We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel , will return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Chill Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Chill Hostel
Ranked #50 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hostel , will return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at big chill for 3 nights and it was great! Paulo is a legend, very helpful about all things Portugal and fun to chat to.
The hostel is very close to the beautiful beaches and only a quick walk into the main town.
Rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable especially the upstairs rooms with the big patio area. The shared common room and both kitchen areas were kept tidy and well stocked.
Overall a great hostel, will be back for sure!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    16
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
13
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Some friends and I stayed at big chill for about a week. Overall it was pretty average.. The floors were disgusting. There were 2 used condoms under one of our beds, the toilets were rarely clean and there was never any toilet paper! I told the manager there wasnt any toilet paper and he got ridiculously defensive. I don't think it's much to ask for toilet paper when you're paying over 20 euros a night.. The pub crawl was free but sh1t! We were all supposed to meet to go out at 11 but Paul didn't rock up until 12. He then took us only to the bars where he got free drinks. We ditched the pub crawl after the 2nd bar. paul wasnt very happy about that.. On the plus side, there are 2 kitchens and a spacious common room. Handy on those hungover days when you just feel like lounging around in front of the tv. I probably wouldn't stay there again particularly after hearing reviews from people who stayed in other hostels in Lagos and had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexxx18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a stay for one week and we`ll definitely come again!
Especially the top-situation of the hostel is great: nearby there is a small shop where you can find anything you need for breakfast or the beach, which is also very close (~ 3 minutes, Praia Dona Ana). This beach is really great and there is a little restaurant/cafe, too. If you go right (along estrada da ponta da piedade), there is another beautiful beach ~ 10 minutes away (Praia do Camilo). Close to the marina of lagos, there is a third, really big beach (Meia Praia). Don`t miss to go there after a long day in the city :)
Within 5-8 minutes you reach a SPAR-supermarket and within 10 minutes the city of Lagos. Next to the hostel is a little bar with cheap beer and food.
The hostel is very comfortable , with a small balcony on the upper floor, where you have also big floor cushions to chill, play videogames, guitar or djembe :), a terrace on the ground floor and even a roof terrace. There are two well equiped kitchens with big fridges.
Paulo, the manager, is very nice and helpful!!!
It was a great stay and we were really impressed by the kindness and incredible hospitality of the Portuguese People!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bayerischebreze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Lovely hostel more like a home. Paulo was very helpful and friendly. Hostel was clean and next to amazing beaches, a little bit out of the centre but only a problem at night being a girl travelling alone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a private double room, for around 20€ a night/person!

The location is really good and the staff is also very nice!

Also, i loved the roof top terrace and the little bar next door (cheap beer and food :) )

The only bad thing i could remember would be that it was pretty loud during the night, but well it is still a hostel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great Hostel, right in front of one of the nicest beaches. The room was very nice and clean, with a comfortable bed... The Hostel is about 10 minutes into twon, located in a beatifull quite area that allowed me to have a good night sleep after party and head to beach next door at anytime
Paulo the manager was really great, took us on a free pub crawl, gived us the best advices of where to go and what to do...had a really good time, thansk!!!

Room Tip: The twin room was very comfortable and clean! Also quite fresh at night allowing me to have a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Awesome hostel right up from the beach. The manager was super friendly and helpful - really nice vibes that made everyone in the hostel comfortable. Lots of little outdoor spaces, big kitchen area. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laszyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.0 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#11 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Pensao Dona Ana
#78 of 132 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dona Ana Garden
Dona Ana Garden
#10 of 59 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Pinhao
Aparthotel Pinhao
#74 of 132 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Marvela
Apartamentos Marvela
#51 of 132 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Chill Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Chill Hostel

Property: Big Chill Hostel
Address: Estrada da Ponta da Piedade | Lt 23, Lagos 8600, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Love the Beach, we got the Location! Welcome to Big Chill. Come as a stranger, leave as a friend... Enjoy our prime beach location and the best that Lagos has to offer. NEWL HOSTEL with a brand new Lounge, Games Room, cinema and more!!! There is always something happening at the BIG Chill! BIG Chill is more than you would ever expect, it's unique, and it’s different because we want to offer you your home away from home!! If you like...Activities - There is always something happening at the BIG Chill. Our Tour Desk sells awesome tours from Surfing, Bike hire, Theme Parks the list is never ending!If you are looking to book your amazing Southern adventure or more look no further! We are the local experts in Algarve, boat trips/parties, Jeep safari adventures and much more!Every night of the week there is something going on around the hostel, such as: Our Famous Dive Inn Movies, BBQ parties, The Backpackers Big Night Out (Club Crawl) (Wednesday and Saturday) and more! What more could a backpacker ask for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Big Chill Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing