We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very rude staff and poor house keeping standards” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dom Pedro Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dom Pedro Lagos
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very rude staff and poor house keeping standards”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed in Dom pedro meia Praia for 10 days had a horrible experience very rude n impatient staff at reception (specialy one lady at reception was miserable )remote control not working,no toileteries and bath towel provided,apart from changing d bin n straightening d bed house keepers did nothing,dust n stain all over d floor,water was not draining in the bath tub,head of d shower broken...overall had a bad experience...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Lagos, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We regret that you were not satisfied with your stay, which apparently went wrong just from the beginning. Unfortunately, we do not have your name or details in order to be able to check what exactly happened. There might have been a miscommunication or some kind of misunderstanding, That is not the kind of service we used to give to our guests.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we assure you that we will take all measures within our reach the improve the overall quality of our services .
Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    72
    56
    28
    13
See reviews for
82
77
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just returned from here today we found the apartments clean ,the beds were comfy and the staff helpful the down side and the only reason we wouldn't return is the lack of air conditioning which is a shame as the view of the beach is lovely and the pool was clean the sun beds comfortable and it was peaceful loved lagos and will be back

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Lagos, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for having taken time to post a review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Dom Pedro Meia Praia. We regret that you were not totally satisfied with your stay due to lack of air conditioning in the apartment. However, I would like to inform you that we also have apartments with air-conditioned, certainly none was available at the time. So there is no reason for not return to Dom Pedro Meia Praia. Next time please request an apartment with air conditioning.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Meia Praia.
Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turcifal, Portugal
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The apartement is well equipped for a family, with everthing we need for cook The furniture is very old, the decoration is not for a hotel of our days, no air conditioning in Algarve??. When we book the hotel we expected the quality (for a 3 star hotel of course) from the prestigious D.Pedro chain. The staff was nice but incapable to solve the minimum problem. My remote control of the TV was not working and took three days to solved the problem (exactaly the time of my stay).
The bed is too small and the whousekeeping made every day tooks only 10 minutes / 1 person to due.Excelent location, close to the beach and the comercial stores, good swiming poll. It was an experience to remember some hotels from last century in Africa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Lagos, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for having taken time to post a review. We regret that you were not totally satisfied with our apartments at Meia Praia - Lagos.
Dom Pedro Meia beach club are classified as 3 star tourist apartments, not a hotel as you expected. The apartaments are not modern but are well equipped and well maintained. The apartments have been refurbished gradually, unfortunately not all yet have air conditioning . With regard to television's controls, I regret the situation but can not understand what happened, the reception have some remote control to replace.
Thank you once again for your feedback.

King regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagos hotels

Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed there from 5th to 12th July in room 115 which is an apartment on the side of the hotel.
Room was average for 3star, good beds, very clean, looked after. Hotplates slow to warm up, but we ate out most nights.
Nice pool and sunbeds out front, friendly staff , beer is 2.5euro's a pint at bar.
Three mile beautiful sandy beach across the road.
Bus into town cost 1.2euros - takes 10mins , or walk in, takes 20mins via marina.
Local supermarkets called Pingo Doce - very good like here at home.
Windsurfing/ kitesurfing hire across road.
Can kitesurf at lagoon which is 45mins walk, would hire a car next time(had our own kitesurfing kit)- If you hire from across the road they take you and pick you up later from the lagoon.
Windsurfing hire was 35e-1hour/45e-2hours/ 70euros all day.
Normally wind is Northerly - offshore - very flat, but when wind blows southerly there is a large shorebreak and large sets of waves to surf on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Lagos, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at Dom Pedro Meia Praia. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Meia Praia.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north devon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean. The maids came in everyday made the beds, changed the towels and generally swept up. Our bathroom was brand new. Loads of hot water. The cupboard kitchen was well equipped, but no oven. The hotel overlooks the beach which is golden sand for miles. The sea is very cold and it can be a bit windy, but on a hot day its a lovely cooling breeze. The pool is not heated but when its hot its a great cool down. The pool is lovely and clear and plenty of sun beds and parasols to sit under. A little piped music to break up the quietness would have been nice, but if you are looking to chill out, relax and read a book its perfect. The receptionist is a little abrupt but very helpful. There is a charge for the Wifi of £5 but that is for the entire stay, but only received in reception area. The hotel is about a 20 min flat walk to the Marina but there are frequent buses along this stretch of road and the train terminal is within walking distance. The main town can be expensive with tourist prices, but we had a walk round and found a couple of smaller places that were cheaper and the food was great. Altogether we were pleasantly surprised by our hotel and had a great stay - sitting on the balcony having breakfast looking at the beach - bliss.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view, otherwise you can end up overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthDevonWhitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Lagos, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review and also for your preference for Dom PedroMeia Praia.
We are glad that you spent an enjoyable holiday with us.
Thank you one again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you for another great holiday.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The room were clean. The hotel was close to the beach.The big balcony was great, there was a table and chairs there for the morning breakfast. The kitchen didn't have an oven, otherwise it was fully equipped. On the negative side, the beds were awful (among the worst I have ever slept in) and the hotel was quite of, about 25-30 min walk to Lagos "main street".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Lagos, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you have spent a good time at Dom Pedro Meia Praia despite of having not found the bed comfortable which we sincerely regret. We have been replacing some beds and is planned in the near future to replace some more. Unfortunately we do not know which room you were in, so we can check what the actually problem.

Thank you so much for your review and really hope that we will be able to welcome you back at Dom Pedro Meia Praia.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I bought a weeks timeshare here in 1987, spent a week there in 92 and have not returned until 2 weeks ago.
I cannot say it was an enjoyable return, on arriving at Faro airport I took a taxi to the timeshare which cost me 130 euros and then 105 euros return. So what should have been
a reasonably economic holiday turned out to be quite expensive.
The hotel and rooms are very basic, there was no entertainment and the bar had no draft beer,
I will not go back again.

,

Room Tip: Have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raynoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
2.2 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
2.6 mi away
Quinta dos Caracois
Quinta dos Caracois
#25 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#11 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Lagos

Property: Dom Pedro Lagos
Address: Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Pedro Lagos 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Lagos beach club apartments Located 100 meters from the beach of the Meia Praia, featuring a large stretch of golden sand, a calm sea and natural caves, the Dom Pedro Lagos is the perfect choice for those who wish to spend some days relaxing on the beach. Guests can choose between the comfort of a studio with kitchenette or an apartment with kitchen, all of them with a large balcony, and most with a sea view. They can also enjoy separate pools for adults and children, a playground, gardens with loungers, game room and a bar. The 24-hour front desk can help to arrange popular activities in the area such as diving, water skiing, windsurfing or boat trips. Only 4km from Lagos, a traditional city in the Algarve, there are various historical monuments, the International Marina, a vibrant nightlife and a great variety of bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Dom Pedro Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Meia Praia Beach Club Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing