We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fabulous place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ancora Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ancora Park
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a fabulous place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

We were both looking forward to our trip to Lagos, and our apartment was somewhere to lay our heads at night but it far exceeded our expectations. The apartments are spacious, immaculately clean (with towel changes 3 times), beds were very comfortable and the roof top terrace is perfect for a BBQ at sundown. All set in lovely grounds with an olympic size swimming pool meant that we were able to enjoy the surroundings. There is a lovely golden sandy beach only a 10min walk away and others within a short drive. We wouldn't normally re-visit a place a second time but we definitely would go back to stay here again. A hidden gem not to be missed!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SimonNaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    37
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

We stayed for 6 nights at Ancora. The accommodation is lovely, small blocks of 5 or 6 bungalows that are very private even though you are attached to the next one. All have a small enclosed patio with stairs to the roof, where you can see the sea in the distance (and the very ugly abandoned half built apartment block nearby). The bungalow was well equipped & had been recently renovated.

There is a new building being built next to Ancora but while we were there, there was no building noise.

The position was OK but everything is a 10 to 15 minute walk away & not a particularly pleasant walk. By the end of the 6 nights we were bored of the same route into & back out of Lagos every night for the restaurants.

The beaches are wonderful, but be prepared to climb up & down steps to get to the best ones (Dona Ana).

  • Liked — The privacy & roof top terrace
  • Disliked — The position
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kathyMazarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2007

I really liked my stay at the Ancora. Check in and out were quite smooth and even though we arrived at 11.30am instead of after 2 for check in, we were still allowed check in. (maybe not possible in busier times however). The accommodations are fine. The decoration would not blow you away but there is everything you need for cooking etc. And from previous apartment experiences this is by no means a foregone conclusion. (Think no cutlery!). The TV is tiny and there are no english stations. The individual rooms are quite spacious and there are large windows with those heavy louvered blinds. I suppose the bathroom is not great as its reasonably sized but a bit old fashioned only having the bath and no shower. From the kitchen/living area you step out onto a good sized private patio with a table and two chairs. From this area there are steps leading up to another private roof terrace. This is a very nice feature and actually persuaded me to stay here in first place. The buildings are layed out as small bungalows with your own front door and parking space. The overall complex is very pretty.Unfortunately the daily maid service was a bit of a nuisance in so far as they knock on the door to check your in and you have to answer them (there is a lock though). It is a bit of a nuisance if you wanted to sleep very late or if you didnt want to have to answer the door for whatever reason. Its a pity it dosent work like a hotel where you can just put up a do not disturb sign. I would definately stay here again though and did enjoy my stay.

  • Liked — Overall layout and parking space
  • Disliked — Slightly dated decor
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank superduper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2007

My Husband and I stayed at the Motel Ancora in April 2007.

The motel is 10 mins down hill walk to Lagos center, the cabs back cost only 3-4 euros!

Each individual villa is newly decorated, well maintained and the grounds are lovely, with palms, geraniums, hibiscus etc, and also some exotic birds!

The accom. consists one large bedroom, one lovely bathroom, hallway, and large kitchen, lounge, dining area. Outside you have your own private courtyard and individual roof terrace (my favourite bit!)

Cooking facilities are a bit basic, a large fridge, sink, two cooking rings and all new cutlery, pans etc. But all you need, there are some lovely places to eat nearby, we recommend Triangulo restraunt and the bar Dom Luis which are both only 5 mins walk.

The pool area is huge, and would never get crowded, the staff very friendly.

We would reccommend Ancora to anyone, and will definitely be staying there again!

  • Liked — Private and clean
  • Disliked — Could do with a microwave!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cordera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.4 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
0.3 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clube Porto Mos
Clube Porto Mos
#18 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ancora Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancora Park

Property: Ancora Park
Address: Estrada de Porto de Mos | Praia Do Porto Mos, Lagos 8600-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ancora Park 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancora Park Hotel has a prime location, just 1 kilometer from the fantastic beach of Porto de Mos and just over 1.5 Kilometers from Lagos' historical centre. Anyone looking for apartments to rent in Lagos, will find at Ancora Park Hotel fantastic, tranquil surroundings and easy access to the major local attractions. A family holiday in the Algarve can be about more than just the beach and Ancora Park is the ideal starting point for discovering places like Ponta da Piedade, the Lagos Marina, the Castle, the Old Slave Market and many others points of interest that the town offers. The 60 apartments are tastefully furnished and are an excellent solution for those looking to enjoy a few days of family holiday in Lagos. All apartments have been recently refurbished, now presenting a high standard of comfort and offering everything the best beach apartments in the Algarve must have. Upon arrival, guests are kindly greeted at reception, which is open 24 hours a day. Staying in a holiday apartment in the Algarve is even more fun when you have access to the help of a professional who is able to answer all questions and make the best suggestions. After a day at the beach take some time to relax in the TV lounge, or let the kids have fun in the games room. If during your family holiday in Lagos you don't happen to be in the mood for cooking, then you can enjoy your meals in the Ancora Park restaurant. The Ancora Park Hotel also has two bars where guests can relax and socialise. If you love the beach, but cannot do without a dip in the pool, you will love the fantastic olympic pool at Ancora Park, with endless metres of invigorating laps waiting for you. This is a one-of-a-kind swimming-pool in the Algarve. Children were also taken into consideration and a pool is available just for them as is another one for adults. The pool area is equipped with sun loungers and parasols to provide all the comfort that Ancora Park guests deserve. Near the pools there is also a snack bar, which makes sure you don't have to go too far away from the refreshing pool water. Even if it is to tend to your appetite. Those who like a bit more adventure will love the resort's diving centre, the Blue Ocean Divers. Your family holiday in the Algarve can become a wonderful way to start a new activity such as diving! Ancora Park Hotel is the perfect choice for a holiday in Lagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ancora Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Ancora Hotel Lagos
Ancora Hotel Lagos
Ancora Motel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing