We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small hotel worthy of praise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The majority of reviews of the Carvi hotel have mentioned its position, rooms, facilities, proximity to a great beach etc. Suffice therefore to say that this small hotel provided us with a great base for a week on the Algarve at the end of May 2014. We thought it excellent value for money with wonderful staff and a 'can do' attitude. We will definitely recommend to our friends and will almost certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LDCbournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear LDCbournemouth,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to leave us such a lovely review! It makes us so happy to hear that our "can do" attitude positively impacted your stay in Lagos; hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 787 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

Rooms spotlessly clean and staff all helpful and friendly. About a 15-20 minute to Lagos town centre. If you feel lazy as taxi is 5 Euros. Rooftop pool and bar plus a beach at the end of the street. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear David H,

Thanks for the review! Hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed at the Carvi for two weeks (11-25 May) and it was our first visit. I will start with a gripe which is the lack of a fridge in the room, which my wife and I found frustrating as there is no way to keep drinks or snacks cool.

Now on to the positives:

Our room was on the second floor and was very nice and also quiet, it was actually a bit too quiet as it was at the back of the hotel by the garden and occasionally like to sit on our balcony and watch the world and people go by which we couldn’t do. That said, when I was booking the holiday I asked for a quiet room with a double bed and that is precisely what I got so I can’t fault the management as they fulfilled my request. The room was a good size and comfortable (with the deepest mattress I’ve ever slept on); it had a nice (albeit small) bathroom and adequate storage. The housekeeping staff are very good and kept the room spotless and regularly provided fresh towels.

Breakfast was fine with a choice of scrambled and boiled eggs as well as ham, cheese, fruit yoghurts and wonderful fresh bread rolls. Breakfast was from 8-10.30am and (unsurprisingly) gets busier from 9am onwards. As with all the staff at the Carvi the dining room staff are very good and very efficient and very helpful & friendly.

There is a very nice rooftop pool and also a sun terrace.

The hotel is well situated with a walk of around 10-15 minutes into town where there is an abundance of shops, restaurants and bars meaning there is something for everyone. The ‘old town’ is wonderful with narrow cobbled streets and brightly coloured houses (and they do like a tile or two on their houses in Portugal). There are also several wonderful beaches and a marina. The walk back to the hotel is uphill so you can walk off any excess calories (and you will be picking up excess calories).

There are many reasonably priced restaurants and bars, the most we paid for a meal was 40 Euros and that included drinks and a tip (but no starts and only 1 dessert). There is also a beautiful beach just a few yards from the hotel. There are a couple of small shops by the hotel and also the O Amigo bar is just a couple of minutes’ walk. This is a very friendly bar with good and reasonably priced food and cheap drinks during ‘Happy Hour’ (5-8pm).

I can’t end this review without talking about the staff, and in particular the reception staff. For me the staff are an important aspect of the holiday and I can’t praise the Carvi staff enough. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them; ask them about buses, trains or places to visit and they will start printing information off for you and give you very helpful advice. They are all incredibly warm and friendly and seem determined to make sure you enjoy your holiday.

One excellent example of this concerns our last but one day; our Thomson Holiday rep hadn’t bothered to tell us when we would be picked up for our transfer to the airport. Rather than leaving us to try and contact them causing us stress on our last full day, a receptionist told us that she would contact them and sort it out and that we should go and enjoy our day and relax. When we returned to the hotel later in the afternoon she (I’m sorry but I can’t remember her name) had sorted it all out for us for which we were (and still are) incredibly grateful.

Overall a wonderful little hotel with equally wonderful staff; thank you for a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Sean T,

Thanks for the great comments! I definitely agree that the reception is the face of a hotel; and we love our face :)

It makes us all so happy to hear that our people made your stay comfortable and less stressful than it could have been. Glad that you enjoyed your two week holiday!

Hope to see you again!
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at Carvi in May 2014 with my wife and daughter (in separate room) and that was really fantastic having Praia Dona Ana beach just near the hotel. The Lagos downtown is in 15 minutes walk. The staff was attentive and very friendly, rooms were clean, breakfasts were good, free wi-fi operated everywhere. The only disadvantages were too cold water (IMHO) in a roof top pool and absence of a table in the room (we had a table at a balcony). The hotel does not have its restaurant so we had to make some efforts to move our bodies for dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vserge1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear vserge1960,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to write us a review. I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us! I do apologize about the pool. Unfortunately it is not heated so in the early months it can be a bit chilly when the sun is not hitting it all day.

Hope you had a safe trip home!
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is fantastic for the price. The buffet breakfast had a great selection every day (eggs, meats, cheese, breads, cake, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, sausages) and the staff were very friendly. They were happy to help with booking trips and lent us a beach sun shade for free. The roof top pool is lovely and there are a few communal areas to relax in and out of the sun. We were initially a little disappointed by the 'garden' as we were in a garden view room, but soon grew to like the privacy and quietness that it offered, as well as the afternoon/ evening sun. The location is perfect for the beach, and it's only a short walk into town to the bars and restaurants. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RS60girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear RS60girl,

Thank you for the lovely review! Happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast service; we have worked very hard on it!

See you again soon!
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is located just outside downtown Lagos, an easy 10 minute walk into town. If you are visiting for the beach, Carvi Hotel is on the best beach presumably along the coast - Dona Ana. Just at the end of the street are the steps down.

The hotel itself was clearly recently updated. The room was nice, freshly painted, clean and with a balcony - and at a great price, we were very pleased. There was a blow dryer in the room. Our AC didn't really work which for the time of year didn't matter and I am sure I could have called the front desk and had them look into it.

Front desk staff was very friendly. Spoke English. Helped book a kayak tour in town and provided other suggestions such as walks to do and other sites to see in town.

The roof top pool was nice. It was pretty cold but we were there just before the main summer heat so no need for a heated pool and once in, your still cold but refreshing. They offer a mini rooftop bar.

They also have a bar downstairs which is open fairly late at night. We didn't order a drink but there were others staying at the hotel who took advantage. They also had a pool table in there.

Breakfast was included. Typical breakfast: Bread, cheeses, meats, eggs, yogurt, fruit, cereal, juice, coffee. The breakfast room was nice, bright and clean - same area as the bar. Friendly attentive serving staff to help with the clearing tables or if running low on items.

Wifi in the hotel was also really good.

Only unfortunate thing isn't about the hotel but the abandoned building next to it. Nothing the hotel can do about it.

All in all, we absolutely would stay here again. If staying in Lagos for the beach, suggest staying here and walking into town - rather than stay in town and walk here.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. Not sure if they all have one - but we had a nice view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoGlobalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear GoGlobalTravel,

Thanks for taking a few minutes to leave us a review! It seems like everything went right during your time in Lagos! You got some great pictures of the hotel & beach!

Hope to see you again!
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We first stayed at Carvi in May 2012 and returned again for a May 2014 break. It was even better this time!

The hotel has made a number of improvements which we noticed and appreciated, these included expanding the breakfast selection (fresh breads, cake, meat, cheese, scrambled and boiled eggs and lovely fresh fruit as well as cereals) and moving the breakfast area into a lighter and more spacious part of the hotel.

In our 2012 trip, we stayed in a land room view which we didnt mind as they had lovely flowers outside. This time we stayed on the first floor right at the end of the hotel closest to the beach so we had a bit of a sea view which was lovely. The rooms are cleaned daily to a high standard and all linen and towels replaced.

The hotel staff are really lovely and friendly. Maria Jose and Angela on the front desk were especially helpful and helped us plan trips out, telling us the cheapest options which was much appreciated. The hotel is right next to Dona Ana beach which is a lovely beach with a beach cafe that is second to none (the house squid is superb).

It is about a 5-10 minute walk to a Spar which sells everything you need and has a laundrette, hairdressers and salon inside which would be handy for longer stays. It is then another 5-10 minute walk to the centre of Lagos which we think is beautiful - winding streets with a mixture of traditional and tourist shops that sell some great stuff. We never used the local taxis as we enjoyed the walk but I think taxi fares are very reasonable there.

Prices in general are very reasonable in Lagos - a taxi to the zoo was about 13 euros each way. Restaurants varied in price but we usually paid under 40 euros for 2 people having drinks, starters and sometimes dessert on top of a main meal. Food in Lagos is wonderful, the fresh fish dishes are the best. Our favourite restaurants were Imperio do Mar (their Tapas menu is especially good value for money) and A Petisqueira Dois Irmaos which served the best steak my boyfriend had ever eaten.

All in all, another great holiday. The hotel is a great base - the only slight complaint we had is that other hotel guests tended to make quite a lot of noise at night and the layout and nature of the hotel doors meant that it could get quite noisy. However, as it was low season, the hotel wasn't too busy so this problem was solved with earplugs and wasn't the fault of the hotel. We already want to go back and will most likely stay at this hotel again as for the price, the standard of service, cleanliness and location is completely worth it :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teixeira0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Teixeira0709,

Wow! Thank you for being such great and loyal guests! I am so happy to hear that our staff was so good to you; I will definitely be passing along your comments.

Thank you for noticing our improvements! Hopefully we see you again and you notice even MORE improvements!

Best,
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#2 of 53 in Lagos
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#1 of 53 in Lagos
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
651 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
0.9 mi away
Clube Porto Mos
Clube Porto Mos
#16 of 53 in Lagos
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve

Address: Alameda Doutor Armando Soares Ribeiro | Praia Dona Ana, Apartado 33, Lagos 8600-500, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#8 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $53 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful beaches on the Algarve coast, south of Portugal, is the Carvi Beach Hotel. Lagos, a city with more than 2.000 years of history, like many coastal towns in Portugal, Lagos has a special relation with the sea that is firmly established in history, culture, architecture and gastronomic patrimony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagos Carvi Hotel
Sol e Praia Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing