We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep coming back”
Review of VitaSol Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VitaSol Park
Ranked #18 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The apartments at Vitasol Park are clean and comfortable. Clean bedding and towels are provided twice a week. They are always very well priced and well equipped. If you need a hair-drier you will need to bring one, but washing machine, iron & ironing board are all there as well as really well sized fridge and a decent cooker. The only problem for some (not me) would be the walk up a fairly steep hill to get back to Vitasol Park from town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sammac_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 273 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

We paid a decent price of £674 (apartment, flights and transfers with Travel Republic) for our 10 day break and feel we got value for money at VitaSol Park. The apartments are spacious, clean and well equipped. We stayed in block 13 - a one bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor with a lovely corner balcony that viewed the open countryside. We ate our lunch on the balcony each day which was really enjoyable for us and in the afternoon (when the sun came around) we chose to sunbathe here also. We could not fault the apartment for cleanliness - the maids came in 3 days during our stay and changed the towels and sheets and replenished the toilet rolls although further supplies are kept in a cupboard under the sink. We did experience some noise from neighbours next door to us and above us - conversations, going to the toilet etc. but nothing that really disturbed us. Overall it was a very quite complex. We worked out that there were approx. 1000 apartments on the complex although we estimated that only possibly a third of these were occupied as we very rarely saw anyone other than in the pool area. The apartments are very secure - there is no need to pay out for a security box as all the windows have shutter guards and the door has a 4 lock-system.

We always enjoyed our walks up and down to the Marina (10 mins) and then onto the Old Town (another 10 mins). Only once did we get a taxi back from the Old Town (4.5 Euro).

There are many restaurants and bars to enjoy in Lagos - we felt spoilt for choice - but we would recommend Barros Restaurant for quality food and service - on the main promenade street - next door to the fish market. Portuguese family run husband and wife team. Barros speaks very good english and you can have some enjoyable conversations with him. Around the Marina - try Neptune's for food. On our last evening we enjoyed a 'special' each - sweet chilli chicken stir fry or stuffed pepper with salad and rice - both with a large beer or a glass of wine for 7 euro each!! Our favourite bar was Zante's in the Old Town - we enjoyed many nights in here enjoying cocktails for 3 euro's each and a local whisky and lemonade for 1 euro 50.

We chose not to hire a car this holiday so did not seek out any prices.

One day we walked to the lighthouse through the old town and took a packed lunch before descending down the 189 steps to enjoy a boat trip along the coastline of the caves and grotto's. This cost 25 euro's for the two of us and was definitely a highlight of our holiday - a trip worth doing. This can also be explored by kayak for 25 euro's each by booking with one of the excursion companies along the promenade.

Overall, we really enjoyed our trip to Lagos and hope to return in following years. Our self-catering experience was something new to us but we loved visiting the supermarked (Pingu) and purchasing our supplies - decent prices - some really nice bottles of white wine for just over one euro! We chose to cater at the apartment for our breakfast and lunch every day so we actually came home with some of our spending money!!

We would definitely recommend Vitasol Park apartments.

Room Tip: Select a garden view otherwise you may just overlook another apartment block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank notlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Trip from airport
We arrived just before midnight so the airport was very quiet but the guy who picked us up to go to our apartment was lovely. The journey to VitaSol Park took about an hour and a bit. Wasn't too bad-ish

The apartment
When we arrived, it was obviously really late so we had to pick our keys from security. We had to find our own way the apartment but luckily there was a couple that noticed we looked lost so they helped us find our block. When we walked in it was a really nice apartment. However, when we walked into the bedroom there was 2 single beds :( so my boyfriend and I went to the security guy and tried to explain that we asked for a double but he didn't speak English and there wasn't anything he could do anything about it. He did advise us to go to reception in the morning. My boyfriend and I decided to just put the bed together for the time being which worked out alright.

WiFi
There is noooo WiFi in the apartment! At first I wasn't too happy because I wanted to get in contact with people at home to let them know that we arrived safely. After the first day I was kind of happy because a break from technology does u good, trust me. The only way we were able to use the wifi was to sit outside the reception. So just ask them for the password then they will give it to you. There isn't any seating area really, only some little stone thing near security.
If you REALLY REALLY want wifi then in the town there is a phone shop called "BlueStore" they might have something for you to purchase?

TV in the apartment...
....is rubbish! My boyfriend was really upset about it but I can do without tv as I don't really watch it when I'm home anyway

Town
To get to town you have to go down a long hill, it's not bad at all going down it but going back up is a workout lol.
The town was really nice. Had everything really and there were a lot of stands around trying to sell activities such as dolphin watching and kayaking. Was a lovely walk around the town and it seemed really safe.
The Pizza Hut there was fantastic but do try the Portuguese restaurants too! They can cooook! Mmmmm

The Beach
To get the beach u can catch a little boat from town for 0.60€ literally 2mins. The beach was LOVELY! The sea was amazing and if you go further down there is a company that do water sports for good prices. You must try it! I really wanted to do jet skiing but my boyfriend was too scared of the water so we settled for the boat that you peddle in (I don't remember what it was called)

Overall the whole experience was peaceful and relaxing. I would definitely go there again without a doubt. If you are looking for somewhere to party, I don't think this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamap27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nice clean apartments in well kept gardens.
We had a one bedroomed apartment that was a good size with a well equipt kitchen and large balcony.
Pool area nice with plenty of sunbeds, usually managed to get one even in August!
The apartments were a short walk to the marina and a bit further to the old town or beach.
Would recommend.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank LouDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed in VSP for 2 weeks -end Aug/ Early Sept. The apartment was first class, very spacious, all facilities - including the " Kettle" for boiling water. Well maintained - twice weekly change of linen and cleaning. The staff were very helpful both in reception and the housekeeping staff. gardens and grounds were beautifully manicured - watered twice a day, place was swept on a regular basis - by hand. The swimming pool was lovely - nicely situated beside the bar . The lunch time snacks seem reasonable and moderately priced. See comments below re breakfast.
My only complaints - we booked the buffet breakfast in advance - A BIG MISTAKE. For the duration of our holiday the menu never changed - 10€ per head for cornflakes/croissants/coffee/juice- or continental ham and cheese with rolls. NO Tea , fresh fruit ,toast,yogurts - no variety. There was some attempt to povide fruit at one point - there seemed to put 5 lazy lemons - going green or limes going yellow together with 2 apples - one of which was rotten . When I asked at the counter if there was any choice - I got a shrug of the shoulder and told that she didn't understand. ! The juice was concentrate - always orange juice or apple juice ! The coffee from a dispenser was 2nd rate.
We booked the coach - in advance - big mistake - it tooke over 2 1/2 hrs on our journey from Faro to Lagos. On a hot day in a rickety bus. I was told afterwards that a taxi would have cost less and would take 50 minutes !

NOt withstanding the latter comments I would go back to the apartments - there is also a lillt mini-mercado on the fron of the complex which supplies fresh bread & croissants every morning.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor apartment which proced to be an excellent choice - it had a balcony at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BISHBOY47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the Vitasol park from the 20th July for for 2 weeks,there was 10 of us in total!!.We all really enjoyed our stay at these apartments.The apts were very spacious and clean,the pool was really nice,the poolside bar served some tasty snacks (beer was very pricey!!!) but food was well priced.The gardens on the complex were kept immaculate (watch out for the sprinklers!).The walk to the marina and the Pingo Doce took about 10mins and the town centre was 20mins away.This was our first time in Portugal and we found Lagos was a brilliant place.We would definatley come back and stay at these apartments again in future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TyneandWearWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have just returned from a week's holiday at Vita Sol. I was a little wary, from viewing photos and google earth as it does not initially look very 'holiday' ish and on arrival the blocks of apartments do look a little municipal housing - but do not let this put you off. We stayed in a 2 bedroomed apartment for 6. The apartment is large and the balcony even larger! The beds are a little hard but none of us found this to be a problem and the bedsettee was comfy. The kitchen was well equipped with a full cooker, washing machine and dishwasher. As we had read previous reviews we came equipped with washing tablets and detergent. We found a little coffee pot and lid which we used to heat water up on the hob - therefore no bother about the lack of kettle. we even made proper coffee using a sieve! The apartment and the whole complex was very clean. There were towels for the six of us (plus some spare) and enough loo rolls (they got replaced when the cleaners came in - twice in the week). The girl in reception was very friendly and spoke very good English. We gradually got used to the residential feel of the place and most people there do seem to be on holiday.
The gardens were immaculately kept and the area around the pool was particularly nice with small trees providing shade and grassed areas to sunbathe on. We always managed to find a sunbed (even mid-August) and noticed that many people leave the pool at lunch time anyway. The pool was lovely to swim in. My kids (age 15,13 and 8) did get told not to throw a beachball around in the pool but this didn't bother us. The lack of inflateables didn't seem to spoil their enjoyment as they were still able to dive /jump/divebomb!!!! You need to give a euro deposit for a pass to the pool but this is returned on the last day. We did not use the restuarant but they did not seem very friendly when I went for an icecream. There are toilets just behind the restaurant and also a shower which we found to be handy on our last day.
We used the little supermarket just outside the complex to buy rolls and fresh croissants, milk, eggs etc. We bought a sun parasol and 2 body boards from the paper shop next door (very cheap compared to other shops in Lagos). There is a very good supermarket within walking distance - turn right to go down the hill, then take the second right (at an angle) go down here, cross the main road at the bottom and the supermarket is a little walk to the right, over another road. In this supermarket we bought fresh fish and meat and had loads of lovely fruit and salad. It was very reasonable compared to UK prices. We only ate out twice - meals did seem very reasonable - about 7-10euros for main courses. There is so much choice in Lagos at night - the atmosphere was wonderful and still as busy at midnight as it was at 8pm.
We didn't have a car and managed perfectly well without one. The complex is about 10mins walk down the hill to the marina. The hill is much talked about on reviews for this place but we found it not as bad as anticipated - it is not a long hill and when you've walked in the heat from the beach it is a welcome sight as you know you are nearly home when you reach the hill!! The walk to preia meia beach is a long 20 mins in the heat - we found it useful to have a rest at the station as there is air con just outside the door plus loos. The beach itself was wonderful - a long stretch of clean sand and lovely sea - I can highly recommend the pedalos with slides. We also got the little train from outside the foot bridge on the marina - this takes you to the light house near the grottos over the other side of lagos and also calls at preia Camillo on the way and preia Ana on the way back. It costs 2.5 euros. Both these beaches are great for snorkelling but were impossibly crowded.
My daughter and I took a kayaking trip with days of Adventure - highly recommended - kayaking through the grottos - quite exciting and a beer on the way back.
We used yellowfish.com taxi firm - they were excellent - met us at the airport, spoke very good English and were reliable in that they turned up on time to return us to the airport. it cost 160 euros for the 6 of us.
Loved the holiday and would return to this apartment

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dij0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#22 of 53 in Lagos
369 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#19 of 53 in Lagos
699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.9 mi away
Lagosmar Hotel
Lagosmar Hotel
#20 of 53 in Lagos
315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#38 of 53 in Lagos
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VitaSol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VitaSol Park

Address: Rua Quinta do Landeiro | Alto da Marina de Lagos, Lagos 8600-302, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: $34 - $1,177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — VitaSol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vitasol Park is a modern complex crossed by an artificial watercourse, on the top of the historical and bustling city of Lagos and the marina, providing unique views of the city, the beach of Meia-Praia, marina and mountains. Surrounded by large gardens and leisure areas, Vitasol Park is waiting for you for those relaxing holidays that you deserve! Composed by small blocks of 4 floors, all with lift, with spacious one and two-bedroom apartments with large balconies and equipped kitchens, Vitasol Park is the ideal place to pass your days in the most relaxing way, without leaving "home", enjoying our many facilities as pool for adults, restaurant, tennis courts and children's pool and playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your VitaSol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitasol Park Hotel Lagos
Marina Park Hotel Lagos
Marina Park Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing