We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely well run and great if your on a budget”
Review of Montemar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montemar
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Was made to welcome as soon as I arrived. On first impressions it does look as if it's stuck in a time warp but it is in tune with the local area of Lagos. Room was clean comfy and spacious. Breakfast was continental. Tasty enough but lacked a bit of variety. The staff were all well versed in English and were extremely helpful and polite. Location was good near to the old town and a cheap taxi ride to get back up the hill from the marina. All in all fantastic little hotel, highly recommended & I'd defiantly return.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeeGee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Montemar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 240 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We got the hotel at very low price with breakfast which was really good compare to the price we payed. The room was a bit small but enough for us, clean and comfortable with a balcony with a good view of the sea but the room was a bit old but it was okay. It's not in the city center but probably you can walk from there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sea_Nymph77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at this good hotel in July for 10 days and once again in Oct for 11 days.Lovely clean hotel,nearby to good beaches and fine restaurants.An easy walk into Lagos Old Town and an easy longer walk to Main town and Marina.Thats from someone with a bad leg.If you want all the comforts of your own home eg. multi channel tv and fancy setee,then stay at home !! If you want a good clean base with clean sheets and towels daily,with a continental plentiful breakfast then this is fine.Not the Ritz but certainly not Faulty Towers either.Good views from 3rd floor balcony,lift close to all rooms and a quiet hotel with no rowdiness.Great value for money,and as a regular guest in Hotels in the UK it certainly does not lack character or is not soul less as our Travel and Prems seem to be.Yes there are other hotels in Lagos and some have a fine hot buffet style breakfast,but cost 80 euros a night more.The Portugese staff have been very freindly and helpful and thankyou to them all.Just checked out 17-10-13.

Room Tip: Better views from 3rd floor.Road side rooms best for sun on balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 55Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really the only good thing to say about this hotel is that its well located ( if you dont mind walking ) ; in all other respects its absolutely dire ... on its last legs and really ought to be put out of its misery or refurbished in its entirety .
As the last reviewer says ; anyone accustomed to the relative excellence of budget hotels in the UK will be appalled ...
Its a bit sad really and reflects the state of Portugal .
I pointed out to a member of staff ( might have been the Owner ) that a tap in the downstairs loo was running at full pelt and could not be turned off ... he set off in its general direction without looking at me or acknowledging that I had spoken to him ! I stopped him ( v politely , and sort of said ... earth to hotel staff employee did you hear me ... it was intended to be helpful etc ... at which point he appeared to wake up and was very apologetic and pleasant ) .
Presumably the staff and management are so down and depressed about everything ... maybe they are also hot and cant see what they are doing .... lights off / AC off ...
Our taxi driver was stopped on the way to the hotel and we were detained for about 45 mins ... while some young police did a fabulous impression of what it must have been like before the Berlin Wall was torn down . The awful thing was how resigned the young taxi driver was to this officious pointless harassment ... as if ; were he to put one foot wrong he'd be in serious trouble .
The offending police were no more than in their late twenties .... heaven help them !
On our way down to Portugals most photographed beach - Dona Ana - we walked past a massive grafitti strewn unfinished 200 bed hotel ... & it wasnt the only one in the area !
Sad ... but the sardines at the Adega were fabulous as was the Muralhas de Moncao ... and one of the young girls on the reception was very pretty and sweet .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonjames048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel just for one night in September. We booked through booking.com and also have a short review and similar rating on their site. We needed somewhere to stay just for the one night in Lagos and did not want to spend a lot of money so this hotel was a good choice at 26 Euros per night.

Our overwhelming feeling was sadness that this hotel could be so much better. It's in a great position close to Dona Ana beach and Porto do Mos and within easy walking distance of Lagos up and down the hill. We love walking so this is not a problem but people who don't might be better off staying at the Tivoli ( 100 Euros a night in high season) which has a shuttle to Meia Praia beach and is much closer to the restaurants and the marina.

Anyway ..back to the Montemar..The rooms are basically OK and although the bathrooms are ancient everything works! We had to ask for a plug for the bath which was delivered by a friendly cleaning lady. The aircon also works and is of a similar type to those in the Tivoli hotel. The WIFI in our room 202 also worked so we were able to watch the last episode of "Breaking Bad" on our laptop!

We felt that the hotel reflects the current economic situation in Portugal. The staff are initially not very friendly but if you are friendly to them and try a few Portuguese words they warm up slighty.The hotel feels solid and the curtains are a good quality so with a big bank loan they could re do the plumbing to improve the bathrooms and put some new beds and bedlinen in the rooms. We are spoilt in the UK with the Premier Inn budget hotels leading the way. Breakfast could be vastly improved by the addition of fresh fruit , freshly squeezed orange juice and some hard boiled eggs..none of these are expensive in portugal.

Travellers who use a taxi to the airport should allow plenty of time..at least an hour extra. The roads ( in particular the A22 toll road have virtually no traffic so this is'nt the problem) are fine but our taxi driver was stopped by the police on the main roundabout as we left Lagos. They took 3/4 hour to check all his papers whilst we were left sitting in the taxi. The police could see he was obviously taking us to the airport but made no effort to speed their check up. The taxi driver was very apologetic and luckily we just made our flight in time. Our taxi driver said a friend of his was stopped for a whole hour and as a result his passengers missed their flight. This seems extraordinary behaviour on the part of the police as really the only thing the Algarve has going for it is tourism . We almost felt as if we were in East Berlin in the 1930's.

No wonder Kate and Gerry McCann don't want to do their reconstruction for Crimewatch in Praia de Luz if this is how the police behave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

yes it has some flaws, tv was small and a bit faulty, breakfast was basic, but we didnt go there to sit and watch telly and breakfast was complimentary so i cant complain, staff was helpful, hotel was very clean and so Lagos is. Beautiful beaches, loads of bars, restaurants, shops 10 minutes away. Wi-fi in lobby. Towels changed and room cleaned everyday. We stayed in August and nights are quite cold there because of the wind so take some jumper with you, we used air-con once at night, anyway lots to do in Lagos we have been surfing, sea kayaking and biking, we didnt find time for dolphins watching so maybe next time;) cant understand people complaining o much about breakfast- dont like it -dont eat it, there are many cafes near by, for me it was good to have a coffee and a croissant in ......

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aniaj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

First of all, ignore the moaners. Such trivia they are moaning about, and obviously lack the gumption to ask for things. The staff were very eager to help if asked. In fact I think they had the patience of saints, considering the moaning tourists they have to put up with.

It's a good hotel. I stayed for three weeks in June, and loved every minute.

Room Tip: If you don't like the first one they offer, ask for another. It's not rocket science.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bellx15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
Lagosmar Hotel
Lagosmar Hotel
#21 of 52 in Lagos
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
0.3 mi away
Residencial Sol a Sol
Residencial Sol a Sol
#33 of 52 in Lagos
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#35 of 52 in Lagos
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#15 of 52 in Lagos
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montemar

Address: Lote 33-34 Rua da Torraltinha, Lagos 8600-549, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range: $32 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montemar 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Hotel Lagos
Comfort Inn Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing