We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base for exploring Lagos and the surrounding area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montemar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Montemar
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent base for exploring Lagos and the surrounding area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

We booked this hotel through Airmiles for a 5-night stay at the end of November. We hired a car and drove from Faro airport to Lagos. Although it was dark when we arrived, the hotel was very easy to find from the A22. The entrance to the underground car park was steep and narrow, and should only be attempted in a small car.

Our room was on the third floor (with lift access) and overlooked the back of the hotel. It had a small balcony and was very quiet. We didn’t have any disturbance from the traffic, and apart from the first night, we slept very well. On our first night we were freezing cold and didn’t realise that the air conditioning unit on the wall was also a heater! The following night we were lovely and warm.

The room was basic with dark tiles and dark furniture – typical Portuguese style. It was spotlessly clean and our towels were changed every day. We would have liked a hairdryer, but used the air conditioning heater to dry our hair instead. There was plenty of hot water for a bath.

Breakfast was served between 8am and 10am and was an offering of cereals, bread, rolls, croissants, jam, cheese, cold meats, yogurts, orange juice, tea and coffee. It was very basic, but perfectly satisfactory and all the ingredients were fresh.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English. There was free
internet access in the reception area, which was a real bonus for us.

Every evening we walked into the Lagos Old Town, which took us about 10 minutes on the way there (downhill) and 15 minutes on the way back (uphill). The walk to the Old Town is quite steep, so wouldn’t be suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

As we spent every day exploring the delights of Lagos and the western coast of Portugal, this hotel served as an excellent base.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kiplingcollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    62
    70
    34
    19
See reviews for
23
115
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Rooms were basic but cleaned every day. Air-Con was very good and loads of hot water for baths/showers. Could have used a small fridge in room to keep drinks cold. Short walk to town centre meaning hotel wasn't bothered by noise, but not too far to go for a great choice of food. Parking was free, though they are in demand, only a single night in the whole week we didn't get a space.

Helpful?
5 Thank Allan_Glw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Montemar is in a good position for the town, a bit of a walk, but pleasant . We have been to lagos about four times now and have seen no muggings, drugs or felt at all concerned as a previous post had indicated, i would go as far as to say its one of the safer places. There are a lot of young back packers who tend to keep to them selves and tend to behave well (drunk maybe) but not threatening. Our room in the hotel was very clean with new towels every day if you wanted, a notice informs you to leave towels in the bath or on the floor if you want them replacing. The staff were quite friendly, cleaning staff even folded some clothes when we left for the beach without putting them away in a rush.
Breakfast was basic continental style, for the price i could not complain.
Restaurants are a plenty, one we liked is nearby, the Trindad does not look great but very good food at reasonable prices another is to the right of the marina when you walk over the footbridge a seafood restaurant again nothing special to look at but very good seafood.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gary01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Was dissapointed to stay here as was expecting more from a 3* hotel. The room was no bigger than a Travel Lodge room, but had less in it! The hotel is next to one of the main roads into the town and the double glazing does nothing to stop the late night traffic noise from getting in. Room and air-con, but thats about all you get. There was a tiny 4" deep room safe in the room that you have to pay for. We werent sure if the bed linen was actually changed once during the week we stayed there. Towels didnt seem to get changed either (unless all their towels have dirty marks on them). Dont expect to have a hot shower either if you dont get up early. And you do have to get up early, or you will be standing in the queue for the breakfast room as they only have a dozen small tables for everyone, not that there was much food to eat though.

The only plus points are that the staff are friendly and you are only a 10 min walk from the town centre and only about 5 mins from a group of really nice small beaches.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandman036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagos hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

A great budget hotel, we spent 4 days there and it was clean , friendly, and fairly central. Rooms were comfortable with a nice balcony. The car parking under the hotel is very very difficult and ought only be attempted in a very very small car. There is parking close by. There is a very good Indian Restaurant on ythe main road to the sea, worth trying. Breakfast is all that's on offer and it was fine, you can get a beer or tea/coffee at any time, so you're eating out otherwise. We'd go back.
Barry
Dublin
Ireland

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank barryohiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel is far enough away from most of the bars and restaurants. The walk back up the hills is a total killer. Also Lagos seems to have muggings and alot of drug users about. During the day it all looks nice. The streets are very small, pretty, but scary at night, perfect ground to get robbed. Portuguise people seems to like to stick to their own, their not rude though. Anyway back to the hotel. Good thing is that the tv/ac works without this and that deposits. The breakfast is basic, tea, crossiants, fruit. i Would say all the staff are friendly, although there is one lady on her shift she stole one item from my luggage, on the day i was flying out, thinking it would be ok to put the luggage in the room behind the reception. Having a item stolen really does make me angry, with a staff member doing this until they get rid of her, i would stay clear.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3stylez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Overall Hotel Montemar is a spacious and comfortable place to stay and in walking distance to the main strip. However the bed sheets upon arrival had blood stains and the hotel staff weren't very friendly which makes this an average rating. Breakfast daily is included but very basic.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mathamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
0.6 mi away
Lagosmar Hotel
Lagosmar Hotel
#18 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#26 of 51 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#31 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#11 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#65 of 78 in Portimao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montemar

Property: Montemar
Address: Rua da Torraltinha Lote 33-34, Lagos 8600-549, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montemar 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Hotel Lagos
Comfort Inn Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing