with my two daughters at the beginning of July. The apartment is HUGE, especially when there's only 3 of you - and that's without including the patio, which runs the whole width of the apartment and hence is also enormous. It's a ground floor apartment, and there's not much of a view to be honest, but we loved sitting out there anyway round the great big table eating our breakfast, or at any other time with a book and a glass of Portuguese vino.
There are 3 bedrooms, two of them twins and the third a double (with patio door and its own bathroom). Loads of room, wardrobe space etc. They each have air-con too, which was a godsend.
The living/dining room is so big you could get tired walking from one side to the other, and, because it belongs to somebody, feels very homely. Air-con, lovely comfortable sofas, enormous big dining table. A smart TV with lots of British channels and radio stations, DVD player and stereo are provided, and the wi-fi never faltered, even with all 3 of us using it at once.
There's a kitchen area (with serving hatch) which has all your basics for cooking etc in there, plus a washing machine and dish washer.

Just outside the entrance to Marina Park is a little shop which sells all your necessities, but more importantly, fresh croissants, pain au chocolat and bread rolls, which were really nice (and cheap). We were in there every morning. The Pingo Doce supermarket just down the hill sells everything else, plus there are another couple of bigger supermarkets in town.

As for Lagos, it's a small, lovely, laid-back place, not particularly suffering from the stag and hen partygoers. The marina was 10 minutes walk down the hill - we timed it wearing flip-flops - and although it's a hill, it's not exactly Mount Everest. It's a doddle, people were going up it on bikes. To walk on past the marina to the nearest point of the beach was another 10 minutes max, but you could always drive down, as there's loads of (free) parking.
The beach is gorgeous, and the water lovely and clean, and there are life guards keeping an eye on things. To hire 3 sunbeds and an umbrella was 15 Eros per day. Also, you've got several bars/restaurants along the beach, including Linda's, where we had a nice bit of dinner one evening.

We really enjoyed staying here and wished we could've had longer. I'd recommend this apartment (and the service we got from Lisa and Paulo) to absolutely anybody - the only reason I didn't give full marks is because the poolside bar was closed all week! Shame, because the pool itself is great and it would've been nice to sit and eat/drink down there. But never mind, even without that it was spot on. Wish we were still there!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
I'm so pleased you enjoyed our apartment and Lagos. I had no idea the poolside bar wasn't open as this has never happened before. I'm checking with marina park management company to find what's happening.
I do hope you visit again.
Kind regards Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly B
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect apartment - book it now!”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was everything and more than me and my 6 friends needed it to be - it was clean, spacious and well decorated throughout. The pool at marina park was lovely and the staff at the poolside bar couldn't do anything more to help you. We also made good use of the tennis courts while we were there and had great fun in doing so!
A 10 minute walk down the hill from the apartment takes you straight through the beautiful marina to the centre of Lagos where there are loads of lovely restaurants and bars, we particularly enjoyed our visit to 'The Orangery Bar and Grill' where we watched our steaks cook on volcanic rocks. The beach is also just a stone throws away as it is only a few minutes walk from the marina; it too has plenty to offer including sunbeds, volleyball nets and several water sport experiences. All in all I couldn't fault the apartment or the holiday and would like to thank the owners and their support staff for the use of their apartment and for making our arrival and departure stress free, we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma Y
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a beautiful apartment”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have been staying at Marina Park for a number of years however this is the first time we have stayed at The Gainsford's apartment. The apartment was lovely, extremely spacious and very well equipt, there was nothing more we could have asked for. We especially enjoyed the use of stero system and the CDs left in them.

The apartment is well located, within walking distance of the Marina, town centre and the beach.

We would most definitely recommend this apartment to anybody wishing to enjoy beautiful Lagos.

Many thanks for such an easy booking.

The Young Family

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallygile...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday appartment!!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Apartment was perfect! Such a great location, situated a stones throw from the marina which has lots of great bars and restaurants, only a 10 minute walk into Lagos town from apartment too!
The beach is only a short walk away only a few minutes from the marina and has lots of things to keep busy or relax loads of sun beds as well as surfing, volly ball nets and restaurants right on the beach! The pool at the appartment was great, with the main pool and children's shallow pool would definitely reccomend to families!!
Apartment itself was clean and had everything you could need wifi, TV, comfy beds, kitchen had all essentials and outdoor eating area was perfect!
There is a small shop on marina park which was perfect for grabbing the essentials fresh bread and croissants for mornings large bottles of water, milk ect! There was also a bar restaurant right next to the pool which we made great use of for lunches and drinks!
Had such a fantastic holiday would definitely reccoment!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERTRAND9...
Reims, France
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: la grandeur de l appartement
Liked least: un petit peu eloigne de la plage
Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing