We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, pity about the car.”
Review of Casa da Moura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa da Moura
Ranked #41 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed February 15, 2013

It's quite a while since we stayed there, in November 2006, we selected by a trawl through the internet. However we now have our own apartment and are in Lagos several times a year, and we frequently walk through the area where Casa da Moura is situated, the last time during a visit in September 2012, which is the date of travel we have selected for this review. However readers should be aware that while we can rate the location as of September 2012, our other ratings refer to our stay there in 2006.

The location is in the old part of town, near the highest point, and from the rooftop terrace the views are stunning. We had a pleasantly furnished suite consisting of a bedroom and living room, somewhat bizarrely with a window opening directly on to the deep end of the swimming pool without a walkway around it. There seemed to be only one member of staff who did everything, she was polite and efficient, our suite was well kept and the breakfasts she provided were excellent.

When we made the booking it was indicated there was parking. However this turned out to be an open unsecured public parking area in the adjoining square. The hubcaps of our hired car were stolen there, and when we returned it at the airport the hire company charged us €200 as a result. When I emailed the owner of Casa da Moura he expressed regret, said he had reported it to the police, but regretted there was nothing he could do. Given that his website stated there was car parking I felt he might at least have offered to share the cost with me. This rather spoiled our experience of the trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrollfamily152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 183 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Based on the reviews on tripadvisor we stayed here. This place absolutely deserves all the nice comments - it is an absolute gem! If you are in Lagos you must try this place.

Rooms are stunning, service excellent and breakfast sensational. We enjoyed sitting on the room lounge area watching the sun go down with breathtaking views over the whole town. It is charming.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattje7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at Casa da Moura for two nights and really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We stayed in the Agadir room on the ground floor of the hotel. The room was wonderfully decorated and very spacious. Having a small microfridge, sink, and stove burners in our room was an added bonus as we were traveling with our toddler son and needed a place to store his food and wash his dishes. The only heater in our hotel room was in the main sitting room, and while the heater warmed up this area nicely, the bedroom and the bathroom didn't warm up.

The breakfast, which is included in the rate of your stay, is really phenomenal. Breakfast includes a variety of cheeses, crepes with gelato (upon request), teas, coffee, espresso (upon request), yogurt, pastries, omelettes (a la carte), juice, and cereal. The hotel even has two highchairs in the breakfast area (one highchair has straps to secure your child in and the other doesn't).

As other reviewers mentioned, at times, it was difficult to find anyone manning the front desk to ask questions / get recommendations. We eventually had to ring the door bell on the outside of the hotel to finally get the hotel staff's attention. However, once you're able to pin down the hotel staff, they are very nice, helpful, and go out of their way to help you.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mehapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was on the outskirts of the old town, which worked well for us because it was quiet even when the center of town was filled with revelers and music. The building itself was clean and beautifully decorated, with a Moorish influence evident throughout, and the breakfast buffet was a highlight of our stay there because of the shaded rooftop setting and quality and bounty of food laid out for guests (the egg tarts were a highlight). We stayed in a second floor room with a living room and a small kitchen area.

Worth noting: it's pretty hit or miss in terms of anyone manning the desk on the ground floor. It appears that guests can basically count on being checked in at a certain time (and getting a map and recommendations at that time), but beyond that it was a matter of luck for us in terms of the manager being around when we had a question. We're generally pretty independent, but it would have been helpful for management to have a more consistent on-site presence. Also: negotiating for better rates doesn't appear to work. We stayed for two nights and would have stayed for a third had they been willing to reduce the rate a bit for the third (the property's on the expensive side; we traveled in late August), but even though the hotel was fairly empty they held firm. We walked away.

Still, it's a beautiful, small property at a nice remove from what can be the craziness of old town during peak season. Just be prepared to pay for it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julesbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just a ten minute walk from the the pier and the beach, it's located in the old town but tucked away near the back of the old city walls. The "room" was huge; what we really had was a full one bedroom apartment, with kitchenette, full living room, and small dining area. The breakfast spread (which is included in the price of your room) is one of the best I've seen. Both a la carte and a buffet of cheeses, breads, fruits and cereals, we couldn't believe all of the choices. They even have a bottle of champagne near the orange juice station if your feeling so indulgently inclined. We stayed in the offseason and barely less than €40 a night for ALL that! If we're ever back in Lagos, we'll be checking here first.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We rented a 1 bedroom apt. on 1st floor. The staff couldn't have been more gracious. Beautiful breakfast on the top floor with great views of the area. We were able to walk everywhere and had a wonderful restful week.

Room Tip: The only drawback was that our apartment opened onto the patio and on our last day there were guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate80127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After reading trip advisor reviews on Casa da Moura I was really looking forward to our stay, and I was not disappointed! Unlike most hotels, it was actually like a small apartment, with a sitting room, kitchen area, bedroom and bathroom. The difference from renting an apartment is that someone comes in to change your sheets, change the towels, clean, and wash your dishes every day! Brilliant service, immaculately clean, especially considering it is an old building. Breakfast was fab, in the roof top 'tent', with lots of choice and pleasant service. All in all, we would go back - despite the weather being wet and grey a lot of the time we had a lovely time in Lagos, especially because of our great hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a better outlook, get more sun and don't have any traffic noise - not tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nw60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.7 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
0.7 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#10 of 53 in Lagos
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#1 of 53 in Lagos
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Moura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Moura

Address: Rua Cardeal Netto 10, Lagos 8600-537, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $51 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa da Moura 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a historic manor in Lagos, these apartments are a 10-minute walk from a sandy beach. The complex has an outdoor pool with sun-lounger terrace and offers air-conditioned accommodation with balconies and panoramic views.Casa da Moura apartments feature terracotta floors, woven rugs and Moroccan décor. They include a living area with a sofa and satellite TV and a kitchenette with cupboards for storage.In the morning, guests can enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or on the rooftop terrace. Offering a wide range of quality products with part of the offer being alternated every second day.Several restaurants serving local cuisine are situated less than 2 km away.Guests can benefit from the laundry and ironing services. A car hire service is available and free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the property.Casa da Moura is a 5-minute walk from the Church of Saint Anthony and is 500 meters from Meia Praia Beach Lagoon. Free public parking is possible on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa da Moura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Moura Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing