We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful experience”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa dos Sonhos

Casa dos Sonhos
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa dos Sonhos
Living Room opens onto patio / pool area Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Casa dos Sonhos
Living Room opens onto patio / pool area
Living Room
Dining Area opens onto patio / pool area
Dining Area
Fully equipped and spacious Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master Bedroom (double) opens onto patio / pool area and private courtyard
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom open onto private courtyard
Master Bathroom
Bedroom 2 (double) with en-suite shower room
Bedroom 2 opens onto patio / pool area
Bedroom 3 (triple) opens onto patio / pool area
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4 (twin)
Bedroom 4
Front entrance
Terrace and pool
Front entrance
January sunshine
Large balloon shaped pool
Garden looking towards Lagos
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lagos, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julia H
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Casa Dos Sonhos was a beautiful place to stay. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and as previously mentioned the pictures certainly do not prepare you for the size, scale and quality of the villa. Ian and Helen were very efficient and professional from the outset and always answered our questions promptly. They offered the "personal touch" leaving a home made cake, fresh eggs, and homemade marmalade, which were all enjoyed immensely. In short if you are looking to rent a villa in Lagos I would not hesitate to recommend villa Casa Dos Sonhos - enjoy!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and pool
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Villa far exceeded our expectations - we were blown away!”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We’ve just returned from two glorious weeks at Casa Dos Sonhos and really can’t recommend it enough. We are now suffering severe post holiday blues!

This is our second trip to Lagos. Last year we stayed in the centre of town and although it was fantastic being so central with everything on our doorstep, this year we wanted something more private and relaxing without being too far out of town. Casa Dos Sonhos certainly gave us that.

From very early on in the booking process Ian and Helen (the owners) were extremely helpful and obliging, giving advice and information about the Villa, but it didn’t prepare us for the surprise when we arrived – we were all completely blown away – it far exceeded our expectations as the photos do not do it justice.

It is very cleverly designed with three of the bedrooms opening out on to the pool area and the kitchen is set on the other side and remains cool all day. The master bedroom even has its own courtyard so if there were two parties or you needed some privacy, you could sneak off to the private courtyard for some peace and quiet. The ensuite to the master bedroom is total luxury.

The kitchen is huge and is very well equipped and the owners left a welcome pack with the essentials plus the most delicious cake, eggs from their chickens and some homemade marmalade. In fact, the whole villa is very well equipped and you really only need to bring a few clothes, Everything else was there.

The gardens and grounds are very well kept with beautiful plants (and a lemon tree), totally private and not overlooked, and the pool and outside area was so much larger than we expected.

Most days we lazed around the pool. There are lots of loungers with mattresses so they’re very comfortable. If we fancied the beach for a change we went to our favourite spot, just in front of the Bahia bar on Meia Praia beach, but it is a 20 minute walk or short drive, so the pool at the villa was more appealing.

It’s a 20 minute downhill walk to the Marina and another 15 minutes on to the old town. We used to walk to the Marina, stop off for a beer or a cocktail or two and then carry on to the town for a meal in one of the many wonderful restaurants. A taxi back was less than 10 euros and very easy to pick up from the taxi rank in town. Our 20 and 24 year olds managed to get a taxi back in the early hours too.

We were a party of four so very pleasantly rattled around a bit in the villa, but it would easily accommodate two families.

For us Lagos is the perfect holiday destination and Casa dos Sonhos is the perfect holiday accommodation. We’re already planning our return visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NicolaSmo...
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely villa”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There was a group of 3 adults and 5 children who stayed in this well equipped spacious villa. We had decided not to hire a car, which as there is lots to do in Lagos suited us as a group. The villa is about a 20 minute walk to the Lagos Marina which has a good mixture of bars and restaurants. From there it's another 10 minute walk into the old town of Lagos, there are many places to eat out in Lagos and always music playing in the town square. Some evenings we got a taxi home at a cost of about 5 euros.
The villa itself had everything we needed, Ian and Helen the owners have really thought of everything to make our stay the best they could.
Ian's communication about any queries that I had before we left was prompt, he was very helpful about recommending transfer companies and even printed off our boarding passes as we were unable to do so.
We would all dearly love to go back again and would highly recommend this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way the majority of the rooms lead directly out onto the pool patio area
Liked least: The walk up the hill home!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A lovely villa with great facilities. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Plenty of room for 8 of us. Nice pool and gardens. Really can't fault it. We had a great holiday. Wish I was still there!
Helen

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike4285
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wish I were back there”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I just looked at the picture and got misty eyed. I wish I were there now. It was wonderful. The pool was a treat. The weather was fantastic. We went on a caving tour and a dolphin watch tour which was spectacular. The owners left lots of goodies in the fridge that we enjoyed all week. The pool toys were great.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Completely blown away”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked casa das sonhos for a suprise holiday for my husbands 30th birthday. There were 7 adults and 3 children. We arrived late on he Monday evening due to a delayed flight and Ian was ,o than happy to speak with me over the phone to ensure we found the villa ok. When we arrived we were really taken back by the size as it was much larger than it looked in the photos. There was a lovely welcome letter and welcome pack including some locally sourced food and a home made cake which was delicious. When we woke up the following morning and saw everything in daylight we were amazed. The pool area and garden was lovely and the villa itself and the rooms were all so much nicer than expected. The pool was big and deep so whilst the kids had to be supervised it was great fun for the adults. We used the BBQ most days and had many evenings chilling by the pool with music. The villa is qui secluded so we didn't have to worry too much about noise etc. whilst the walk to the town and marina was around 20 minutes we actually enjoyed the fact that we weren't in the thick of it and enjoyed the walk. Taxis were also really easy to get and we got one back most evenings for a coupe of euros a couple. The is so much to do close by including shopping, restaurants amazing beaches, boat trips and water parks. We are already planning our return trip next year. A huge thank you to Ian for the easy organisation before hand and all the information provided. The villa made our holiday!!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing