We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BRILLIANT HOLIDAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vilabranca Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vilabranca Apartments
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
163 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT HOLIDAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just back from a 10 night stay. First time at Lagos and Vilabranca and cant wait to go back. The apartment was spacious and spotless and had everything needed (including a free bottle of wine on arrival). The pool areas were clean and lots of sunbeds, although we spent most of our time lounging in the bean bag chairs which were so comfortable. The poolside bar was reasonable and did lovely food at a reasonable price. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. We enjoy walking so didn't mind the walk into Lagos but the hill back up at night was hard work some nights! Lagos town is fabulous with lots of wonderful restaurants and lots going on.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are shaded from the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanniejeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    238
    62
    9
    5
See reviews for
213
302
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful . We were surprised to find two pool areas .Our only problem was that there were a lot of trees outside our balcony and they shaded our apartment from the sun . The bar, lounge and restaurant were clean and tidy .the meals in the restaurant were good .There is a supermarket just across the road ,has all the essentials and is well stocked.
it does that 10-15 minutes to walk into Lagos ,not a strenuous effort .Lots v/nice restaurants in Lagos .
I will go back to Vilabranca again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallbender2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just returned from Vilabranca Lagos.Friendly staff night and day, huge apartments although a little basic they are kept immaculately clean with everything you need. Towels are provided, as is a kettle and toaster, oven, fridge freezer and even a coffee machine!
Nice place to stay in Algarve

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMILCraiova_Romania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The complex and apartments are spacious and the staff are wonderful, very helpful and friendly. Our apartment 214 was showing signs of wear and tear and the soft furnishings were grubby, the balcony was permanently in shade due to over grown trees in front of the apartment.

Room Tip: Not 214 if you enjoy an sunny balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ossie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Three Irish Girls in early 20’s (10th-17th June 2013)

Just back from a week in fabulous Lagos! We payed that little bit extra to stay in Vilabranca and it was definitely worth it. The staff are extremely helpful in everyway they can be. The location is lovely and the site felt very safe. The actual apartment was spotlessly clean, spacious and contained everything we needed. Only down points were the beds were not the most comfortable and the pillows were actually cushions – however you get used to this after the first couple of nights (and a few drinks!).

There are two lovely pools, one with a bar with a great food and drinks menu. We spent most our time at the beach so we did not experience much at the pool side. Again the staff here are very nice and helpful.

LOCATION: it is perfect for getting to the towns and the beaches if you are prepared to pay 4 euro in a taxi or walk about 20 minutes. It is a lovely walk down but quite tough on the way back in the heat. We got taxis most of the time as it was so cheap and the taxis are always available within a couple of minutes.

BEACHES: They provide a bus service 3-4 times a day to a beach (porto de mois) and to the town centre (where there are many other beaches). We found the large beaches to be very beautiful but very quiet. Porto de Mois is worth a visit as the formations are amazing to see. Otherwise head to Potato Beach which is just up from the main taxi rank in the centre – this is where all the bar staff go on their days off and there is a good atmosphere.

The water is FREEZING – Apparently it was the time we were there / strange weather this year but we didn’t get in to swim once in the sea, and we love to swim! It was not as cold in the pool but it was still uncomfortably cold at times. The locals told us that this would change in July and the water can reach 25 degrees celsius. This may disappoint swimmers as it did for us.

DRINKING: Unfortunately we went the week before the busy period starts, according to the locals. It was pretty quiet all week in the bars except fro Friday and Saturday. We didn’t mind this too much as we went away mainly to relax but if you are a hard partier then wait until later in June – and if Saturday is anything to go by, they get messy! All of the bar staff and workers are lovely. Drinks are pretty cheap – ranging from 3 euro to 5 euro but you will find happy hour (11-12pm) and drink promotions everywhere you go.

Best Bars on the main strip in the centre – Mynt Cocktail bar (great to start with live music and the nicest staff), Shakers, Joe’s Garage
Clubs (only busy when bars close after 2am) – Grand Café or Stevie Joes - they are little more expensive than the bars but not more than at home
Live music – There are a few little ges around the town which host live acoustic sessions. Fools and Horses is one we went too but just ask around and you will find more for sure.

EATING: The prices were pretty similar to Ireland with the fresh fish dishes that little more (but worth it!!). If you like fish, especially sea food then the food in Lagos will make your holiday one to remember on its own.

Laid back grub - Nahnahbah (a must visit - snacks and burgers to die for), Rockafella (best meal of the week!! Opposite shakers bar)
Classy Dining – O’Caveiliro (main square), Garden Bar
Desert – there is ice cream everywhere but if you really want to try it then go to this little Italian place (can’t remember the name now) but it is right beside a restaurant called Miam Miam just off the main street. You won’t believe how good it is!!

SHOPPING: Pretty poor, the usual gismos and trinkets you find on a European holiday. We didn’t go to any markets as it was not the busy season so these may be better. Nice jewelry and food stores though.


Overall, Lagos is a fantastic and beautiful town and I have no doubt I will be back to visit again. Vilabranca is the perfect location to get some TLC and relax but it is definitely more suited to couples and older people.

Enjoy Lagos or ‘la – gosh’ as the locals pronounce it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LLSMIDDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have just returned from Vilbranca in Lagos, having had a great holiday. On arrival, we were met by friendly reception staff who gave us a map of the Lagos with the apartment's location marked on it. This became invaluable! We were shown to our apartment, where we found a bottle of red wine on the table had been left for us. The apartment was, as requested, on the top floor overlooking one of the two swimming pools and was beautifully clean. We did have a couple of snags that needed looking at, but these were attended to almost immediately after we reported them.

The kitchen contained a two-ring hob, microwave, coffee maker, kettle, toaster and a full-size fridge which were fine for us. Tip - if you like a mug of tea either take your own or pick up a cheap couple cheaply from 'Shop Lagos' in the town. We did this and left them for the next occupants.

A huge asset to the excellent staff at Vilbranca is Miguel, the barman. We don't usually bother with the bar where we're staying but made a point of going in when returning from the town each evening for a last couple of drinks. Miguel keeps you entertained and makes the best mojitos in Lagos! (his words but they really are great). The reception staff were also excellent and we found that nothing was too much trouble for them. They booked us a table at a restaurant and even checked on line for the return time of our shuttle back to the airport.

There are two swimming pools with plenty of sunbeds and you will always find some free. There was only one gentleman who re-arranged two beds and an umbrella each morning before 'reserving' them with his towels!

Food in the town was very reasonably priced and excellent. No Patio and Casinah do Petisco particularly stood out, but make sure you book.

The beautiful town and stunning beaches are all about 20 minutes' walk and it's a little hilly. We like to walk and were happy to do so to walk off all the food we were eating, but there is a free bus from/to the apartments to the beach and the town at various times. It's also worth taking a bus from the bus station to Portimao.

All in all a great holiday and we will definitely go back to Vilabranca. Thank you to all the staff there for helping to make it so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Having seen other reviews on TA, we requested a room on the top floor to avoid noise from apartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally01926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

From the moment we were greeted by the friendly, informative and knowledgeable reception Manager to the time we departed at 4.30am and left our keys with the equally friendly and sociable night time security man our time spent at The Vilabranca Apartments was more than we hoped it would be.

They say the best way to keep your customers coming back is to give them more than they expect and that is exactly what you get with The Vilabranca Apartments. The first thing you notice as you enter the complex is how clean and well maintained the place is. The reception is bright and welcoming, the pool area is pristine with lots of sun loungers and we never had problems finding a poolside spot no matter what time of the day we visited.

Our apartment was huge with a separate kitchen leading onto a balcony with table and chairs a massive lounge area again with table and chairs and a TV with all the major UK channels in case you are missing home that much (very unlikely). We had a spacious double bedroom and a bathroom with toilet, bidet, bath and shower. we stayed for 7 nights and the towels and sheets were changed three times during our stay and again just like the rest of the complex the apartment was very clean and tidy.

Overall I cant recommend The Vilabranca Apartments enough, throw in the fact that you have three or four amazing beaches and the town centre all within 15 minutes walking distance (The Vilabranca Apartments also provide a free mini bus three times a day if you don't fancy the walk) as well as several small bars and restaurants close by and you have the ideal base for a fantastic holiday in Lagos.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren_Russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#11 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilabranca Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilabranca Apartments

Property: Vilabranca Apartments
Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia de Lagos | Torraltinha, Lagos 8600-621, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#6 Family Hotel in Lagos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilabranca Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilabranca offers a high standard of accommodation which feature a wide range of amenities within the complex. It is the ideal choice for families and those seeking a relaxing break close to Lagos. Clients can benefit from being away from the bustle of the resort, while remaining within comfortable walking distance of the centre of Lagos and Porto Do Mos Beach. Vilabranca has won many awards for its excellent service and friendly atmosphere. Lagos is a bustling old walled city, with great night life with fantastic restaurants, bars and shopping. You can spend hours pottering around the picturesque lanes. Lagos is very proud of its history and there is plenty of sightseeing from the ancient slave market to the 17th-century moated fortress overlooking the harbour. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vilabranca Apartments Hotel Lagos
Vilabranca Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing