We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are not dissapointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montemar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montemar
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We are not dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you need a hotel only to keep your things there and to sleep - Montemar is a good choice for its price. Towels were changed every day, but the floor on the balcony was not washed at all during the whole our 13-days stay. Take your own hair dryer, soap and shampoo.
We were lucky, we get a room on the 3rd floor with a seaview (we could really see the ocean, and even sunrise!).
Breakfast is always the same, but if you need only to have a short snack, then it is ok (delicious bread, ham and cheese, nice coffee, cool juices, muesli).
The staff is ok. Not to say that very friendly, but we had no problems with them. Wi-fi only in the lobby.
7 minutes walk to the city. 7-15 min walk to the beaches (Praia de Pinhao, Dona Ana, Camila). To the beaches it is better to go not by the road, but along the shore, so you coud see from the top the beauty of the nature, caves and water and choose the beach you like the most.
There is a restaurant Triangulo near to the hotel (food is delicious, though the staff was a little bit strange). There is also supermarket SPAR in 3 min from the hotel.
FOR GIRLS: do not take to Lagos any shoes with heels. It is impossible to wear them because of the road made of stones.
We were in Montemar in the middle/end of July 2013, in the evening it was a bit cold because of the wind. Take jackets and pants. We took a lot of light dresses and short skirts with toeless shoes, and did not wear them at all in the evening.
Lagos is great for partying (Bon Vivant, Joe's Garage till 2am, Grand Cafe from 2am till 4am are good) and surfing (we enjoyed Extreme Algarve school). Montemar is perfectly located to this school (1 min) and 10 min walk to the bars.
Enjoy your stay in Lagos!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksenia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    62
    70
    34
    19
See reviews for
23
115
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

It's not normally in my nature to complain, but me and my partner decided our stay was so poor that we should let others know of our experience!!

Awful staff/service- staff were so miserable and unhelpful- management seemed the worst of bad bunch!!! Went to the bar on a few occasions after being out and what we presume was the owner watched absolutely everything the staff and we were doing!!! Made us very very very uncomfortable, so we stopped doing this!!

Breakfast consisted of hard croissants/rolls, horrible soft cereal (no variety except for corn flakes and corn flakes with choc pieces), awful cheese and ham, undrinkable coffee/tea. It was the same breakfast for 10 days. No fruit offered and even the orange juice was awful!!!!

Rooms were cleaned daily with clean towels everyday - double room was two single beds pushed together! TV didn't work properly and we asked for it to be looked at, but again, it was like talking to the wall!!!

Would never never stay here again!!!!

Loved Lagos, but after this, I'm not sure if I would return!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagos hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. Friendly, very helpful staff who always greeted us with a smile. We have just come back from a 10 day holiday and are a couple in our 20s. The hotel is situated about 5 minutes from the beach and a similar distance to the town so close to all the restaurants and bars.

The room was cleaned to a high standard with new towels given daily. The hotel is quiet and we picked a room facing the garden which was cool and gave a nice break after spending a day crisping on the beach. The only slight downfall was the breakfast which was a very basic continental offering however it suited us fine for the whole time we were there and the times between 8 and 10 every morning were very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaybe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We've just returned from 7 nights at the Montemar...i never read any reports on trip advisor until i had already booked (stupid i know). as i went through the reviews, i started to think i had made a big mistake. But i have too say, the hotel is Good, Very Clean, and the staff were great. the only thing i could complain about is the lack of outside seating. The hotel could do with a courtyard where guests could interact. but overall, a very nice smaller hotel .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kbconneely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have family living near Lagos so usually stay with them , however on this occasion, as on two previous occasions this was not possible so we booked the Montemar .

This is my third stay in this hotel and I must say that it still does exactly what is says on the tin !

As previous reviewers have stated the hotel may need a bit of tlc in terms of the frayed flags , the wall hit by a car and the empty fountain ( never a swimming pool !) but in these tough economic times I can understand that these things would be quite far down the "to do " list .

We stayed for a week , we hired a car at the airport and after a journey of only one hour arrived at approx 11 , and could check straight in . we had a room on the ground floor and I was a little concerned but had no problem whatsoever .and yes the "double" is 2 beds pushed together which always leaves a gap !

The room has air con and tv that receives bbc1 and itv but we lost these after 2 days , we reported this on two consecutive days but still nothing , on the third day we returned to the room to find two staff members trying their best ! we got bbc in time to watch andy murray ! they were very apologetic about the loss of the other channel.

Ihave found the staff quite reserved but i always try my limited portugese and this seems to help !

as reported , the breakfasts are more than adequate if a bit samey , there are croissants , and fresh rolls with jam , cheese and ham and a couple of choices of cereal and yoghurts , there is only one staff member working in the morning and on occasion when something had run out , we asked and it was replenished , if you want a full english go into town and pay 5 or 6 euros ! the coffee machine is ok , I found that having a large coffee with a short coffee fit in the same cup and made it to my liking !

toiletries , personally I prefer to take my own , but if you dont they only provide the very basic , dont go expecting jo malone freebies , lol , consider the price you are paying , if you want the best of everything check in to the gale lagos ( and REALLY pay !!!)

I love lagos and we out a couple of times , Adega da Marina always excellent if you dont mind the very busy waiting staff that defo dont do " smiley " customer service , check out how many people eat there , it is worth it ! locals and tourists alike !

we didnt get chance to eat at Pizzalino this time , just across the roundabout from the hotel , they do takeaway too ! always great , I heard people leaving there as we came back from a night in town and they were singing its praises !

location - yes a bit of a steep walk back up to the hotel at the end of the day / night but it got easier as the week progressed , couple of lovely beaches nearby and even a little mini market and some eateries a couple of mins away , rather than walk down the main road into town ( past the fire station ) we crossed the roundabout an just headed down the hill , left at the spar shop then turn right and keep walking down hill and you will come out near to the golden chapel of st antonio / the square with prince henry the navigator statue . we passed the don toro steak house every night and was going to eat there but always got sidetracked ( the advertise rib eye steak with chips and salad for 10 euros - i guess we will just have to go back and try it !)

so overall - value for money , you get what you pay for !

Room Tip: higher floors would get you a decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawncolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We've just returned from a week's holiday in Lagos and stayed in Hotel Montemar. Having read a few of the reviews we were sceptical however we were pleasantly surprised (and relieved!) that Hotel Motemar was as great as you could expect for the price you were paying.

Contary to the previous reviews; staff were welcoming, friendly and happy to help! Breakfast was served and replenished until 10 (we never got there before half 9 and there was always enough). It was reasonably simple - rolls, cereal, savoury croissants and ham/cheese - but what else would you expect for the price paid?!

The rooms were always clean, basic but more than adequate! Always had hot water - and as for the soap... bring your own?! Surely you always bring your own shampoo despite this being provided?!

Location was PERFECT! Quick walk to the nicest beaches! and not far at all into the old town - great restaurants.

All in all... you get what you pay for! And you're not going to just sit in the hotel all week (I'd hope!) so it makes a great base!! We really enjoyed and would 100% stay in Hotel Montemar again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel is a good walk from anywhere, outside is a show, walls all bashed, flags were all ripped an a small pool at the front that was just neglected, reception area was nice and clean and the only place were you can get wi fi, so hotel looks busy because alot of guests sit there to use it, the staff were very helpful though, breakfast is very sparse a plate of meat and a few bagels and as for the rooms there very minimal but were clean , felt like a prison cell (not that I have stayed in one) Lagos is beautiful an would defiantly return but would avoid staying at the Montemar even on a budget!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madalina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
Lagosmar Hotel
Lagosmar Hotel
#18 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#27 of 51 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa da Moura
Casa da Moura
#26 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#13 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#31 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montemar

Property: Montemar
Address: Rua da Torraltinha Lote 33-34, Lagos 8600-549, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montemar 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Hotel Lagos
Comfort Inn Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing