We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Mos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Mos
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in July 2012, just looking for a basic hotel so we could explore lagos. But we ending up really enjoying the hotel! The rooms are nice and we had a beautiful view of some water and palm trees from the back yard. The food was pretty good, loved how you could see the sunset through the glass walls while eating dinner. Loved the lunch and bar in the lobby. Beautiful, Beautiful grounds. Also, loved that you could get a drink from the lobby, lie by the pool, tan and see the ocean. It's a bit of a walk from town, and from the main beach. But the hotel is worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    45
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Went for a week break at the end of October. The room was spacious with a beautiful view of the valley and sea. The rooms were cleaned regularly and the staff were lovely especially the young girl serving at the bar. We ate there a few times; once for breakfast which had a good variety but maybe a bit pricey. Day time menu was good but we didn't eat in the restaurant at night. We didn't use the pool due to the weather. It rained a bit but most of the time it was warm enough for shorts and t-shirt. It is a bit of a walk into the old town; about half an hour. The old town is lovely and plenty of great places to eat for reasonable prices. The cliffs by the hotel give you a beautiful view if you like to walk. We rented a car from the hotel which made it really easy as they dropped it in the hotel and picked it up from there as well. Overall it was a lovely break and a great hotel. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenob85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from 6 day break at Vila Mos Sept 2012. It's difficult to fault this hotel. Lovely, very clean and large apartment (a lounge/kitchen, bathroom and bedroom) with loads of space and I think every room had a sea view. 4 stars about right. Most staff were friendly and helpful, but perhaps could have been a little happier if we were being overly critical. Direct path to a "blue flag" beach, about 150-200 metres. About 1-2km to the old town, just about walk-able, taxi is 5 minutes (3.55 euro). Loads of lovely restaurants to choose from, reasonably priced and excellent quality. Coastline is awesome, boat trip to see this definitely VFM. Many other beaches to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Burbs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here for a week in early June and it was great, the apartment was large, clean and had everything we could want. The staff were friendly and extremely helpfully. The pool was lovely and there was no problem with space on the terrace but it was very quite so this could be a problem later in the year. There is also a path down the the beach which is about 10 minutes walk. It is slightly outside of centre of Lagos, about a 30 minute stroll, but taxis are plentiful and cost approx Euro 4.50. There are a number of excellent restaurants in the old town of Lagos if you are willing to walk down. We have been on a number of sun holidays and this is the first place we have stayed that we would definitely come back to!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were here in February 2012 and were one of only a few people staying here. As a result we had a magnificent apartment with a south facing balcony with views down to the beach. The apartment was large and very clean. We were very fortunate with a week of sunshine, allowing us to use the pool and terrace for sunbathing. Our 4 year old son had the run of the area and the option of both pools to himself.
This is set in a very quiet location but is only a short drive from Lagos. It is within walking distance of the magnificent beach at Porto du Mos. Plenty of nearby shops and has everything you will need for a quiet family holiday. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagnersEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

More like a 3 star than a 4 star. Clean and quiet but you will need a car. We had a self catering room - spacious but no oven (micro and hob). Shower but no bath. Walking distance to good beach. Taxi to town is 4 euro. Friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiterian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I spent 2 weeks at the Vila Mos (Sun Place) in Porto de Mos in early September and can say that my husband, my 3-year-old and me had a great time.

We rented a car with Luzcar (good, friendly service, much cheaper than the bigger companies in the business). We picked up the vehicle at the airport and delivered it at the hotel (they didn’t charge extra for it). Overall service was very friendly and good, only point I would make is that they don’t charge for car seats but you shouldn't expect them to be in excellent condition (we took a booster seat so this was not a problem). This was a much better alternative than taking a taxi from Faro airport to Lagos, which would have cost us €100 (we paid around €50 per day for an E-sized car with air-conditioning).

Vila Mos is very nice, the room we had (1 bed apartment) was huge, with very large lounge, bathroom, bedroom and good size kitchen, with most things needed. Cleaning takes place every other day, which we didn’t find a problem. Hotel staff was very helpful, specially the evening receptionist Nuno who was very friendly and professional. The swimming pool is not huge, but also nice (although it was very cold!). There is also a small playground, which kept my 3-year old entertained… The only downside (apart from the fact that the mattresses are quite hard…) is that there isn’t much to do around the hotel. The local supermarket is about 15 minutes up hill walk away (but it would probably be better to pay for a taxi ride to the local Intermarche), and other than the restaurant on the seafront, there’s nothing else to do. If you rent a car, it would be worth to pay a visit to “Pao D’Avo Maria” which sells some of the local specialties, like the delicious “pastel de nata”, amongst others (reception should be able to provide you with directions!)

The beach in Porto de Mos is very pretty – perfect for building sand castles and swimming (although the water was a bit cold...). It is within walking distance, taking about 10 minutes (it is downhill, but we didn’t find it too difficult although we had a pushchair, and actually enjoyed the exercise). The swimming pool is not huge, but also nice (although it was very cold!). We just wouldn’t recommend the restaurant on the beach front – service is very slow and food is very low quality.

Porto de Mos is about 10 minutes from Lagos (taxi ride costs €5). This is a small, but very interesting town. We spent a few evenings there and had lots of fun with the street artists, restaurants, etc. Also there is plenty to do around Lagos – I would recommend Monchique and Alte (nice places to spend a few hours) and Portimao (for a more authentic, not so touristy place)

Overall, we had a great time and would fully recommend this hotel for a nice family vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiliFeb2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.7 mi away
Clube Porto Mos
Clube Porto Mos
#17 of 50 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Canavial Apartments
Canavial Apartments
#15 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
1.7 mi away
Quinta dos Caracois
Quinta dos Caracois
#28 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Mos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Mos

Property: Vila Mos
Address: Estrada Monte Carapeto | Porto Mos, Lagos 8601-910, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Mos 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 350 meters from the magnificent beach of Porto de Mos, Sunplace Vila Mos is a hotel with an excellent range of holiday apartments in Lagos. Sunplace Vila Mos is surrounded by beautiful gardens, providing a perfect communion between sea and nature. If you like quiet environments where you can really relax, then it is guaranteed that you will love the atmosphere provided here. A short walk away, the beach of Porto de Mos has everything to make visitors fall in love with it. The long beach of fine golden sand, the caves that appear when the tide is low and the flora that sprinkles the landscape, make this a truly unforgettable beach. For many, this is in fact the best beach in the whole of the Algarve. And it's easy to see why! If you are looking for holiday apartments in Porto de Mos, Sunplace Vila Mos is the right choice. This holiday resort offers a wide range of apartments, covering several types of accommodation. If you need a spacious and comfortable apartment for a family holiday in Lagos, you will appreciate the fantastic 3 bedroom apartments (T3) at Sunplace Vila Mos. A large family needs enough room to make the most of their holidays and that is what these apartments offer. In Sunplace Vila Mos nothing was left to chance and guests can expect a wide range of amenities to ensure a dream holiday. Because a good holiday is not just spent on the beach, Sunplace Vila Mos offers a tempting pool surrounded by palm trees. Your well-being was not forgotten and the resort features a fantastic Health Club so the guests can reinvigorate the body during the course of their stay. If tennis is one of your favourite sports, Sunplace Vila Mos has great tennis courts where you can practice and perfect your game. If you need help finding other activities to your liking, you can seek the assistance of specialised personnel at the front desk. Among other activities, you can book excursions, bicycles, boat trips, horse riding, etc.. At the Sunplace Vila Mos you will find the holiday apartment in the Algarve that you always dreamed of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Vila Mos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Mos Lagos
Vila Mos Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing