We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I've ever stayed in.”
Review of Bura Surfhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bura Surfhouse
Ranked #9 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Best hostel I've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was traveling for about 5 months through the Middle East and Europe, and Bura was hands down my favorite place I stayed. The staff there was incredible, they really make you feel at home. The pizza night, the BBQs, and the movies were all well done and lots of fun. If you want to surf, kayak, tour the west coast, or whatever, you can arrange it all right from their front desk. I did a few days surfing, and you get picked up right at the hostel for either lessons or just a ride+rent. The place was clean, the pool is awesome, they have a ping pong table, and I made friends there that I will have for life. Do yourself a favor and stay here! Also was cooked free pancakes two mornings randomly by the staff. Truly an excellent place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    17
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
15
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Bura Surfhouse was awesome!
Lovely roof terrace, lovely pool area and lovely staff. Beers were really cheap, and the staff had a plan for every day! Pizza night, movie night, pub crawl etc. A little something for everyone!
We really enjoyed our stay, and would love to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaSne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Bura Surfhouse is one of the best hostels I've visited. Upon our arrival we were taken to the roof for a free welcome drink and a chance to meet the staff and other travelers. The roof is lovely with a wonderful view and amazing sunsets. It was truly a very welcoming and cozy atmosphere and it felt like you were just staying at a friends. They joke that everyone that says they're only staying for a day will certainly extend their visit, and it couldn't be more true. My only regret was not staying longer than I did. Overall, the staff were friendly and welcoming, the rooms were nice and clean and the atmosphere was wonderful. Great vibes at a beautiful hostel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Bura Surfhouse is the ultimate destination for anyone wanting to have a good time in Lagos. The facilities are amazing, especially the rooftop bar with stupidly cheap beers, barbeques and incredible sunsets, and in the intense Portugal heat the pool is a necessity for any hangover cure. The location is great and the rooms and bathrooms are spacious, light and comfortable, but what made Bura my favourite hostel after 4 months of backpacking trough Europe was the staff. Everyone who works here is incredibly nice and genuinely committed to ensuring that your stay is perfect. Come for a night and stay for a week - this place will win you over!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oujda
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was a FANTASTIC hostel, the staff were so professional but also so friendly and laid-back. Spectacular customer service. The property was so pretty, with an awesome rooftop terrace and a great little pool. The barbeques the staff put on are so much fun, and a great value--it was some of the best food I had during my vacation! The price is incredible for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koriordan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Thanks to everyone for having us. We loved our stay here and would love to come back on day. We found all the staff helpful and friendly and bathrooms and rooms were really clean. All other guests seemed really respectful and we made some good friends and had some great times. The hostel has everything you need. Only a short walk to the beach and supermarket and staff even help out with lifts to/from the hostel. They did our washing for is too which was really cheap. Breakfast was good and it suited us that staff were relaxed with breakfast end time as we often slept in. Thanks again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahK84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

To everyone who is looking for a fantastic place to stay in Lagos with friendly people and a great location well bura surf is the place for you! The people there are amazing and us 3 boys were in tears when we had to leave! The staff there are like family! It was like your living at home! They offer some great things for you to do! The roof top bar is unreal and the pool is sick! Pizza and movie nights are great! Do me a favour and go and park yourself there for a week! Cheers hayden

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bargey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.8 mi away
Residencial Sol a Sol
Residencial Sol a Sol
#32 of 50 in Lagos
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,018 reviews
1.0 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lagos4U Hostel
Lagos4U Hostel
#5 of 133 in Lagos
121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olive Hostel
Olive Hostel
#18 of 133 in Lagos
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bura Surfhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bura Surfhouse

Property: Bura Surfhouse
Address: Rua da Pedra Alcada, Lagos 8600-546, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveller, adventurer or beach bum, coming alone or with friends - as long as you’re keen for a relaxed vibe with super smiley staff - you’ll fit right in. We’re located a little further out of town because we’re not just a bed; our Surfhouse is a family style villa complete with pool, in-house chef, rooftop terrace, and poolside bar. We offer the comforts of a home, but still within walking distance from the town centre, the beaches, and the nightlife. The hostel has an open-plan layout with tons of natural light, a spacious and fully equipped kitchen with multiple fridges, plenty of outdoor seating, deck chairs for tanning by the pool, hammocks for lazy days, and a wraparound balcony perfect for munching pancakes in the morning sun. Travelling alone? No big deal, you can easily meet like-minded travellers by joining us for our famous family style dinners prepared by our chef each evening, or by grabbing a beer at our poolside bar for only €1. You’ll be part of the Bura family from the get go - we offer free pick ups from the bus or train station (from 10am - 6pm daily) and a free drink upon arrival. We update our activities board weekly which details daily events and local tips on things to do, drink and eat in Lagos. Join us each night as we walk together into town for a thorough tour of the bars - just one of our professional responsibilities! Not a night owl? No worries; our quiet location allows guests looking for a good night’s sleep to escape the hustle and bustle of town. We are a fun hostel, but not a ‘party’ hostel, so please bear that in mind when booking with us. We can organise surf lessons, surf trips, stand up paddleboarding, kayaking, wake-boarding, wine-tasting to our local vineyard, and a whole range of other activities through our 24 hour reception. FREE Breakfast - with freshly made pancakes! Towels Beach towels Luggage storage Pick ups and drop ups from the train/bus station Linen Welcome drink on arrival - beer, soft drink or water Tea & coffee Olive oil/spices etc in the kitchen for guest use Wifi throughout the entire hostel Printer Maps to navigate around town FACILITIES Range of dorms, twins and private rooms Outdoor pool Poolside bar - serving €1 beers, cocktails, smoothies and many other drinks Nightly dinners prepared by our in-house chef at an affordable price Rooftop terrace with cushions, low tables & hammocks 24 hour reception Fully equipped kitchen (olive oil/spices etc) with several fridges for guest use On the same road as a large supermarket (just a 4 minute walk away) Laundry service available Ping pong table Hot showers Private lockers Common areas to socialise with big sofas and large TV Air conditioning available in some rooms Hairdryers Book exchange Wrap around balcony Outdoor sofas Wetsuit racks Outdoor shower Bike rental Activities board updated weekly BBQ Inflatable pool toys for lazy pool days ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bura Surfhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing