We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to pass a couple of hours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centro Ciencia Viva de Lagos

Centro Ciencia Viva de Lagos
Ranked #16 of 79 things to do in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great way to pass a couple of hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Not much more to add to other reviews, and would totally agree that it's a hidden treat and the ideal way to pass a couple of hours on a rainy or dull day.

We went on the day we were returning home. As our flight wasn't until the evening, and it was raining, we popped in for a look. We were amazed at the price - in only cost Euro 4.50 for 2 adults and a 3 year old. I'm sure they could easily be charging double and it would still be good value. We were there for over 2 hours, even with a small child when most of the interactive activities were a little too advanced for her, and it was too wet to look at the outside section. There were adults by themselves too, although it's probably aimed more at older familes (age 8+ perhaps). We especially liked the semaphore flags, making a radio, rowing the galleon, and driving the submarine.

The staff were great and on hand to explain everything; if anythin it was over-staffed for the time of year (mid Oct). All in all, we hope it can keep going in the current economic climate, as it really is impressive and engaging.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AmberPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    37
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Five star fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Excellent centre. Helpful staff, and really a bargain at 5euros for a family! Interactive exhibits, views of the harbour and a lovely building. Go into Lagos Market Hall and take the lift or stairs. Went in to fill an hour on a showery day; spent two hours with all family engrossed ( a 7 an 11 and us).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourist A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Engaging, hands-on learning experience with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a real hidden gem. It cost us 5 Euros to get in (2 adults, I child, 1 toddler) and we spent over 2 hours experimenting, learning and having fun,

The staff really engaged with the kids and got them interested in all the exhibits.

Outdoor and indoor space so perfect whatever the weather, and whatever ages the kids are. GO!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setubal, Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great family and learning experience, a must do in Lagos.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This museum is all about interaction with the different objects and to be able to touch and experience almost everything on the museum, so it is especially great for kids (above 3 at least). The theme is the Portuguese discovers (back 500 years ago) is a just the introduction to a lot of difference experiences for young and adults around the oceans, my kids loved the Portuguese caravel playground, the light house playground (both on the gardens) and the submarine. There’s a lot of available staff with great knowledge and great language skills which are a huge plus on the whole experience. The place is a must for a great fun and learning half day, the views from the gardens to the Lagos marine is just beautiful. It is located above the local fish and green market building (also a great visit to do) on the main avenue of Lagos, parking near the museum is not easy, so try to park on the main avenue and do the short walk. The entrance is not expensive, if I remember well around 2 or 3€ per adults, below 6 years old is free.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank west_coast_of_europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centro Ciencia Viva de Lagos also viewed

 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Centro Ciencia Viva de Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing