We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in a good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dom Pedro Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dom Pedro Lagos
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Decent hotel in a good location.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed there from 5th to 12th July in room 115 which is an apartment on the side of the hotel.
Room was average for 3star, good beds, very clean, looked after. Hotplates slow to warm up, but we ate out most nights.
Nice pool and sunbeds out front, friendly staff , beer is 2.5euro's a pint at bar.
Three mile beautiful sandy beach across the road.
Bus into town cost 1.2euros - takes 10mins , or walk in, takes 20mins via marina.
Local supermarkets called Pingo Doce - very good like here at home.
Windsurfing/ kitesurfing hire across road.
Can kitesurf at lagoon which is 45mins walk, would hire a car next time(had our own kitesurfing kit)- If you hire from across the road they take you and pick you up later from the lagoon.
Windsurfing hire was 35e-1hour/45e-2hours/ 70euros all day.
Normally wind is Northerly - offshore - very flat, but when wind blows southerly there is a large shorebreak and large sets of waves to surf on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Lagos, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at Dom Pedro Meia Praia. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Meia Praia.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    77
    57
    29
    13
See reviews for
88
78
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north devon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean. The maids came in everyday made the beds, changed the towels and generally swept up. Our bathroom was brand new. Loads of hot water. The cupboard kitchen was well equipped, but no oven. The hotel overlooks the beach which is golden sand for miles. The sea is very cold and it can be a bit windy, but on a hot day its a lovely cooling breeze. The pool is not heated but when its hot its a great cool down. The pool is lovely and clear and plenty of sun beds and parasols to sit under. A little piped music to break up the quietness would have been nice, but if you are looking to chill out, relax and read a book its perfect. The receptionist is a little abrupt but very helpful. There is a charge for the Wifi of £5 but that is for the entire stay, but only received in reception area. The hotel is about a 20 min flat walk to the Marina but there are frequent buses along this stretch of road and the train terminal is within walking distance. The main town can be expensive with tourist prices, but we had a walk round and found a couple of smaller places that were cheaper and the food was great. Altogether we were pleasantly surprised by our hotel and had a great stay - sitting on the balcony having breakfast looking at the beach - bliss.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view, otherwise you can end up overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthDevonWhitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Lagos, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review and also for your preference for Dom PedroMeia Praia.
We are glad that you spent an enjoyable holiday with us.
Thank you one again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you for another great holiday.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The room were clean. The hotel was close to the beach.The big balcony was great, there was a table and chairs there for the morning breakfast. The kitchen didn't have an oven, otherwise it was fully equipped. On the negative side, the beds were awful (among the worst I have ever slept in) and the hotel was quite of, about 25-30 min walk to Lagos "main street".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Lagos, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you have spent a good time at Dom Pedro Meia Praia despite of having not found the bed comfortable which we sincerely regret. We have been replacing some beds and is planned in the near future to replace some more. Unfortunately we do not know which room you were in, so we can check what the actually problem.

Thank you so much for your review and really hope that we will be able to welcome you back at Dom Pedro Meia Praia.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I bought a weeks timeshare here in 1987, spent a week there in 92 and have not returned until 2 weeks ago.
I cannot say it was an enjoyable return, on arriving at Faro airport I took a taxi to the timeshare which cost me 130 euros and then 105 euros return. So what should have been
a reasonably economic holiday turned out to be quite expensive.
The hotel and rooms are very basic, there was no entertainment and the bar had no draft beer,
I will not go back again.

,

Room Tip: Have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raynoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife, daughter and I have just returned from a five day break at these apartments. It was a sentimental booking as we as a family with two young children stayed there in 1995.
Wow very little has changed - same bedspreads, same curtains, poor drainage after a lukewarm shower, less than friendly staff (except the younger ones) while the apartments need a complete overhaul to conform to modern standards.
It was,however, clean and had a pool area/loungers that were great (in late April we were virtually the only guests around the pool) - well maintained and cared for.
The location is great being smack on the Maia Praia beach (although over a road and railway line) - we were never bothered by any noise and slept well.
The beach is magnificent with long walks and a great bar/restaurant virtually opposite in the dunes - the Graviota Branca - check out Simon the owner and Victor the young waiter. The Atlantico restaurant at the edge of the complex is good too, although a little expensive.
Lagos in general has changed little since 1995 except for the building of 100's of expensive apartment blocks, which are virtually empty and beginning to show signs of disrepair. They occupy the area behind the old and new stations near the Marina out towards Meia Praia.
They are ghost towns at night and we didn't feel safe walking back after an evening in town so got a taxi. Perhaps a direct reflection of the recessions bite in Portugal.
The weather was good for the first three days with plenty of sun then gradually faltered to cloudy cool conditions and eventually drizzle on the day we left. There was a constant cool wind which was fine if you were in the sun, but cold in the shade. The ancient electric radiators in the apartment took the chill off at night.
A good time, but we won't be as sentimental in the future and there won't be a return again - Sorry!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room on higher floor - great views and sun on the balcony most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrPolarBearLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Owner at Dom Pedro Lagos, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We regret that the stay did not correspond to your expectations, especially due to the apartment. It is true that some of our apartments have not been yet refurbished. For any reason it was not possible accommodate you in a remodeled apartment and we regret that.
Despite of this, we are glad to know that you and your family had a good time.

Thank you once again for your feedback

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Dom Pedro Meia Praia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We booked a week at this hotel through a timeshare exchange. When we arrived and first looked at the room we were not happy. We complained but to no avail.
The bathroom was like something from the sixties and was extremely grimey. There was obviously something wrong with the drains as when I had a shower there was 6 inches of water left in the bath which took 10 mins to go down.
The bedroom was so small and there were 2 of the smallest beds I have seen, which were falling apart as they creaked so much. There was also only about 9 inches of space between the bed and warbrobe which made it difficult to access.
I was disgusted with the living area as the sofa bed and chairs were badly stained and I didnt even sit on them.
After 2 nights we decided that we couldnt stay another night as we hadnt had any sleep as the beds creaked so much each time either of us moved in bed we both woke up. Also the fridge on both nights decided to make an awful loud vibrating noise which again woke us up. To top it all they dont even supply a hairdryer,and due to weight restrictions on the plane I hadnt packed mine.
This hotel is part of a chain in Portugal and Madeira all of which are 4 and 5 star. This hotel is classed as 3 star personally I wouldnt give it any. The only thing I can say that is good about it is that the pool and grounds are kept well which is superficial when you think about the rest of the place.
DO NOT THINK OF GOING TO THIS HOTEL!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christine6114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Lagos, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We regret that you were not satisfied with your stay with us.
Different guests have, obviously, different expectations.
You have stayed in a Studio, in fact a studio apartment is not so spacious and confortable as a onebedroom apartment. If i had been aware about your dissatisfaction at least would have done something to improve your stay. Unfortunately did not happen.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagos hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Cannot beat the location across the street from Meia Praia beach. It's important to have more chairs by the pool.
The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: nº 210 as a nice view. its ideal for a couple and a one child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Lagos, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at Dom Pedro Meia Praia and that you were especially pleased with the friendliness of our staff. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback.
Thank you also for your suggestion regarding the pool chairs.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Meia Praia.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
2.1 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
2.6 mi away
Quinta dos Caracois
Quinta dos Caracois
#25 of 51 in Lagos
29 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
2,883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
1,253 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Lagos

Property: Dom Pedro Lagos
Address: Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Pedro Lagos 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Lagos beach club apartments Located 100 meters from the beach of the Meia Praia, featuring a large stretch of golden sand, a calm sea and natural caves, the Dom Pedro Lagos is the perfect choice for those who wish to spend some days relaxing on the beach. Guests can choose between the comfort of a studio with kitchenette or an apartment with kitchen, all of them with a large balcony, and most with a sea view. They can also enjoy separate pools for adults and children, a playground, gardens with loungers, game room and a bar. The 24-hour front desk can help to arrange popular activities in the area such as diving, water skiing, windsurfing or boat trips. Only 4km from Lagos, a traditional city in the Algarve, there are various historical monuments, the International Marina, a vibrant nightlife and a great variety of bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Pedro Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Meia Praia Beach Club Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing