We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but mixed review.”
Review of Villas D. Dinis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas D. Dinis
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Overall our stay at Vila D. Dinis was pleasant. We had made a last minute booking through booking.com, and upon arrival were glad we had chosen them over the other options we had seen listed in the area. Check-in was efficient and friendly as Rita (i believe that was her name) went over all the details of where things were, etc. The grounds were all well kept and had a really nice vibe. We stay in the section called Casa Golphinos which was about 10 studio apartments set around a pool which as really nice. The studio was also spacious and clean. There was also free wifi in the rooms.
There is one indicent that has unfortunately led to a less than perfect review. One afternoon we realized ants were everywhere (inclucing IN our luggage) - not just a couple of them but TONS. I asked the young woman at reception (i did not get her name) for bug spray and asked if this was a normal occurance and she was quite defensive with me even though I hadn't approached her in an accusatory manner. She did not even offer to come look at the problem. My husband and i ended up spraying down the whole room ourselves as well as our luggage and that seemed to have solved the issue. We were actually more bothered by the attitude receieved from the receptionst than we were by the ants.
Overall we did enjoy our stay and would still recommend it despite this incident.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Villas D. Dinis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 371 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Villa D.Dinis has a good location. You have to walk 15 minutes to reach the restaurants and bars within the old walls of Lagos but you are very close to the best beaches. Both the famous Praia Dona Ana and the also beautiful Praia do Camilo are just 5 minutes away.

The apartments are located in various small villas in the very well maintained garden, which also has several small swimming pools. Our apartment was at the first floor. It was large and very clean. From the small balcony you had a pleasant view over the luxuriant garden. Despite all the apartments face on the same garden it is arranged in a clever way that manages to allow privacy and a pleasant sense of isolation. The rooms are decorated in an too incongruous style that I would define kitsch but it is a matter of personal taste, I believe that many people may like them.

The breakfast is served in a beautiful terrace and it is truly excellent. The staff has been very helpful and friendly. The price is adequate.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and we were very happy. The price was perfect.
-10 minute walk to two great beaches.
-15-20 minute walk to the Old Town that is filled with great restaurants and bars.
-The B&B staff always recommended awesome things to do (day kayaking with Kayak Adventures).
-If you do not get breakfast included, it is 7 euros. Do go thinking you are getting eggs and bacon
-Parking is public first come first serve (i did not have a problem)
-Rooms have a kitchenette, so you can bring your own snacks.
-Three different pool options allow you to be with the crowd you want (kids, singles, couples...)
-Request room 14 or 15 if you want to walk out your door and be at the pool.
-Multiple restaurants within minutes if you walk something close.
-Take a left out of the B&B, travel 500m and you will be at a convenient store that has everything from beer to beach stuff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawiscokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I had a brilliant holiday at Villas D Dinis - everything was just perfect - the owner was the ultimate host - giving us a upgrade to the penthouse Apartment halfway through our stay (we stayed for 8 nights in total)
The receptionist lady organised bike hire taxi and great recommendations for restaurants. The breakfast was outstanding was always totally fresh and tasty! Very good value for money.
The staff was super efficient but at the same time we had privacy in order to relax and unwind
Everything was so cleaned and it was just what we were looking for - could not recommend Villas D Dinis - Charming Residence highly enough - thank you to the team for such a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harveycochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The owners were great and so accomodating. We asked for a double so they happily moved us and what a move! We had a massive apartment, really secure, off street parking, and 10 steps to the swimming pool. We could have had a party in the large bathroom. So clean and tidy and serviced daily. We really enjoyed our stay and recommend this location away from the bustle of other towns on the coast. 15-20 minute walk to town centre and 10 minutes to a beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My family and I spent a couple of days in Lagos and stayed in this wonderful hotel. Very clean and roomy. The hospitality was amazing: Rita is so very nice and helpful. I will go back and hopefully for more days. I was there off-season (in May 2011) but it's my favorite weather: Not too hot and just cool enough.

Room Tip: This whole property is gorgeous, I am sure any room will be perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank podobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We went in the off season so it would be hard to tell how hectic the town gets during the summer.
With that said... What a fantastic place to call home for a few days (and would have been amazing for longer!)
Rita was working the front desk and was incredibly sweet and accommodating.
The studio we stayed in was idealic. Clean, tastefully decorated, quite...perfect really!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjd57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.3 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
422 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 52 in Lagos
1,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 52 in Lagos
3,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
0.5 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 52 in Lagos
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas D. Dinis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas D. Dinis

Address: Estrada Ponta da Piedade, Lote 25 | Dona Ana Beach, Lagos 8600-544, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $63 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas D. Dinis 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas D. Dinis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilas d. Dinis Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing