We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere in a garden setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uma Casa a Beira Sol
Ranked #12 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay here. It was a relaxed break midway through an 8 week tour. We found the staff friendly and helpful with advice of where to visit and to eat. The suggested restaurants were fantastic and we appreciated getting away from the "tourist menu".
On our first morning we opted for the breakfast on the terrace. Beautiful food and presentation. Because we like to get out and do things early, our only complaint was that we couldn't get breakfast early enough for us. If your stay was longer than ours, this wouldn't be a problem. For the next 3 mornings we used our kitchenette to provide our own.
We enjoyed being able to walk to the beach and then return to relax at the pool which was spotless.
We would highly recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chanala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 123 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2011

Things got off to a good start, with a very warm and relaxed welcome from the owner - no form filling, just refreshments on the terrace! We really appreciated that, having arrived a bit frazzled after a train journey, two bus journeys and a little hike uphill with our cases (note that if you get the local Lagos bus from town, Linea 2, the nearest stop is Praia Dona Ana, but it goes down a slope to get to the bus stop, and you just end up walking back up the slope! No more than about 10 mins walk to the house, though).

The house is tucked away in a peaceful setting, with a cosy atmosphere, and rooms/apartments set amidst a lovely garden and patios (plus swimming pool). Some of the rooms/apartments are quite close together, so you do depend on other guests being considerate, but it seems the kind of place where that is a fairly safe bet. As we were shown to our room (stylish and comfortable, with good bed, lots of windows complete with shutters, TV, ensuite bathroom with shower over mini bathtub), we noticed a couple of other guests sitting around in the sun reading quietly, and the odd cat strolling across the patio... the place had the feel of a cosy, quiet little private community.

I remember the room having air conditioning, but in March we really didn't need that. It did have a radiator which we were glad of on the first night, which was quite cool. I think the heating must be controlled centrally, but we found the radiator was on (low) just when we needed it so it worked out nicely.

And then there was the delicious, varied breakfast - the best we had on our holiday... a platter of meats and cheeses, a basket of bread/croissant, scrambled egg, a platter of fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, good coffee - an excellent start to the day.

I mentioned the nearest beach earlier (Praia Dona Ana, walking distance) and I believe there are others quite nearby too, plus some beautiful coastal scenery, which can be enjoyed whilst walking along the nearby cliffs (there are one or two restaurants out that way too, if you fancy a romantic sunset dinner!).

I imagine that the location might not suit everyone as it isn't right in the centre of town and it's up a bit of a hill, although we really enjoyed the stroll down to town which I think took no more than 15 mins. There are also some restaurants quite nearby, and a Spar supermarket halfway into town. Also, it is next to an apartment complex, which I imagine may get busy in peak season, but it was very quiet when we were there at the end of March, and the apartment complex does seem quite a decent sort. Pity about the blot on the landscape nearby, in the form of a big concrete shell of an unfinished hotel, but you don't see it from within Uma Casa, only from the road when you're coming or going.

In general, Teresa & staff made us feel very welcome and were discreetly attentive (and Teresa spoke good English, as unfortunately we hadn't had time to learn much Portuguese before we went), and we would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zochtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I cannot say enough about the beauty and tranquiity of staying at Uma Casa a Beira Sol!!!
My husband and I took the bus from Lisbon and when we arrived in the Algarve area, we were dumbfounded by the how built up the area was and we wondered if we should return north. The bus station is not in the loveliest part of Lagos but we took a taxi to our B&B which is in a nice residential area only minutes from the old town. Uma Casa is not the usual B&B as there are private little houses in the incredible gardens and the extended family lives in the big house. The owners' son and wife greeted us (perfect English speakers) with a drink and since we were early, apologized that the room wasn't quite ready. We weren't certain what to expect but were enthralled by the beautiful gardens, lovely pool, and friendly couple. The mother came out also - she speaks fluent English, and I believe fluent German too. When she took us to our "room", we were totally amazed - it was a full, beautiful apartment with a rustic fireplace in the bedroom, many antiques around and the most comfortable bed! (We've stayed at lovely places before that the downside is that quite often, the beds aren't comfortable). The former post mentioned that there wasn't maid service every day. We did get it but the maids might not get to our room until the afternoon as there are only the two of them. The breakfasts were brought to our private patio and there were indeed interesting choices and more than we could possibly eat.
We had to pick up our rental car and the other son offered to drive my husband when we asked directions.
I know we were at the beginning of the season, but I couldn't believe the service and accommodation we got for such a lovely apartment for the off-season price of 60 euros (that's for both of us!).
What made this an exceptional location as it's only minutes from the beautiful seawalk/beach/rock formations/caves that Lagos is famous for - we walked for several hours and I believe it compares to the beauty of the Cinque Terre for spectaular water scenery walks.
There are many good restaurants in the town of Lagos, especially the two Italian ones we ate at.
I cannot recommend this place enough - enjoy if you decide to go there. Check out their website.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank natalie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Well this has to be the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in. It is only a 3 star but was just so relax, peaceful, easygoing and none of those pretencious of some 4/5 stars we stayed in before. The maids don't make up the room everyday but it does not matter, we had very high level of privacy and not any disturb.
The grounds were lush with foliage and beautiful flowers, the paths to the rooms were lined with different plants and overhanging flaura, giving it a 'secret garden' feel. The room was absolutely lovely and was well kept and fitted in naturally with the hotel flavour of peace and quiet. Breakfast was served on our own private terrace (each room has one - we were lucky to have two terraces!One has breakfast table/chairs and sunloungers, the other has a sofa) whenever we wanted. It consisted of delicious ham and cheese in fresh bread and crossoints, with apricot jam, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. Then the rest of the day could be idly spent enjoying the sunshine or shade in one of the many sunloungers, hammocks or chairs dotted around the grounds or next to the pool. The pool itself was well kept and not too chlorinated as to make your eyes sting. In other words the hotel itself was a pleasure to stay in, however it was also only 5 minutes walk to the beautiful beaches nearby such as Praia Dona Ana and Praia De Camilo.
Special mention must go to the staff and owners, possibly the most kindest and welcoming hotel staff we have ever encountered. They were happy to provide breakfast at any time we preferred, and were completely unobtrusive in our stay, even though they lived onsite too. Special mention must also go to the rather large black cat that would come and say hello before rolling around in front of us. The owners generosity even extended to allowing us to keep the room key till the evening as the room was not booked for the day and we had to wait for a taxi to come at 7pm, therefore allowing us to use the terrace and toilet facilities in the room before we went. They did not mention a word about extra charge.
Our room has no television or phone but all in all I cannot recommend this hotel strongly enough, if you go to stay here then I can guarantee you will definately 'get away from it all'.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PalmersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Gaumenschmauss65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank kkr65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Abbiamno soggiornato nell'unità n.10 al piano terra, che consiglio per posizione e silenziosità
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandroCatassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.2 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.3 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 53 in Lagos
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#18 of 53 in Lagos
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#8 of 53 in Lagos
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uma Casa a Beira Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uma Casa a Beira Sol

Address: Rua Costa D'Ouro 1, Lagos 8600-544, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: $62 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Uma Casa a Beira Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Uma Casa a Beira Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing