We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“best holiday apartments in lagos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vilabranca Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vilabranca Apartments
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best holiday apartments in lagos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

just booked our fifth holiday in vilabranca and we are sure that the room and the staff will be up to the high standard as usual.we have never had any problems whatsoever and that includes the weather.There are good shops,bars and restaurants within walking distance

Room Tip: Read the reviews before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank happywicklow_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilaranca, Director of Sales at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello good morning,

thank you so much for you kind words and for your preference.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you once again at Vilabranca and we are sure you will have a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    238
    62
    9
    4
See reviews for
212
301
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

stayed for a few days,had a great time
tasty fresh food ,welcoming staff who went out of their way to help you,nothing was to much trouble ,helped us with travel arrangments as we wanted to travel more around portugal.
very clean and spacious room,cleaning staff are a credit to the hotel,
would deffinaty go back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilaranca, Director of Sales at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.
We are happy you enjoyed your holidays with us.

Please do not hesitate in contact us for a future stay.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

we have booked our Carnival holidays in Lagos and we have stayed in Vilabranca resort!! The staff was amazing and very helpfull advising us where we should eat and what we should do and what to visit. The place was very clean and very organized. The views to the garden and the pool are amazing! We really had a great time during our holidays!

Room Tip: book a room facing the pool amazing garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Plind189158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilaranca, Director of Sales at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello,

thank you for your lovely comments.

We try our best to support as much as we can to provide you a nice experience.

Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Sue and I arrived at vilabranca apmnts,lagos in nov.2012 by car and even enroute the receptionist Lai, rang us to see if we were ok and not experiencing any problems.We were quickly shown to our accomodation,which was very clean and had all the items we asked for at the time of booking.the accomodation is spacious and well appointed.We had been thinking of spending a month of our winter break here and then moving on but after realising that the accomodation ticked every box we wanted including wi.fi,excellent car parking and well sited for the town and beach we have decided to stay until april.
The manager Tiago and Lai are really the most helpful,friendliest people who simply cannot do enough to make our stay here perfect.they have both helped in giving us directions with maps,advice on where to go for whatever reasons.
we regard all the staff here including the gardner Christella,Mario the handyman and velda our cleaner as our good friends as we have been so well looked after.
we would recommend (as we have done already) to anyone wanting to stay at good quality apmnts in lagos with very helpful and supportive staff to come here for a relaxing holiday or break.The language is not a problem as both Tiago and Lia speak excellent English.

Room Tip: we found our ground floor room most adequate,easy to carry up shopping and we get the sun on our ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilaranca, Director of Sales at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Ian and Mrs. Sue,

We cannot thank you enough for your comments.
It was a huge pleasure to welcome you and we are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

It will be great to welcome you back in October and I'm sure you will have another great stay with us.
Kind regards,
Tiago & Lai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leamington spa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment overlooking the 'yellow umbrella' pool. It was nice and private with foliage and a waist height wall between our patio and the pool area. We were ground level and had another apartment above us.
The pool was lovely and clean and had some gardens to one end of it and a bar at the other which wasn't open early in July but this was of no concern as the reception's blue umbrella pool was two minutes away.
The apartment was spotless and the kitchen had everything you'd need for a self catering holiday. Light and bright and always lovely, warm water for bath or shower.
The sitting room had one day bed and we had an extra bed for the second child at an extra supplement when booking

Opposite the entrance of the complex there was a really good supermarket with small deli with cold meats and cheeses, a fresh veg and friut produce area outside and everything else you could want from sunglasses to buckets and spades!
There were also a few bars and restaurants within a few minutes of the complex. We were close to two beaches which also had modern atmostpheric resturants on them. The walk into town was twenty minutes with a shuttle bus twice a day. Taxis were also pretty cheap.
The staff were really helpful and friendly.
I would recommend it to anyone with kids but there were also young and older couples staying there. We noticed a lot of Irish, Dutch and Portugese holiday makers staying there.
Our kids were quite young to be left on their own but some families didn't seem to mind their kids running around the whole complex unaccompanied as it seemed safe and wasn't too big and was enclosed by a wall
Around the whole complex.
I thought it was very reasonable for the standard of the accomadation and was impressed with the location. Highly recommend it.
The kids talk about the place even two years later.
Lagos has real charm with all sorts of bars and cafes and the beach bars are very funky and hip. Lots of beaches to choose from, great boat trips and an international feel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rebecca d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilaranca, Director of Sales at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

Your comment describes perfectly Vilabranca Apartments. We are suitable not just for couples but also for families.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and to be able to provide you another great experience.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked Vilabranca based on the Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We were there for 10 days in October and we were unfortunate as we didn’t even get one sunny day. The weather was terrible, cold and raining every day so we ended up spending more time in the apartment that you would normally want to while on holidays.
While sitting looking out at heavy rain we were at least comfortable. Some of the reviews said the beds were not very comfortable and while they are two single beds put together we had no complaints. Good sized bathroom and good shower. The kitchen is perhaps not the best equipped but we managed adequately. What we really appreciated was the great TV and all the English channels that were available. The housekeeping is efficient and everything is clean and well maintained.
The apartments are well located in a residential area about 20 minutes walk from town. 20 minutes in the other direction brings you to a stunningly beautiful beach. Conveniently there is a small supermarket and great bar at the gates to Vilabranca. Due to the weather we didn’t get to use the pools!! But the pools and grounds are maintained beautifully. The staff are very helpful, friendly and efficient.
This was our first trip to the Algarve. I would have to agree with Greekfanantic’s review and his view of Lagos that it becomes very tedious after a few nights. There is certainly an overabundance of restaurants. It was also very sad and upsetting to see so many people there begging. I would also agree with Greekfanantic's view that Lagos is “a big nothingness and well over rated resort”. There is literally nothing for visitors to do there. Even the excellent staff at Vila Branca were at a loss when we asked for suggestions on things to do. The tourism in the area completely over depends on the sunshine and the tourism authorities dont seem to have thought about the times when there is no sun. We had a car and even with that we are hard pressed to find things to do. We went there as we had not been to the Algarve before and were influenced by Portugals boast of 300 days sunshine a year!!
The Vila Branca saved our holiday from being a complete disaster. I would highly recommend the great value Vila Branca if deciding to go to Lagos. However in relation to Lagos itself I would suggest that unless you go in the mid-summer months when you are almost guaranteed sunshine I would think twice about going. Apart from its beautiful beaches, Lagos is a boring “nothingness”.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DublinExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilaranca, Director of Sales at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, but a bit sad because lagos let you down.

I hope you can return in the future and that the experience in Lagos can be more positive.
We will be here to welcome you.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This accomodation located at a 15 minute walk to the town centre attractions offers outstanding value for money. Pools very cold but easy to sit around.
Large supermarket 5 minute drive away. Quiet, clean absolutely nothing to criticise.
Really do need to have a car to make the best of this excellent location.
Many nearby eating places close on Monday, go into town centre then and really keep away from the nearby Chinese eatery, being polite it was not very good!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sunny balcony not on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 360BrianL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#16 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#13 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilabranca Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilabranca Apartments

Property: Vilabranca Apartments
Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia de Lagos | Torraltinha, Lagos 8600-621, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#6 Family Hotel in Lagos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilabranca Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilabranca offers a high standard of accommodation which feature a wide range of amenities within the complex. It is the ideal choice for families and those seeking a relaxing break close to Lagos. Clients can benefit from being away from the bustle of the resort, while remaining within comfortable walking distance of the centre of Lagos and Porto Do Mos Beach. Vilabranca has won many awards for its excellent service and friendly atmosphere. Lagos is a bustling old walled city, with great night life with fantastic restaurants, bars and shopping. You can spend hours pottering around the picturesque lanes. Lagos is very proud of its history and there is plenty of sightseeing from the ancient slave market to the 17th-century moated fortress overlooking the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Vilabranca Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilabranca Apartments Hotel Lagos
Vilabranca Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing