We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Chill Review”
Review of Big Chill Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Chill Hostel
Ranked #75 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Would strongly recommend the big chill. Its more of a hotel then a hostel. Everything is new and in perfect working order. Awesome living room with internet, big flat screen tv (including Portugal's equivalent to foxtel). The manager Paul provided great local advice on what there is to do during the day and night. He can also speak six languages which was quite impressive. Shop's were close by (next door) as well as the beach which was only a 5minute walk down the road. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank o b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 114 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hostel is great! Its right near the beach which makes it really convenient, also up the hill near the lighthouse you can go hiking which is pretty cool! The hostel is pretty nice, but it took me a while to figure out where it exactly was because there is no sign that says Big Chill Hostel. But as soon as I got to the place I was greated by the manager Paul, who was really nice, helpful, friendly, and always around if you needed anything. The room I had was really nice a 2 bed room with a bathroom, its really great for the price. The kitchen was big, but needed more supplies for cooking. There is a really big living area, where you can eat and chill, with a big screen tv. The one thing that sucked was you had to pay for using the computer and internet. I would recommend this place like the name says its a chill hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights in the end of June and had a great time. There's a big living Room and a nice kitchen. They also have a really sweet sundeck, where you can chill. Everything was clean and really comfi. You have to walk about 10 to 15 minutes to get to the city centre. But the beach is just around the corner.

Paulo, the host, is really cool. He gave us good advices, showed us around the town and went to dinner with us.

I can just recommend the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

In a quiet location not far outside the old city and less than 5 minute walk to D.ana beach and another one that i forget the name of. Its more like your staying in some friendly guys house (Paul) rather than a place of business. Its all newly refurbed, so everything feels and looks brand new. Only a small place, i think about 25 beds all up, so everyone gets to know each other and it creates a nice friendly vibe. Hopefully it gets a sign up soon so that you can find it a bit easier and avoid having to backtrack up and down the street looking for it. Was only opened for a week when i got there so not entirely set up yet (pool table and lockers are on the way), but will be a massive winner once complete!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank JarrodC3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Yeah, as the name of the hostel suggests it surely is big chill, especially compared to other noisy places around Lagos... Located at the best part of the city, between two beaches, 5-10 minutes away from the center, it is for me the best place for a hostel, a bit away from the crowd, but still close to the beaches. The rooms are clean, the sleep is great and staff, Paulo was very useful about any informations considering Lagos and is pretty charming. The hostel is brand new, and still in making, so there are few more things to catch up, but overall my staying there was pretty neat. Highly recommended for solo travellers or couples...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutzae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

absolutly gourgeous hostel, 3 minutes walking distance from the D.Ana beach. the most relaxed sleaping time i've ever had in a hostel.everything was allways clean and the staff realy knows his way around Lagos. thanks Paulo!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patricia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Its more of a guesthouse than a hostel. There is no reception or tour desk. It is only new and opened too early. There werent any activities or pool table abailable. There is no aircon or fans and 2 rooms upstairs have no windows. There are no lockers or safes available.
I also think some of the first reviews on hostelbookers are fake so keep that in mind.
It has potential but needs more effort.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.7 mi away
Residencial Sol a Sol
Residencial Sol a Sol
#36 of 53 in Lagos
43 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
#29 of 53 in Lagos
119 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lagos4U Hostel
Lagos4U Hostel
#3 of 140 in Lagos
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lagos City Center Guest House & Hostel
0.7 mi away
Olive Hostel
Olive Hostel
#16 of 140 in Lagos
31 reviews
3.0 mi away
Casa do Sol Algarve
Casa do Sol Algarve
#62 of 140 in Lagos
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Chill Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Chill Hostel

Address: Estrada da Ponta da Piedade | Lt 23, Lagos 8600, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: $12 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Love the Beach, we got the Location! Welcome to Big Chill. Come as a stranger, leave as a friend... Enjoy our prime beach location and the best that Lagos has to offer. NEWL HOSTEL with a brand new Lounge, Games Room, cinema and more!!! There is always something happening at the BIG Chill! BIG Chill is more than you would ever expect, it's unique, and it’s different because we want to offer you your home away from home!! If you like...Activities - There is always something happening at the BIG Chill. Our Tour Desk sells awesome tours from Surfing, Bike hire, Theme Parks the list is never ending!If you are looking to book your amazing Southern adventure or more look no further! We are the local experts in Algarve, boat trips/parties, Jeep safari adventures and much more!Every night of the week there is something going on around the hostel, such as: Our Famous Dive Inn Movies, BBQ parties, The Backpackers Big Night Out (Club Crawl) (Wednesday and Saturday) and more! What more could a backpacker ask for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Big Chill Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing