We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Bahia Beach Bar

Bahia Beach Bar
Ranked #71 of 405 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are situated on the beautiful Meia Praia Beach.From Lagos town you can get to us in several ways. Walking distance 800m / 10 minutes from city center. The river ferry (summer months only. A 2 minute taxi ride from the rank. A stroll from Lagos Marina. Bahia provides a wide range of food options sure to whet the appetite. All our food is freshly prepared using locally sourced ingredients of the highest quality. We offer plenty of seasonal variation and take pride in presenting both International and traditional dishes.From the legendary Bahia burger, freshly prepared Tapas, club sandwich, salads, steaks, fresh pasta dishes and choice of daily specials, to traditional Portuguese dishes, we offer quality of choice with the emphasis on 'cooked to order' freshness.Our bar is well stocked offering draft and bottled beers and a selection of fine Portuguese wines, as well as the best Mohitos, Caiparihnas, fresh juices and of course coffees!
Grantown On spey Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

It was a great place to eat and the food was excellent. Definitely will return. Sit inside or outside. Service very good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pwd1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    102
    34
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on-Sea
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Selfish and Indulgent”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have known the Bahia for some while. Recently a change of location means it may now be included on my list of "locals".
As others have described location, food, ambience expertly I will not demur their experiences. You will find all there that they have promised.Having said that I have yet to work my way thru' the menu!

Currently, winter in the Algarve, added to the economic climate, means hours are restricted, do not expect it to open evenings except for the Sunday evening bash, even Saturdays can see early closing if no one is booked for supper.

After a long walk along Meia Praia to sit outside {blankets offered if feeling cold} with either a cold or hot drink {mulled wine this time of year} watching the beach scene, musing on ones good fortune just to be there is the emotional epicentre of this bar and its location. The staff are great, management teutonic and efficient, as is the head chef, who will, if one has any food ailments, adapt dishes to suit.

Try it now, you know you want to, afore the hordes descend later in the year, you may even catch the 'Tractor Gang' landing their catch on the beach before division of spoils amongst their workforce. To paraphrase Samuel Johnson 'when a man is tired of Bar Bahia and Meia Praia he is tired of life'

One caveat, the location means no connection to mains drainage, so those for whom tiled, immaculately spotless loos are a must, you might want to 'go' before you get here!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pre Xmas Lunch”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was my first time in Bahia's (we had originally gone to go to Lindas Bar but it was shut), i was craving my fav blue cheese salad with voodoo chicken wings....yum!!! there were 6 of us and the food was fab. I think the Thai salad was stated as the best they have ever had. the blue cheese salad was lush and the wings were just as good. Nice atmosphere and it was packed. One of the few that was open over xmas and i glad it was. Perfectly priced and run locally i think.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boxy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Amazing location, fabulous food”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just a short stroll from Lagos town and tucked away behind sand dunes, accessed by a boardwalk from the car park shared with its brasher neighbouring bar, this is a hidden gem. There's a good menu with something for everyone though I can thoroughly recommend the melt-in-mouth fillet steak and also the seafood platter. Desserts are to die for! Everything is freshly cooked and imaginatively presented. On the Sunday night I listened to a small band that played an amazing variety of easy-listening as well as dance music but it didn't drown out conversation. If you don't want to eat, you can just linger over a chilled local white and people watch. There's no pressure and service is friendly but discreet. If you have well-behaved kids, they can play safely in the adjacent dunes while you relax - this place is also family friendly. With plenty of shade for those who don't want to tan, shelter from the odd shower or sea breeze, Bahia Beach Bar was almost a daily stop for me while I was in Lagos. Only one snag is that the loos appear to have no illumination!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Beach Bar for Lunch”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful location for a relaxed lunch with great staff and food

Didn't go in the evening as too dark to get there in September

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreedomLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Beach Bar also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Bahia Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing