We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lazy holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atalaia Sol Aparthotel
Ranked #39 of 63 Lagos B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect lazy holiday”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Apartment-
Good points: nice accommodation, modern, clean, reasonably equipped. Fruit and mineral water on arrival.
Bad points: a sofa would have improved the living area and the drawers very stiff. Air conditioning very loud.

The pool area-
Good points: idyllic garden area, quiet, reasonable sized pool- absolute relaxation, good gas BBQ (we didn't use it but it was popular with the other guests), bar had reasonable selection
Bad points: none

The location-
Good points: it's not as far away as some reviews make out, we timed our walks as follows: Supermarket (intermarche) - 18 mins, City walls- 30 mins, main restaurant area- 35 mins, Marina- 45 mins. Taxi cost about 5-6 Euro from city centre. The local restaurant Restaurant Atalaia was only 5 minutes walk away and had great food at very reasonable prices so no need to go too far afield for dinner. The restaurant also had a great set price lunch. You can easily stay here without a car if you are only looking for a lazy holiday. With a car, everything in local area would be within 15 minutes.

Bad points: might have gone to beach if it had been easier to walk to (most direct route as shown on google maps goes through what turned out to be private land). At a guess it would be a 40 minute walk.

The service-
Service was great- the staff were nice, friendly and helpful. They even provided free transport to the hotel owned Beach Bar (definitely worth a visit!) one of the nights we were there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesleygray216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    21
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very nice apartment with a very nice pool. We were in Lagos for a friend's wedding and were recommended the Atalaia Sol from some friends that live out here. We were very happy with our selection.

It was nice and quiet and only a short taxi ride into the town of Lagos. The pool was nice and clean and quiet with a hot tub that is available all day. The room was clean and had a TV and kitchenette with a good size bathroom with an excellent shower.

The staff were friendly and there is a small bar that you can buy drinks from during the day. We would certainly recommend these apartments to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barnesy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is a very nice hotel for vacations!!! It was my second time at Atalaia Sol so I guess this says it all. Rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is perfect. Location is perfect if you're traveling for holidays, Bahia Beach Bar is 5 km from hotel on beautiful beach Meia Praia. There we had eaten beautiful fresh fish, tnx a lot to chef Martin.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The best hotel I have ever been, everything very good, design, staff, rooms, atmosphere, very good and fresh breakfast, ! I always recommend this hotel to everybody that goes to Lagos! I would love to came back there...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Great place, great service! We were really happy here, did not need for anything and had a wonderful vacation. Not sure what some of these other reviews are about -- maybe a Spanish thing??? Rooms, service & amenities excellent and love love love Lagos & Luz!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We booked direct over web as we were visiting friends in the area, only stayed for 2 nights but would love to return in high season. Two room types available studio and 1 bed, we stayed in a studio which was a very good size with all the amenties you require for self catering, room was very clean. Property is laid out over two floors, ground floor rooms lead straight onto excellent gardens, pool area. This was the wow factor for me and why I would love to return in the high season, only 16 rooms with large pool is our ideal place to stay. All staff we spoke too were very friendly and as we stayed in low season there was no rush for us to check out, we could have kept our room all day if required. Location of property is in a lovely quiet area just outside Lagos but only 5 mins drive to town, beach or even closer to Boa Vista golf course. I would highly recconmend anyone to stay here and hopefully will return myself soon.

Room Tip: Gound floor direct access to pool and gardens without need to lock up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tigertoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

nice hotel in beautiful countryside not far from lagos and beaches. 3 min by car, boavista golf club is very close and all aminities. very clean, good stuff and a huge pool for 16 appartements. we wanted to stay a few days but left after 10 days and enjoyed also the hotelowned beachbar at meia praia. this combination is a gift for all futureclients. good food, cocktails, weekends with super life entertainment and a hotel to chill out. well done and thanks.

Room Tip: from up stairs some seaview and lovely countryside view, downstairs close to pool and access to gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricardo436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
1.2 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
1.4 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,018 reviews
0.9 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 50 in Lagos
285 reviews
1.3 mi away
AquaLuz Suite Hotel
AquaLuz Suite Hotel
#8 of 132 in Lagos
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atalaia Sol Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atalaia Sol Aparthotel

Property: Atalaia Sol Aparthotel
Address: Lote NR. 1 Estrada da Atalaia, Lagos 8600-329, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atalaia Sol Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from historic Lagos, this 4-star hotel features tennis courts, a swimming pool and a beach bar and restaurant. Each apartment has a private balcony. Each studio and apartment at the 4-star Atalaia Sol has a fully equipped kitchen and satellite TV. Rooms overlook the pool or garden and come with mineral water, coffee, tea and chocolates. Leisure facilities at the Atalaia include a large swimming pool and a hot tub. Guests can enjoy a relaxing massage or have an outdoor barbecue while children have fun at their own playground. Free WiFi is available in the public areas of the hotel. Guests can enjoy light dishes at the beach restaurant, followed by an exotic cocktail at the Bahia Beach Bar. All of the hotel's guests enjoy complimentary sun loungers, in front of the hotel-owned restaurant-bar in the Meia Praia beachfront. A car rental service is provided, upon availability. The many nearby beaches present opportunities for windsurfing and snorkelling. Guests can take a boat to the grottos, or book a jeep safari at the front desk. The Boa Vista Golf Course a 5-minute drive from the Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atalaia Sol Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing