We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Well Manuel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is a family run business and all the staff speak good English. The rooms are clean and adequately equipped, some have balconies and some are facing quite a busy road. We have been to Lagos many times self catering but would recommend this hotel. The breakfast is fresh each morning and is varied and tasty. The welcome on your return from your day out is always friendly and Manuel, the owner, who runs the bar in the evening is somewhat of a joker. There is a small quiet pool at the rear of the hotel away from the road.
A great time was had by the 4 of us and we hope to return next year.
Very well, Very well.

Room Tip: Try get a room with a rear balcony, the cafe/bar next door, the Paris Bar is good value and cheap dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016


Dear Valued Guest Geoff C,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 119 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is an excellent budget family run hotel. The owners Manuel, Maria and their daughter Suzanne are lovely people and will do anything to help and make holidays special.
The overall location is excellent. 10 minutes from the centre of Lagos and approx. 10 minutes walk to the beach via the railway station. The grocery store is less than 5 minutes away and the café next door, which is run by Miguel is great!
We have stayed here 3 times now and every time it is better.
The roof terrace has been cleaned, there is a sunbed and table/chairs.
Wifi is now available in public spaces and computer access is free from 8,00am to 23,00hours.
There is a wide choice of USA satellite TV and one UK world news channel.
Breakfast is a plentiful buffet with a variety of cereals, juices, bread, pastries tinned fruits, yoghurts cheese and meats.
The rooms are basic but clean and welcoming and the standard of cleanliness is very good. Clean towels daily and the room always smelt fresh and clean.
We will be returning, hopefully at least twice next year.
Thoroughly recommended on a budget well worth the stay,
This is not a complaint just suggestions.
It may be a good idea to have a small fridge in the room also to upgrade the showers.
They are very powerful but dated and can flood the bathroom if not careful...

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet, (it is on a main road) Balcony on the third floor rooms at the back i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nursetutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2016

Dear Guest Mrs nursetutor,

Thank you for staying with us!

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I just came back from Lagos! I went on 13 days of summer vacation there and I find it great. I made new friends there. I love that a family owns and runs the hotel.The hotel staff is great! Hotel too! I recommend it! I might spend my next summer vacation there ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2016

Dear Mrs Ivanita28,

Our deepest, most heartfelt thanks for your kind words.

We are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and look forward to seeing you again in a very near future.

Best regards,

Tavares Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

we stayed there in the beginning of June 2013 for a couple of days and it was nice!!! rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast was nice, the service was good and staff were quite friendly. the receptionist girl, I think her name is Suzana, was more than friendly and helpful when we would ask her about recommendations for places to eat and visit in Lagos and in Portugal! nice location, quiet and safe, despite the busy road nearby!!! definitely recommend!!! :)

Room Tip: try for a room with a pool view, it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinasroque, Gerente at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Sil V,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Lagos and for taking the time to post your kind review .
We are delighted you had a comfortable stay and a nice holiday experience.
It was certainly very encouraging to learn that you appreciated the friendly and helpful service provided by our Team and myself personally.
We are pleased that you have found the hotel’s location to be of convenience, as well.
It is certainly ideal for moving around Lagos with ease and for visiting the major attractions and sights of the city.
Thank you again for your valued and positive feedback.
We do hope that you will continue to make many more enjoyable visits to the Marina S. Roque Hotel, in the near future.
We look forward to the opportunity of hosting and welcome you back once again, very soon.

Kind regards,

Susana Tavares
Manager
Hotel Marina S. Roque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I spent two weeks at this hotel and we were overall very satisified with it and would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of holidaying in beautiful Lagos. The room was basic but always kept spotlessly clean by the staff. On small complaint would be that the beds were two singles, rather than one double,and the mattress was a little hard. As previously mentioned by another reviewer the room had no fridge which made it a little awkward to keep items cool. There is a fridge available downstairs, but it involved the hassle of asking the staff to put things in and get things out again.
The staff were very friendly, especially the young lady on reception-it is a family run hotel and this gives it a special charm. She made sure everything was in order for us, including changing our requested smoking room from the road side of the hotel to the quieter pool side, provided we agreed to only smoke out on the balcony.
Breakfast was adequate and served by a very friendly assistant each morning between 8 and 10am. The pool was small but lovely to dip into in the morning to freshen up.
Location was excellent-close to the train station, main beach and a lovely walk along the Marina across the footbridge and into the town.
We would definitely like to return, in fact it's a bit of a pity the hotel closes during the winter because it would make a lovely place to go to during the winter months for a short break.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back-quieter than the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Milica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2016

Dear Guest Mrs Milica Z,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My fiancé and I spent a week at this hotel. The hotel is in a very convenient location within walking distance from the beach, marina and old town. Staff at the hotel were very friendly, accommodating and helpful. The hotel could do with some refurbishment. However it was clean and comfortable. The hotel is good value for money.

Unfortunately, we had problems logging onto the wifi and this was ongoing. There is however a computer at reception with internet access for the guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fossyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2016

Dear Guest Mr & Mrs Fossyo,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Breakfast had a good variety for a continental cold breakfast. Server was very attentive, constantly refilling anything close to running out.

Room nice but very small. Good balcony near pool. Quiet.

Friendly staff.

Easy to park in front of the hotel, and then a short walk over the pedestrian bridge into the town. This is much better than staying in town where it is impossible to park.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2016

Dear Guest Mrs Pam933,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.8 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
0.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#22 of 52 in Lagos
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lagos Avenida Hotel
Lagos Avenida Hotel
#33 of 52 in Lagos
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 52 in Lagos
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Sao Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Sao Roque

Address: Estrada Meia Praia 23 | Lagos Marina, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range: $73 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina Sao Roque 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina S. Roque is ideally located in the commercial and residential area of the Lagos Marina, around 500 m. from the beautiful, sandy beach of "Meia Praia" and the enchanted historical centre of the bustling town of Lagos. Privileged for the practice of outdoor activities, with the prestigious Golf courses of Palmares and Boa Vista close by. This family-run Hotel, exclusive and genuine, offers a welcoming atmosphere and a personalized service. Equipped with 26 comfortable and functional Individual, Double rooms and Suites - smoking and non-smoking - traditionally decorated, furnished balconies with views over the city, garden and pool, air conditioning/climate control, telephone, cable TV, individual safe and private bathroom, with bath, shower, bide, air dryer and complimentary toiletries. The public areas are completed with a Breakfast room, a Cocktail Bar, a Lounge with free Wi-Fi, a Reading and a TV room, a spacious, pleasant and sunny Terrace with a fresh water Pool, a Sunbathing area and a shaded Veranda. The hotel is completed with free parking, private garage, air conditioning in all areas and 2 lifts. Complimentary: tours and various recreational, cultural, sports and leisure activities, bookable at the reception. Buses and trains run regularly and the main stations are located at about 10 minutes walking distance from the Hotel. This charming Hotel, offers modern standards of comfort whilst maintaining the friendly and efficient service of a privately-owned and family-run business, offers the ideal base for a relaxing time and invites you for the best holidays in the sun. Fill out your free time strolling along the beaches, visiting monuments, dinning in same of the best and finest restaurants, knowing places you would not even imagine to exist. The family-run, enchanting, charming and unique Hotel Marina S. Roque, with its friendly staff and excellent location, it is the idyllic retreat in the South-east of the Algarve. Integrated in one of the most beautiful and historical sceneries of Portugal, is the ideal option for those seeking an unforgettable holiday and a memorable stay. It is a perfect starting point to explore Lagos and the Algarve Coast, of romantic cliffs, infinite beaches of fine sand and transparent waters. Whatever your holiday preference is, the Hotel Marina S. Roque is the ideal location for your dream holiday. Come and see the best the Algarve has to offer you. Come and enjoy our hospitality. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Marina Sao Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Sao Roque Lagos
Marina Sao Roque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing