We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Feb Break”
Review of Montinho de Ouro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montinho de Ouro
Ranked #36 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Very well equipped, clean, warm, friendly apartment. We went in February 2011 and even swam, briefly, in the pool. We took 3 children and their highlight was picking and squeezing the fresh oranges from the garden for breakfast. Excellent value for money and a quiet spot.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank crandall78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 103 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

We were greeted by the delightful Catia, who along with Susana, could not have done more to accommodate and help us. We decided to change from room with breakfast to a self-catering apartment, solely because the apartments were mainly on the upper floor and had private balconies. The complex is beautiful, with well-tended pretty gardens, a very inviting pool, and friendly room maids who came every day (except Sunday), provided clean towels and other essentials and mopped the floors. The tranquility and peace of the surroundings are perfect for a relaxing holiday, but there is plenty of activity at nearby towns and beaches, most of which are absolutely breathtaking. The most beautiful town and beach we visited was Carvoeiro - well worth the drive.

A car (and Satnav!) are pretty well essential. If driving into Lagos, beware of the very narrow, hilly roads in the town centre which are a nightmare to navigate. Better to park by the river and enjoy the marina, then walk up the hill if you want to visit the town.

Room Tip: Apartments are more spacious than rooms for obvious reasons, and the facility of a full sized fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Plum28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Catia and Rui and their staff provide an excellent service with great care and attention to detail.
The apartments are well appointed and serviced daily. The setting is tranquil, the grounds and pool are beautifully maintained and it is only a short drive(a car is essential) to Luz and Burgau (our favourite beach). We love the friendly atmosphere and will certainly be going back.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Just stayed at the Montinho de Ouro for two weeks. When we first arrived my first thought was WOW. The place is so beautiful and the grounds are kept so neatly. But I can't figure out what the purpose of the Montinho de Ouro is? Is it a hotel, an apartment-hotel, a bed & breakfast or?? I am confused due to some different reasons. Cleaning is done every other day and the reception never seems to be open. The feeling of the place is more bed & breakfast, but then I miss some more contact with the people working there and maybe a guestbook etc in the room. We tryied to get some advises for what to see etc but the staff was not really that interested in helping. One day the cleaning was not done according to the every-second day rutine so I called the reception (at 17:30) and got a very sour answer about them being busy and the person (S) hung up the phone while I was asking her something - very rude...
So all together a nice place in a calm area, but they have to work very hard on their service. P.s. we didn't get a chance to rate them on grounds, as they didn't have a "Customer satisfaction evaluation form". Maybe they should get one and learn from the reviews so the place can get top recommendations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Koebenhavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We had the best time at this little gem of a hotel. The staff including Katia and Rui were the nicest people we had ever met. They were so helpful and cheerful and tried to fulfill every extra wish we had. The hotel itself is adorable and the room was lovely and spotless. My sister and husband and kids also stayed and had a fantastic two bedroomed apartment. It was really clean everywhere. We had breakfast in the mornings which was delicious and some nights we had food which was excellent and huge portions. The pool is great and there is two little kiddie pools. There were plenty of room to lie around the pool and enough sun beds. All in all there is nothing we could complain about. The one thing that I would recommend is a rental car as the place is a little out in the country but we loved this because it was gorgeous and quite.

Room Tip: We had a very quite room at the back facing the gardens and it was lovely. The rooms facing the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sineadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Just came back from Portugal where we had a fabulous holidays.
great location for a day-trips. tranquil place where you can relax, relax and relax (you can easily drift away from your daily stressful life). Please note that you need a car when staying in Montinho de Ouro. Run by a great people who are always willing to help you (Cathia and Rui).
We had a B&B option, but also had a dinner on couple of occasions which was great (excellent value for money).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kazardan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

This place looks even better in real life than what it does in the photographs.Staff are friendly,helpful and efficient.Rooms are spotlessly clean and very well equipped,air-conditioning is also provided although we didn't need it as there always seemed to be a refreshing cool breeze about the complex,although it would be really handy in the hot summer months.

We cannot recommend these apartments highly enough,if you want to get away from it all,kick back and relax - this really is the place to be!

Montinho de Ouro is a diamond...

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesandCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
2.3 mi away
Quinta dos Caracois
Quinta dos Caracois
#29 of 53 in Lagos
31 reviews
3.1 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#8 of 53 in Lagos
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#6 of 9 in Luz
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
439 reviews
4.1 mi away
VitaSol Park
VitaSol Park
#20 of 138 in Lagos
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
ApartHotel Vila Luz
ApartHotel Vila Luz
#2 of 71 in Lagos
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montinho de Ouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montinho de Ouro

Address: Sitio dos Montinhos da Luz | Montinho de Ouro 2203-B, Lagos 8600, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: $48 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montinho de Ouro 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Montinho de Ouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montinho De Ouro Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing