We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay, good value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay, good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel was an excellent choice for my husband and I. We stayed there for 2 days and 1 night. Great rooms, location, staff very friendly and helpful. Free wifi in Lobby, lovely view, everything was great! We enjoyed our stay in this town, and the beach has the most amazing view ever. Breakfast included. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaofelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    265
    107
    33
    20
See reviews for
82
385
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just came back from a a four night stay with my boyfriend from 30th of may and absolutley cannot fault the place! We were a little apprehensive about choosing this hotel as there were a few negative reviews ( which we found to be rubbish and untrue).

As soon as we reached the hotel we were met by a fabulous receptionist who was very friendly and welcoming , showing us around and telling us about the area, facilities, ect. The bar tender was great and gave us much entertainment every night including the free "fire" shots. very friendly guy! although he was constantly laughing whilst we were trying to play snooker drunk!

The room was ok. Not great but had everything you need and was clean and fresh.

Breakfast was continental, yet their was a grill to make the perfect ham and cheese melt and one day there was an option of sausage and egg. There were also cakes and a really nice drinks machine with perfect fruitjuice. Not a massive selection but more than enough food and choice for breakfast.

I would REALLY RECCOMEND THIS HOTEL, as it is such a lovely place , people are nice and is a perfect base to go back too after exploring the lovely area.

We are already looking for rates and flights to return in August 2013!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aleya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Booked the Carvi Hotel and stayed at the end of May 2013. It is situated in the most beautiful area and well worth the money. It took us 15 minutes to walk into Lagos but there is a bus-stop right outside the hotel and it cost us 1.60 Euros each for any journey in a zone. There is also a train that goes in a circular route to the marina and back for 5 Euros which also stops outside. We walked along to the lighthouse in the other direction which took us about 20/25 minutes and we found a couple of other beaches which were sheltered. It became very hot towards the end of the week. We also got the bus from Lagos to Praia da Luz which is also well worth a visit. The breakfast was very good and plenty to eat for all. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the staff were more than helpful. Would definitely recommend and would love to return. The best restaurants we found were just around the corner. Onda Norte absolutely fantastic very good value and well known to the locals but please book the night before. Twisted Twirly right next door to Onda Norte also very good value and we visited this daily after either walking back from the beach or town for refreshments. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We didn't go for the view as we wanted a cheap holiday and were glad we were at the back as we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is defenitly a great hotel for a reasonable price!! Based in d ana beach one of the most beautiful beaches I ever seen!! The Staff of the hotel are highly helpful!! I recommend this hotel for all holiday makers in Lagos

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenlord01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Carvi Hotel in May 2013.
The hotel is located near the picturesque Dona Ana beach and is a short 15 minute walk away from old town Lagos. The room appeared to have been recently redecorated to a good standard and was modern and clean. The beds were very comfortable with clean sheets. The staff could not have been any more helpful and were always pleasant and accommodating.
We stayed B&B so can't comment on anything other than breakfasts. The breakfast was basic and predictable but as the hotel was reasonably priced we can't have too many complaints.
One thing that may put some people off is the huge Golfinho Hotel next door that has fallen into a derelict state and can be a little sinister to walk past late at night. This aside, the Carvi Hotel represents excellent value for money and can be heartily recommended based on our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelb722000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We're just back from here a few days ago and to be honest I'd love to be back again. The hotel is in a beautiful part of Portugal, infact probably the most beautiful part. The beaches are stunning as are the views from the trails and hills in the surrounding areas. The town is a nice 10-15 minute stroll away and is also very picturesque, there are plenty of places to eat and drink all of which are good value for money. And after a busy day there is no better place to relax and bed down than the Carvi beach hotel. We had a lovely room with a seaview, plenty of space and comfy beds, the rooms we're spotless and cleaned everyday. The staff we're friendly and helpful and we're always more than willing to help in anyway they could. The breakfast was also a big plus, lots of variety and plenty of it. We would definitely stay here if we we're ever going back this way again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank garpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went with an open mind after reading some mixed reviews stayed for one week end of May 2013.
What a fantastic clean Hotel, booked room at the back and so pleased as saved the equivelant of 2 evening meals, the lovely evening sunshine is also enjoyed at the back, rather than the front. Room was tastefully decorated in pale grey, white and silver, fresh towels, bedlinen and complimentary toiletries daily. The beds were so comfortable huge deep/thick new matresses, only thing lacking was a full length mirror. Hotel reception Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfast was fine and the Staff worked tirelessly replenishing stocks.
The award winning Dona Ana beach a mere 2 minute walk away.
Was cold in the evenings and so pleased we took cardigans and fleeces and sensible shoes for the 20 minute walk into Lagos.
Eating out was an experience! We arrived at Restaurants at 8pm to be told fully booked, they couldn't even squeeze in a table for the two of us. I don't know what it would be like in the height of the Season. So would recommend what we did, pick up a Freemaps guide available in lots of outlets like Spa and shops, read the Restaurant reviews once in Lagos we would decide which one to book for the following evening by making a reservation you are sure to get the one of your choice then, instead of walking round and round to be told all of them are full up.
Would return to this lovely Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine9675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve

Property: Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Address: Alameda Dr. Armando Soares Ribeiro | Praia Dona Ana, Apartado 33, Lagos 8600-500, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#7 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful beaches on the Algarve coast, south of Portugal, is the Carvi Beach Hotel. Lagos, a city with more than 2.000 years of history, like many coastal towns in Portugal, Lagos has a special relation with the sea that is firmly established in history, culture, architecture and gastronomic patrimony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagos Carvi Hotel
Sol e Praia Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing