We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, big, clean, good price and well located appartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vilabranca Apartments
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
250 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice, big, clean, good price and well located appartments”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was here with my family for a week this July and it was a hard decision to choose a place in Lagos. Finally I have chosen Vilabranca because the price and all the things they have. It is also well located for the beaches and Lagos town.
The kitchen was well equipped, we had a terrace, air conditioning (we have just used once) and WIFI.
There weren't mops or brooms but it is because they come everyday to empty the trash and clean your apartment!
The WIFI cost 6 euros the week. It was a little weak in our apartment but it was great at the bar in the swimming-pool.
There were 2 big swimming pools. On middle one and a little one for babies.
Around you have supermarkets and cafeterias if required.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilabranca, General Manager at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Patimac,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Vilabranca. We are pleased to hear that you have chosen Vilabranca for your stay and that you have found it to your satisfactory.

We hope to welcome you back again for another great stay in Vilabranca.

Best Regards,
Lai Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    238
    62
    9
    5
See reviews for
214
302
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Apartments are spacious and clean, bar staff are exceptional and go out of their way to make the stay more pleasurable. Asked for traditional Portuguese custard tarts (had at the beach the day before) and the bat didn't have them. Ten minutes later, they brought a tray of four over to the table which the chef had just made, free of charge.
5* bar staff

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilabranca, General Manager at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Sam b,

Thank you for your wonderfull review on Vilabranca and especially the comment about our bar staff. We do our best to have our guests to make most of their holidays and that they get to know the Portuguese hospitality. Your comments will surely be past on to the Restaurant Manager Filipe.

Hopefully we can welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in Vilabranca.

Best regards,
Lai Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at Vilabranca towards the end of the May after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. And, I have to agree it was very lovely! We had a nice spacious apartment above reception (there were 2 of us and it was actually for 4 people) which looked like it had been newly renovated. It had everything you would need from a basic holiday apartment (you can hire a safe/hairdryer etc. from reception). There are two decent size pools (pretty cold/refreshing!) and a bar/restaurant on site. We ate in the restaurant one night - it was OK, but nothing particularly special.

There is a small supermarket just opposite the complex and the walk into town took us around 15-20 minutes. It is downhill going which is fine, but relatively steep (perfectly manageable) on the way back. The beaches and coastal walk is a mere 10 mins walk and is well worth doing - spectacular scenery along the Lagos coastline and some beautiful isolated beaches along the way.

Lagos itself was nice perhaps a little smaller than I thought, but a traditional town and not too consumed by tourism. One restaurant I would recommend would be 'Arribale' which has amazing tapa-style Portuguese food served in a nice candle-lit setting (it was quite small so booking might be recommended - Vilabranca were happy to do that for us).

Although a car is definitely not needed, we did hire one to see more of Portugal. I would highly recommend Praia de Marinha and the Bengali caves. There's a fantastic beach down there and the local fishermen offer boat trips to the caves (13 euros pp for an hour) which are spectacular. The drive is around 30 mins from Vilabranca. Car hire cost us 115 euros for 2.5 days and we booked that on our second day in Lagos as a walk-in customer (a lot of the smaller/cheaper cars had been booked up already so it might be worth booking ahead in busier months). On the second day we toured the west coast and all its lagoons, beaches and off-the-beaten-track experiences. Again, highly recommended.

Finally, night life in Lagos was great. You tend to get the "2 for 1" cocktail deals/reps touting you on the street, but it is all in good spirit. It was a bit quieter in May (we saw some great live music though!) but I imagine that would pick up over the summer. If you needed to a taxi back to Vilabrance was 5 euros.

All in all a very nice stay and a great choice for our first time in Portugal. We would go back, but would probably like to see more of Portugal and may stay in a different location the next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becca_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilabranca, General Manager at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Becca_Edingburgh,

Thank you for your review on Vilabranca and also for your recommendations on our town Lagos. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and if you decide to choose Vilabranca again we will be happy to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Lai Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed in the Villabranca apartments in May. The apartments are lovely and spacious. We stayed in a ground floor unit near the pool. Unfortunately we had to move at the end of the week because of a power cut. However the staff couldn't have been more accommodating and helped us move to another apartment in the complex.
The only negative was the distance from the town of Lagos and the beach. We had to get a bus to both. The free transport we were promised only went twice a day in May.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilabranca, General Manager at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Anne O

Thank you very much for your review on Vilabranca. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the adequate reaction of the staff during the powercut to your satisfactory. The minibus has a different timetable during low season, I'm sorry to hear that it wasn't sufficient for your stay.

Hopefully we can welcome you back for another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards,
Lai Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just back from a two week stay at the Vilabranca Apts. Had a two bed ground floor apartment with a pool view. Almost no complaints about the apartment...modern and bright throughout and had everything we needed. Some sockets were not quite fitted properly and it is an easy thing to fix so should be looked after. Pool area was clean and well maintained. Bar & restaurant is more than adequate....we ate here sometimes for lunch & dinner. Bar staff very friendly & service good. It is a good 15 minute walk into the town which is lovely sometimes but can be a bit of a pain at the end of the day. Lagos is a lovely town centre....not the usual resort "strip".

The only complaint we would have is that the cleaning is definitely below par. They "cleaned" every second day ie dropped in fresh towels. Bed linen was not changed throughout the two weeks. Beds were made but just about....on several occasions the sheet & blanket were barely straightened out and the rest was bundled up and put in the wardrobe (which need a bit of 3-in-1 by the way...very hard to open & close). Floors were never swept or mopped. Given that this has been mentioned regularly in the reviews it really should be dealt with asap. It really lets the place down.

Cleaning notwithstanding, we had a great two weeks at Vilabranca and would definitely recommend to friends & family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miriam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilabranca, General Manager at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Miriam H

Thank you very much for your review on Vilabranca. It is highly appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly analize the minor parts of your feedback and discuss it with the staff.

Hopefully we can welcome you back for another enjoyable stay with us and show you our improvements.

Kind regards,
Lai Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our second time staying at these apartments, they have been redecorated since last year. Apartments are huge, almost like a little villa, this time we have a two story one with large kitchen downstairs & separate living/dining area & bedroom & bathroom upstairs. Only complaint would be that the beds are rock hard.

The complex has two pools both of which will always have a sunbed free and a lovely bar/restaurant which we ate in a few times. They bar also runs a tour on a Sunday and its a great way see some of the area outside of the resort, would recommend it if you don't have a hire car.

Location wise its about twenty min walk town with a complimentary bus at certain time day . Lagos is a fabulous resort with bags of character.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank locat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilabranca, General Manager at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Locat22

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate that you took your time to comment on Vilabranca and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The beds were all renewed this year and hence that they might need some time to get used.

Hopefully we can welcome you back for another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards,
Lai Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of our apartment when we arrived. This is truly like having a home away from home. The apartment came with a few utensils, plates, cups, etc. We fully utilized the kitchen to make our own breakfast and dinner. There is a grocery store that is literally across the street where you can stock up on the necessities. We had rented a car and were able to get around very easily, but even if you don't have a car, everything is a good walk away. The main center square is a good 15-20 min walk from here or a 5 minute drive. Although they said that the beach is a 10-15 walk from here, it took us about 10 mins just to drive there. I noticed that a lot of the other visitors just stayed around the outdoor pool - maybe the walk to the beach was too much for them. Reception can also provide you with (tiny) beach towels that you can bring with you to the beach.

A few small things that didn't hit the mark for me - wifi wasn't included. Not a big deal at all, but would have made things a lot easier. I think it was like $3-5 Euro per day or something. Also, the beds were REALLY hard and uncomfortable. I woke up each morning a little sore. We also got an apartment with two single beds - which made this honeymoon trip pretty lackluster. There is a safe, which looks like it came straight out of the 1800's, but you have to pay for using it on a per day basis. The rooms are cleaned every couple of days - not thoroughly enough I thought.

One other comment on the on-site restaurant - terrible! We ordered a grilled cheese sandwich to tide us over until we went for a proper lunch. It took them nearly 40 MINUTES to make it. Not only that, there were about 3-4 staff there that were just sitting and chatting away at the bar. We decided after that to not bother dining there again.

Overall, this is a safe, affordable and friendly place to stay in Lagos. You will be pleasantly surprised as to the amount of space you get for such a reasonable per night cost. If I return to Lagos, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derbdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilabranca, General Manager at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Derbdo,

We would like to thank you for your comments on Vilabranca. It is highly appreciated and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will certainly take the downsides into account and review it so we can improve the minor points in the future.

Hopefully Vilabranca can welcome you back again one day, as your "home away from home".

Kindest regards,
Lai Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
2,883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
1,253 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilabranca Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilabranca Apartments

Property: Vilabranca Apartments
Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia de Lagos | Torraltinha, Lagos 8600-621, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lagos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilabranca Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilabranca offers a high standard of accommodation which feature a wide range of amenities within the complex. It is the ideal choice for families and those seeking a relaxing break close to Lagos. Clients can benefit from being away from the bustle of the resort, while remaining within comfortable walking distance of the centre of Lagos and Porto Do Mos Beach. Vilabranca has won many awards for its excellent service and friendly atmosphere. Lagos is a bustling old walled city, with great night life with fantastic restaurants, bars and shopping. You can spend hours pottering around the picturesque lanes. Lagos is very proud of its history and there is plenty of sightseeing from the ancient slave market to the 17th-century moated fortress overlooking the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vilabranca Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilabranca Apartments Hotel Lagos
Vilabranca Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing