We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Montemar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montemar
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is cheap 86E for two night - 3 in one room - so we din't expect any frills but actually it proved quite comfortable and clean. Breakfast down stairs was adequate - obviously not a cooked option for that price but fruit, yoghurt, cheese meat -usual continental. They allowed us to go dining room 5 minutes early at 7.55am as we had a bus to catch to Faro at 8.30am.
It was quite a long way to walk with cases from the bus station so we took a taxi but not really that far out and easy to walk into town for an evening meal.
We went to Sagres by bus (day trip) which was very interesting.
Hotel wasn't full so rooms quiet . Staff helpful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zorrothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    62
    70
    34
    19
See reviews for
23
115
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is very basic and I would not call it a B&B or a 3 star - this is a 2 star hotel, breakfast is offered but very minimal. The location is very good, close to beach and town centre. The rooms are basic but pretty descent and clean. The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels every day. This is an ideal hotel if your looking for a base to explore surrounding areas including Lagos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The problem with this hotel is its a bit out the way its not to bad but you do have to walk up a steep hill every time you come back from the beach/town etc. There is no pool and the breakfast was very basic. The staff are ok. The rooms are clean and air conditioned although very basic.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andybrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagos hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I booked this hotel with confidence havng read the reviews and was looking forward to spending three nights in a good budget three star hotel, however my husband and I were very disappointed. Although, not a fussy couple we struggled to find many postives and it is our oppinion that this hotel should be rated as a two star. I agree with others that the hotel was clean and in a pretty good location and it has to be said that it was a good price. However, I have stayed in many low cost three star hotels and there is no comparison. The Hotel Montemar was a poor example of a 3* with no ammenities (no hair dryer in room - no classes, and only a tiny bar of soap) internet not working, bar had limited selection of basic soft and alcohol drinks that were advertisedf but not available, decor very dated, breakfast disgraceful - no hot food. no friut no toast and what was served was tasteless (school dinners comes to mind) breakfast room resembled a workmans canteen) no pool or outside terrace or seating to enjoy a dink in the sun, and although there was free car parking with our deal it was almost impossible to access in and out given the poor design (there was evidence that cars had not been able to negogiate the narrow space). I would not recommend this hotel as there are many good three star hotels in the resort. One postive would be that Lagos is a lovely resort and I would definetly go back but not to the Montemar thats for sure !!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

My partner and I read load of reviews before booking so obviously we were looking forward to staying. On arrival, the guy on reception was lovely. This must be some kind of ploy as the rest of the staff are miserable as sin and don't even speak when leaving or entering the hotel reception. The bar area is closed at all times so you can't even sit and have a drink on a night. The breakfasts .. Well now i am quite fussy so can't comment, however, my partner who loves her food couldn't stomach it. Make sure you get there early as there's nothing left after 9am!! We weren't due to get picked up for our return to the airport until 16.45 and asked to keep a room on. The receptionist didn't even look to see if this could be done and simply said "we may need room". Absolute disgrace of a hotel and I would never recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angenpaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel had bad design bad rooms bad grimy tiles i could not even wash in hotel and felt like it was poor for 24 euros and breakfast was absolutely terrible the cornflakes were stale and the orange juice was powder and stale and the meat well i think it was not meat and the staff was so bad a grumpy they looked like they needed anti depresents bad bad bad and constant sirens

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Good value for money,easy walking distance to bars,shops and beaches.nice and clean.Basic breakfast.
Staff friendly enough
Late check out which was nice
Plenty of leaflets available to help you decide what to do on your holiday.
A perfect base for your holiday

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelley-welly1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
0.6 mi away
Lagosmar Hotel
Lagosmar Hotel
#19 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#31 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#25 of 51 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
0.6 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
8.2 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#66 of 79 in Portimao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montemar

Property: Montemar
Address: Rua da Torraltinha Lote 33-34, Lagos 8600-549, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montemar 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Hotel Lagos
Comfort Inn Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing