We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boavista Golf Resort
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I normally travel to Vilamoura for my family holidays but last August I went to Boavista Golf. It was our first time in western algarve and, although it was windy, we had a great time.
The golf course is good, the staff is nice and the clubhouse is impressive. Great short-game area but the driving range doesn't allow for woods to be used. The family enjoyed the indoor pool and the SPA.
We are considering going back next year.

Room Tip: Choose the apartments facing the 14th tee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    78
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
128
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Boavista appears to be run by Brit expats with ideas above their station, who seem to believe that this holiday golf resort in bankrupt average acreage in some way equates to Sunningdale. Visitors felt uncomfortable.
Compare with Palmares, staffed by friendly Portuguese for whom the priority was making their guests feel comfortable and happy, which we were.
Always go back to Palmares, which we did, would never go back to or recommend Boavista.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Thribb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

After visiting and staying at this Resort on a couple of occasions, we decided to buy a property there. The Resort is beautifully maintained, the properties of very high quality, and the golf course is challenging and interesting with wonderful views. 'Boavista' means 'good view' and you will see why when visiting this resort. There are spectacular views of the Lagos Bay, and also the Monchique Mountains. In addition to the Championship Golf Course, there are Outdoor heated Swimming Pools, floodlit Tennis Courts, a Children's Play area, and an onsite Spa with an Indoor Pool, Jacuzzi, Gym, Sauna/Steam Rooms and a wide range of Spa Treatments. The majority of the accommodations are well appointed with Flat screen tv's, Sky satellite channels (including BBC, ITV etc), fully fitted kitchens with Dishwasher/Washing machines etc. There are many lovely beaches close by, and we have found a long list of excellent restaurants catering for all tastes and budgets.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The golf course itself is well maintained but everything else is lacking. We stayed in one of the 4 bed villa overlooking the first hole. The villa itself was lovely but not cleaned when we arrived or after further visits from the cleaners - dirty linens are a big no no. Used to be two different restaurants but the nicer of the two has closed down. The clubhouse restaurant is very average especially considering its a golf course. Spa/gym facilities were nice but the indoor pool attached is not supervised and full of kids playing without parents while the outdoor family pool and other child pool sit empty. It, like many parts of Lagos and other nearby towns, seem to have suffered from the recession as development has stopped in the available plots in the resort. Quite a trek to Lagos - car or taxi required.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rainbowbrite89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a very pleasant week staying at this lovely golf resort.
We had a two bedroomed apartment overlooking the second green of the golf course. The accomodation was first class with all you could possibly need. Cleaners in every day! The golf course and surrounding gardens were kept to a high standard as was the Club House and everyone was very friendly. You need a car to get about to near Lagos which we enjoyed. Went to some lovely restaurants. The beach at nearby Salema is a must. It is our first time to this area of the Algarve, we will definitely be back to Boavista.

Room Tip: choose a room nearest to clubhouse santa catarina block is well placed. Grounf floor units have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed here in a friend's apartment for the fourth time recently for a golf break. The standard of maintenance of the grounds is very high as is the accommodation. We went to another resort to play on one day which was nowhere near as well maintained. It makes such a difference. Staff are very friendly and helpful and a lot of familiar faces which is also a good sign. We only had breakfast in the restaurant but its still very good. As others have said, no need to be a golfer to enjoy Boa Vista. It would make a good base for a family holiday.

Room Tip: Think you could rely on getting a nice unit practically anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbutkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auch, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed for a week in a 2 bedroom Apartment in Fairviews, quite near the indoor & outdoor pools, bar & resturant (only open Thursday to Sunday when we were there) Took them 3 days to replace 3 light bulbs that were "out" when we took over the property & part of the en-suite door lock was missing so we could not shut the door, not good while on the loo!! The engimne called shruged & left & the door remained open. The apartment was fine but small balconys, gardens well kept & fairly quiert apart from the none-stop dogs at nights!!! Need a car to get to the town or beach, but easy to get to from the motorway. (Fuel in Portugal exspensive as are new road tolls). If you want beach or town in walking distance this is not for you. Fine if you like golf. Cost was high for the time of year we stayed, discovered we could have got a much better deal at other complexes. Lagos is loverly & will go again but not to this site.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,962 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.9 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.8 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boavista Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boavista Golf Resort

Property: Boavista Golf Resort
Address: Quinta da Boavista SA, Lagos 8601-901, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lagos
#6 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#10 Family Hotel in Lagos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boavista Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Boavista Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boavista Golf Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing