We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fasting/Detox Away From It All”
Review of Moinhos Velhos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lagos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moinhos Velhos
Ranked #46 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Fasting/Detox Away From It All”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Last September I visited Moinhos Velhos for a week to train on the Physiospect unit and relax, see "A Peaceful, Relaxing week in Paradise". This year I returned to do a 10 day Fasting/Detox. Frank, Janni and Anna Korine are truly amazing people that have continued to keep this place functioning like a well oiled machine. I combined the Fasting/Detox with Yoga, a Liver Cleanse and four therapy treatments (Cranial Massage, Reiki, Shiatsu and Reflexology-at additional cost, but very well worth it). In between times there is a beautiful (salt water) pool, Jacuzzi and Sauna. We had a great trip to the beach which was a lovely break. Thank you ALL for a wonderful experience that I could not have done without you and the the other 11 faster who are now friends. I feel much much healthier and I am sure my body is functioning much more efficiently.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
1
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I spent another 10 days at Moinhos Velhos after my first trip nearly 9 years ago. Back then my experience was so profound, I wanted every year to return. This time I flew all the way from Australia for the trip as there is nothing nearby me that can rival this place. Janni, Frank and Anna Korine are truly magical people that have continued to restore and keep this place in its true finest.
I undertook a 10 day juice fast, combined with Liver and Colon Cleanse. The same as the first time but I was again overwhelmed at the success of it once again!
I would highly recommend it thank you to the fabulous team and helpers that once again inspired me to live a more plant based lifestyle and return again - this time I hope sooner than last time. xo Kat

Room Tip: All rooms are good, in fact I had a cottage and I could have easily had a single room on its on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have just had a fantastic week at MOINHOS VELHOS. I took the 7 day programme to make a short holiday at Moinhos Velhos, as well as training on the Physiospect machine. After being taken to my accommodation for the week, a very comfortable wooden cabin (pictured) I was made very welcome and shown around the retreat facilities. MOINHOS VELHOS is situated in a valley "away from it all". As well as the training, I was able to relax in these peaceful surroundings, it was wonderful to relax in the salt water pool and hot tub. The staff, a mix of permanent and volunteers were very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. I will return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: I had a wooden cabin at the lower part of the complex, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Tonight is my last night of my two week juice fast at Moinhos Velhos. I feel healthy and energized. I’ve been drinking only juice and vegetable broth for two weeks and I never felt hungry. Moinhos Velhos is the perfect spot for a practical, busy Mom to get two weeks of peace and quiet, give her body a reboot, and lose a few pounds (more than a few) in the process. I feel better, look better, my skin is fabulous and I’m ready to head back to life!

Frank, Anne Karine and Janni are so knowledgeable and helpful but in a warm, quiet, confident, helpful way. There is no big production here, no attempt to sell you on a lifestyle , no faux medical setting. They approach fasting as a simple and natural process, not as a medical event.

It is a beautiful place, the gardens are amazing, wish I could have them at home. All the buildings and facilities are comfortable and clean. Everyone is very welcoming. Also received additional treatments of massage, acupuncture, reflexology from very pleasant and competent therapists. Enjoyed yoga classes, even sat in on meditation, enjoyed the sauna, hottub and pool.

Go to Moinhos Velhos if you can, you will be very glad you did.

Room Tip: The cottages have a pellet stove in addition to the steam heater which is nice if you are coming in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GulchFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Moinhos Velhos is set in one of the most breathtaking nature valleys I have ever seen. The center carries a nice energy, the staff is very helpful and friendly and there are some highly skilled therapists working there which help in making this detoxing retreat a very healing experience. The yoga studio is absolutely beautiful and a pleasure to practice in. Anne-Karine, one of the owners of Moinhos Velhos, is a knowledgeable woman with a lot of experience in many fields of healing and holistic health. If you are the type of person who enjoys to experience the benefits of juice fasting, yoga, good massages, great & inspiring company and pure heavenly relaxation in beautiful nature, this is definitely the perfect place to be. I thank all the staff of Moinhos Velhos for giving me a chance to learn from you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayaJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I was here for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time. Soon after my arrival, I could really feel the Divine and sacred energies of this place. In terms of location, Moinhos Velhos is in the hillsides of the Algarve, in a beautiful valley, buried in nature. It was so nice to stop every so often and just listen to the pure sounds of nature, without any mechanical interruptions... For me, it was the little things like this which made for such a rejuvenating and peaceful experience. Everyone I met here was so welcoming, kind and Loving... Wonderful people! Thank you for hosting me, and providing an experience I will never forget! :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed at Moinhos Velhos in September 2011 and loved it. I felt really away from it all, surrounded by beautiful gardens, chickens roaming free, the most amazing salt water pool to swim in, a sauna that really helped my detox process and the yoga and therapies were bliss. I lost 4kg during my cleanse and by the end felt like I could have carried on forever! My skin was glowing, I had loads of energy and my mind cleared - I knew what I wanted to do next with my life and felt centred once more. Priceless. Would I go back? Yes!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LarimarBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
8.0 mi away
Morgado Golf & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Monte da Bravura - Green Resort
7.7 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Estrela da Luz
Estrela da Luz
#1 of 8 in Luz
584 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 52 in Lagos
3,150 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#34 of 52 in Lagos
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moinhos Velhos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moinhos Velhos

Property: Moinhos Velhos
Address: Cotifo, Lagos 8600-077, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moinhos Velhos is a Juice Fasting, Health and Wellness Retreat. We run 7, 10 and 14 day Juice Fasting Programmes with Yoga, Meditation and Complementary Therapies ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing