We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina Club Apartments II
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Lovely apartment, spacious and modern. Spotless and cleaned every day. Lovely toiletries also replaced each day. Friendly staff and lovely pool area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo_Roy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

hotel with all the amenities at a reasonable price. Clean well appointed rooms with a long distance view of the ocean. Patrons were multicultural and interesting. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful. Laundry available for a modest fee or do it yourself for even cheaper. Apartments features kitchenette and comfy sitting area. High speed internet only available in certain parts of the buildings.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megruhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2008

We stayed here for a week in July and loved it. As a couple without children we were definitely outnumbered though! But surprisingly it didn't bother us at all - there was a lovely atmosphere around the pool all day and lots of very happy kids splashing about.

We're not late risers at all but the absence of little people in our room meant that we were getting down for breakfast when most others had already been so there wasn't much choice left, and by 10am all the beds at the pool were gone! Didn't bother us too much though as the old town part of the resort is gorgeous and we walked around most days, found little cafes down side streets etc and in the afternoons we took up residence on the very comfortable loungers in the cocktail terrace overlooking the pool. These were usually empty as they are reserved for bar customers so we ordered a bottle of rose every afternoon and were in our element ;)

We are incredibly fussy and have very high standards, and apart from the difficulty getting a sun lounger we couldn't fault the place. Resort was gorgeous, some stunning restaurants and something for everyone. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Stayed a week B&B at the Marina Club II from 24/8/08. Booked a Studio Apartment (C204) at the last minute. Unfortunately had to pay 'top dollar' for the stay. The room was very nice, modern, clean, spacious. Small kitchen area, with fridge (handy for beers, chocolate). Didn't cook anything but had a carryout one night, so plates etc. were handy. Air Con. seemed a bit loud at night, but otherwise can't really fault the accommodation. We had a great view across the pool area towards the marina. The pool area was nice, but it needed some general maintenance. Some of the block paving was uneven, a few weeds, leaves from trees allowed to gather around the sun lougers and in the pool. Some litter around the pool area and even in the pool on one occasion not collected on a daily basis. Generally the pool area was good, but a little extra effort would make the difference. The buffet breakfast area was nice, but the choice was a bit limited. Sufficient to get you going in the morning. The Marina Club II is very central and close to the old town. There are some nice restaurants closeby around the marina. I would consider going back to the Marina Club II, but would probably go room only next time. Comments passed to the Marina Club.

  • Liked — New build with modern furnishings.
  • Disliked — General maintenance around pool area.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

This hotel/apartments is probably the best place we have ever taken our children to and we have been to lots of places. We went on 1st Aug - 11th Aug 08 and we took our 3 children aged 11, 3 and 10 months. We arrived at 10pm and the staff were so friendly I had rang up the day before to make sure we had a groung floor room and a pool view as I didnt want any escaping off balconys with my 3 year old and it was exactly what we asked for it was the closest room to the pool, reception and on ground floor. We thought it was going to be noisy but it really wasnt a few slam doors one night but nothing really.
The breakfast in morning was excellent if you get there before 9.30ish which if you have kids you will be after that they start to run out of things and its queing for the toast machine. But the quality of food was great, bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages, cereal, fresh fruit lots of selection, bread , jam, honey, croissants and the usuall tea coffee and juices. It was all great I looked forward to breakfast and I took weetabix in that I had bought from Pingo Doce (the local supermarket) to give to our baby and I just used their milk n bowl.
The hotel was immaculate and I am one of the fussiest people fresh towels everyday mopped floor and tidied , beds made everyday I didnt want to leave.
The pool was great for the kids nice and shallow at one and and deep enough to dive at the other even though you weret supposed to. They also had a kiddies pool next to it which seemed to be even colder than the big one which was preety cold until the late afternoon when it had warmed up. But kids loved it anyway in ther everyday, not too busy could always get a sunbed before 10 am.
The resteraunts are great too our fav Do Cais on the Marina 2 mins walk away was brill quite expensive compared to everything else but you get what you pay for, I reccommend chicken wings to start on lunch menu. Just to warn you we had to book for din and somtimes lunch but worth it. We also reccommend Lazy Jacks for breakfast as 1 day we missed our hotel special, but great fry up n u get loades.
Just to warn you if you have a maclaren as I took it is cobbely I wish I had taken my phil n teds as the buggy board on back of stroller was v.bumpy, but we managed.
We went to praia de Luz Beach one day was lovely but cannot help those horrible thoughts coming into your head about Madddie and I was really disscusted to see no posters still up of her or anything about her anywhere around Portugal we went. But the day we spent there was great lovely shallow water but cold! The beach nearer us was harder to get to with pushchair and seemed really busy, but looked really good.
We hired a car I reccommend to do this as there is lots to see and do. We went to Zoo marine 2 days 1 to book up swimming with dolphins and few days later to do it. It was abount 30 min drive, we didnt do any of the water parks or Lagos zoo. It was so hot we stayed round pool most days.
It took about 50 mins from the airport to get to Hotel road not too busy and its just one long motorway there really very easy. We would definatly go back here. Great family holiday.

  • Liked — location and spacious
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2007

this hotel is amazing, very modern, bar, food, service, area, rooms, pool, everything 5 star definatly.

  • Liked — The area its a very cosmopolitan area
  • Disliked — The beach is a bit away you could walk but its not really close
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in August having booked through wshtravel. Arriving at the hotel on first impressions we were struck by all the building going on around the hotel. Not the prettiest sight! However on entering the hotel the whole world changed. The hotel is build at the Marina, with hundred of yachts docked in the harbour. There are a number of resteraunts and snack bars in the area immediately outside and also night time entertainment ( mainly solo guitar palyers/singers). Well worth a visit.
The room we stayed in was a two bed apt with a pool view. It was very large and the best way to describe it was very modern while being minimalistic in furniture. The kitchen was well equiped with everything provided - kettle, toaster etc. The only thing was surprising - for all the cooking utensils provided the cooker just consisted of 2 rings, no oven. However that was not an issue for us as we ate out most of the time. The bedrooms were large, one with an en suite which had a very powerful shower. Towels were changed every day. Small toileteries were provided. The second bathroom was in the hall and was also very well designed. The sittingroom was very big ( again minimalistic) The flat screen tv had sky news bbc 1 , lots of cartoon channels but these were mostly in portugese.
The balcony had tables and chairs and two sun loungers. Perfect for catching some evening sun. We were on the ground floor and had steps leading down directly to the pool ( ok for families with teenagers but not suitable for younger children)The rooms were cleaned every day and the hotel was kept spotless.
The pool was a large kidney shaped pool with an island in the middle. As far as i could see there was no life guard on duty.
Reserving of sunbeds was not allowed and more than once during our stay I saw towels being removed by staff from unocupied sunbeds! As a rule there was no big rush to get sunbeds early and generally sunbeds were always available.
If you are staying in Lagos this hotel is definately worth the money.
lagos itself has two sides to it. There is the marina area where the hotel is and across the river over a footbridge which opens to let the yachts up is the old town with all its narrow cobbled streets. restaurants and quaint shops. The square has street entertainment. The restaurants are about 1/4 cheaper than spanish restaurants and like everything some are very good, but some are disappointing. Because it was peak season queues formed outside the popular restaurnts with abour 1 hour wait.The best meal we got was in Praria De Luz (€.8.80 by taxi ifrom lagos)in a restaurant called Dukes. It was superb. Plenty of boat trips were available out of the harbour - you could even take lessons in sailing. Also a train runs all around lagos ( for €.2.50 )which is good value for approx 3/4 of an hour.
We enjoyed our stay in the Marina Club and Lagos and we will return maybe not next year ,but not too far in the distant future.


  • Liked — The proximity to everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank noeleen-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.0 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
0.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 52 in Lagos
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
0.0 mi away
Clube Porto Mos
Clube Porto Mos
#25 of 52 in Lagos
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
#30 of 52 in Lagos
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Club Apartments II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Club Apartments II

Property: Marina Club Apartments II
Address: Lote 19, Lagos 8600-780, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Club Apartments II 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Marina Club Apartments II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Club Apartments Ii d Joao i Block Hotel Lagos
Marina Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing