We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful”
Review of Montemar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montemar
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disgraceful”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel had bad design bad rooms bad grimy tiles i could not even wash in hotel and felt like it was poor for 24 euros and breakfast was absolutely terrible the cornflakes were stale and the orange juice was powder and stale and the meat well i think it was not meat and the staff was so bad a grumpy they looked like they needed anti depresents bad bad bad and constant sirens

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    70
    74
    38
    21
See reviews for
28
127
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Good value for money,easy walking distance to bars,shops and beaches.nice and clean.Basic breakfast.
Staff friendly enough
Late check out which was nice
Plenty of leaflets available to help you decide what to do on your holiday.
A perfect base for your holiday

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelley-welly1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Montemar and it was fantastic. Although it is a budget hotel you wouldn't think so. It has a lovely Reception, lounge and bar Area. The hotel is spotless. Bedrooms and bathrooms kept very clean with clean sheets and towels every day. The air conditioning was great too. Breakfast was good too. The Hotel is very close to several beautiful small beaches, 5-10 minute walk. Lagos is a gorgeous place to visit and we would have not hesitation in staying at the Montemar again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doncaster64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

my partner and i stayed her for 10 days and have just returned, this hotel is ideal and comfortable, even though its on a roundabout and main road, the double glazing does its job and to be fair the road isnt that busy anyway,the staff are lovely and are always on hand to assist with directions etc, as it was our first time in lagos we were a little apprehensive what to ecpect but these fears were soon allayed by the helpful staff, lagos is one of the prettiest places i have been and even found myself looking at property prices (thats a first), the hill to the hotel makes you puff and pant but you soon get used to it and to be honest its hardly the hotels fault, i wouldnt think twice to staying here again,, the breakfast is very nice and a fine selection of meats and breads, as someone on here stated get the black coffee and put your own milk in,, thankyou

Room Tip: as the rooms all face onto a road i dont thinkl one would be much different to the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westyorkshireevo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed there end of June and have spent great holidays. No complaints at all. Its hard to belive some negative comments.
Good location - very close to the lovely town centre and the beach. Room always clean, with air conditioning what we did not expect, hotel staff very friendly and always willing to help. Very good continental breakfast.
No any little complain about this hotel. Will definately come back next year.
( couple from Slovakia )

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely week staying at the Montemar. This is a gem of a budget hotel, with fairly spacious, rooms which are serviced every day with clean bed linen and towels. Unlimited use of the air con was wonderful in the heat of June. There is a nice lounge and bar area and car parking underneath the hotel. I think most rooms have a baclony. Continental breakfast was included and there was plenty on offer. Staff were really friendly.
About 10 minutes from the great town of Lagos the hotel is convenient but be warned its a fairly steep trek back up to the hotel. Would definetly recommend this hotel and Lagos is a fantastic holiday location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed there in June 2012 with my boyfriend for 10 days and very much enjoyed it. Staff was very friendly, efficient and helpful. I had a very good sleep throughout the whole stay, room was clean and serviced every day, it was basic but comfortable. We got the room cheap and were pleased to see it was a good choice. The breakfast was fresh and had enough to choose from. The location of the hotel is also very convenient only 10 minutes away from the old town and about same distance to the nearest beach. In addition to that the rooms have air con and there is a wifi for free in the lobby. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monfij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
Lagosmar Hotel
Lagosmar Hotel
#20 of 52 in Lagos
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#36 of 52 in Lagos
43 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#22 of 52 in Lagos
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.3 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#16 of 52 in Lagos
672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 52 in Lagos
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montemar

Property: Montemar
Address: Lote 33-34 Rua da Torraltinha, Lagos 8600-549, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montemar 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Hotel Lagos
Comfort Inn Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing