We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Chill was awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Chill Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Big Chill Hostel
Ranked #50 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Big Chill was awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

It was very friendly and clean - a little bit out of town but it was still right across the road from an amazing beach and not too far a walk into town. It had an awesome kitchen which was also very clean and well kept. The manager Paul was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    16
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
13
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Excellent place to stay in Lagos! Best staff ever, good location, nice rooms and salon! Pretty big kitchen, there is everything you need! Highly recommended!!!! You will definitely have a lot of fun there!)))

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katty_Yurkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Booked in for 2 nights and stayed 4 instead. Great hostel with excellent facilities. Everything is brand new, beds are super comfy and there is a great little pub next door for beers and food. The hostel is located in a great spot. Only a stone's throw from a heap of picturesque beaches and a short stroll into town. Paul is a champ - very helpful and good sense of humour. Will be returning

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_garland86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here a week and hadan amazing time, very friendly staff, nice rooms, great kitchen and so close to the beaches! Very chilled out as the name suggests but still good for partying! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had a great time at the Big Chill! Stayed there for a week with a friend in early September. Everything's new and clean so great value for money. There's a nice, comfy lounge with a big TV and a lovely roof terrace for sunbathing and BBQs! Paul, the hostel manager was really nice and helpful. And it's only about 3min walk from a lovely beach - just perfect to chill out :))

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is the hostel to stay at if you want to chill out in Lagos. Even if you want to party I think it is a good base point, because at least you can stumble back afterwards and get a good nights sleep. There are enough people around to have some fun, but it's not noisy until the wee hours of the morning. Very close to some nice beaches and if you go for a bit of an explore you will be able to find some cool secluded little beaches.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JacksonAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Building was ok but totally lacking in basics of accomodations.
The ceiling in out room was very slanted so we couldnt stand in 3/4 of the small room.
The owner also seems to only recomend services provided by people he knows. We asked for a resturaunt close by and he only provided us with a resturaunt we would need to cab too. On our check-out day we asked him to call us a cab (pretty standard hostel requirement). He informed us he had already called a cab for another guest and it would be impossible for him to get another cab for 45 minutes. We had to walk down the street with all our baggage to a grocer and asked them to call one for us. We had a cab in under 5 minutes. Overall an unenjoyable stay and I would highly recomend somewhere else.

Room Tip: anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.0 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Pensao Dona Ana
#82 of 132 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Infante Guesthouse
Infante Guesthouse
#35 of 132 in Lagos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Uma Casa a Beira Sol
Uma Casa a Beira Sol
#10 of 132 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Doris Suites
Villa Doris Suites
#10 of 61 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dona Ana Garden
Dona Ana Garden
#11 of 61 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Chill Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Chill Hostel

Property: Big Chill Hostel
Address: Estrada da Ponta da Piedade | Lt 23, Lagos 8600, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Love the Beach, we got the Location! Welcome to Big Chill. Come as a stranger, leave as a friend... Enjoy our prime beach location and the best that Lagos has to offer. NEWL HOSTEL with a brand new Lounge, Games Room, cinema and more!!! There is always something happening at the BIG Chill! BIG Chill is more than you would ever expect, it's unique, and it’s different because we want to offer you your home away from home!! If you like...Activities - There is always something happening at the BIG Chill. Our Tour Desk sells awesome tours from Surfing, Bike hire, Theme Parks the list is never ending!If you are looking to book your amazing Southern adventure or more look no further! We are the local experts in Algarve, boat trips/parties, Jeep safari adventures and much more!Every night of the week there is something going on around the hostel, such as: Our Famous Dive Inn Movies, BBQ parties, The Backpackers Big Night Out (Club Crawl) (Wednesday and Saturday) and more! What more could a backpacker ask for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Big Chill Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing