We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Lagosmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lagosmar Hotel
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 17/10/2012. My wife and I were visiting friends in Lagos. They have a small apartment so could not accommodate us overnight but recommended this particular hotel. We were pleasantly surprised to discover just how central this hotel is to everything.

On check in the staff were most helpful, one lady spoke excellent English and made us feel very welcome. Our room was of a decent size, fairly basic but exceptionally clean. There is air con and wifi all inclusive in the modest charge. Breakfast is also included and guests are provided wth a decent selection of continental fare.

The staff here really do try to make your stay both pleasant and memorable and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking for a central, informal and value for money place to stay in Lagos.

In rating this hotel I have taken into account it's official star designation so am not comparing it to 4 or 5 star accommodations. It is very good value for money and the staff are brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    112
    63
    15
    12
See reviews for
17
165
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

So convenient for Lagos town and beaches. Basic hotel but that is reflected in the price. Nice staff - breakfast got a bit boring as same every day but hey ho......really worth the money. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel +four times and have always enjoyed the stay.It's cental location to the town is it's greatest asset as it is in easy staggering distance!

Clean and comfortable rooms,breakfast is included in the price and there is a good choice to be had (continental)

There is no pool so we usually use this hotel in March/Oct and Xmas period when it is too cold to go swimming so not missed.

Good value for your money and will be staying there again this Xmas, unless we find a villa/apartment!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossy282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Clean friendly and central. We had a small room though and near reception so a bit noisy when people come home at night. The street itself is quiet. Nice view from roof terrace but could be better decorated. Breakfast is simple, coffee from machine is not good. Hotel is clean and well maintenef but old fashioned. Overall it is what you would expect for 2 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kieranmcg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

For a cheap budget hotel this place was fine, with some good and some slightly less good bits.

The good: The staff were faultless. Not a single one was anything but polite, helpful and smiling, even the cleaners, even when we turned up tired and moody at 2am. My friend left some jewellery in the room and it was kept and returned to her - like it loads. And the location would be hard to beat, as it is just round the corner from the main square yet not on a busy street itself. It only took about 15 mins to walk to the little's coves to the south of the town, which even I am not lazy enough to moan about. Plus there is free wifi and it is speedy.

The less good: Although clean, the place is dated. Our bathroom was a sort of glazed custard colour, bordering on the trippy, with a browny bath and toilet. My parents had something similar in the mid 1980's and were embarrassed about it even then. The owners have made some effort, but it takes more than some Ikea reeds in a pot to modernise what is essentially a 70's time warp. The only other thing of note is the breakfast, held in a windowless basement, and which could define the word mediocre. A bit of cereal, toast and a smattering of melon doesn't quite cut it any more. I suppose at least it won't make you fat, but nor will it make you desperate for more. Would I return? Yeah, I suppose. But not in a rush.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrobinsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hotel is located in a quiet narrow street just a few steps from nightlife center. It's also not so far from the bus station (around 10 minutes by foot). Rooms are small but lovely and clean, staff is very friendly and helpful. Though our room at 0 floor lacked wifi connection they managed to change it to one which have excellent signal. Nevertheless it's hard to find parking place near the hotel they provide almost 50% discount for public parking located in 5 minutes to the hotel. We had a car and went to Meia Praia beach (it took about 10 minutes to get here as well as by car and by foot). View from the terrace at the roof is wonderful. Overall very good impression and I would highly recommend to stay in Lagosmar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnastasiaKlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel is perfectly situated for the centre of Lagos. It's a minutes walk from the majority of the night life and about two to the waterfront. The hotel itself is basic but very clean and well kept, if a little dated in terms of colour schemes (the bathroom was a yellow and brown combo!) That said the room was air conditioned, we had a double bed as requested and there was enough space to be comfortable (but nothing extra). Wifi coverage was good throughout the hotel (including the room). Breakfast is he same each day, bread rolls, toast, meat and cheese, cereal, basic selection of pastries and yoghurt with hot drinks/juice. Not impressive but you should be choosing this hotel for location and price rather than luxury and food. I you are a foodie then there are countless little restaurants and cafes only a few minutes walk from the hotel. Finally the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The beach is about ten mins walk (using a 60 cent short and frequent ferry) to get the but it's decent once you are there. There is no pool, but there is a told terrace for sunbathing if you can't be bothered to head to the beach, which I would suggest is probably worth it.

I would definitely reccomend this hotel if all you need is a clean and simple place to sleep In between exploring the city, beaches and activities on offer.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,018 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.3 mi away
Residencial Sol a Sol
Residencial Sol a Sol
#32 of 50 in Lagos
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
382 reviews
1.0 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#10 of 50 in Lagos
285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagosmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagosmar Hotel

Property: Lagosmar Hotel
Address: Rua Doutor Faria e Silva 13, Lagos 8600-734, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lagosmar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lagosmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Lagosmar Lagos
Residencial Lagosmar Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing