We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dom Manuel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dom Manuel Hotel
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Completely Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Loved Dom Manuel! Visited in August with a friend and we found the location perfect, the room spacious and comfortable, the breakfast delicious, the pool extremely relaxing and the service was excellent. Special thank you to Jessica for being so accommodating and kind. My only regret is not being able to spend more time there. Thank you for a much needed relaxation retreat in Portuguese Paradise!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABethC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    89
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
276
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

Great location and super cute but our room although huge, with a great balcony and clean was also very noisy. We discovered it was located above the breakfast room and not sound proofed enough so from 6am we heard a variety of noises. A shame as the staff were nice but I would think twice about re-booking.

Room Tip: Don´t stay at number 14... not sure about the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

All the good points we had read about this hotel were spot on, all the adverse remarks were way off. Firstly on arrival the warm welcome after a long journey was great, we were a little early and our room was not ready so we were offered a complimentary coffee while we waited. The room was better than we had anticipated with a great view over the pool and hotel. The pool was small but adequate for the size of the hotel and was never crowded and we spent a lot of time there soaking up the sun and the lovely ambiance that had been created with the garden. Breakfast was brilliant with cheeses, meats eggs and cereals along with the cakes and several other goodies.After a day at the beautiful beaches which were a Ten minute walk away or strolling around the beautiful centre of Lagos it was nice to come back to the hotel and chill out around the pool or the seating area around the reception which had a cool and calm feeling to it, a little oasis.All the staff were helpful and friendly but a special thank you to Bernadette and Jessica the evening reception staff and their cocktails before bedtime. This hotel is well worth a visit and is indeed truly CHARMING.

Room Tip: We had room 118 on the first floor which overlooked the pool and hotel and caught the late afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c88pers8n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We wanted to stay somewhere special for our two week holiday in Portugal, and for us this hotel was absolutely perfect. We don't like big noisy flashy hotels so Dom Manuel turned put to be just what we wanted. Although we booked with Booking.com we contacted the hotel direct to make sure we would be staying in a room in the main building which is beautifully and tastefully decorated and furnished. Everything we wanted, excellent shower, bath, comfortable bed, fridge etc in the room, balcony overlooking the pool and even an airier with pegs. The room was very clean and was impressed that the maid took notice when we left some towels on the rails to be used again. So many times in hotels we have done this and the maid has taken them anyway, just made us think that every small detail had been thought of.

Breakfast was one of the highlights of our day, beautifully presented, everything you could want (but not if you like big fry-ups) lots of fruit, cheeses, meats etc and eggs, bacon, mushrooms and beans too. The waitresses were lovely, as were the three receptionists, Jessica, Bernadet and Oksana who were so helpful. Loved Lagos as well we didn't have a car but were able to either walk or get a bus to get to wherever we wanted to go. We will be back and wouldn't even think of staying anywhere other than Dom Manuel

Room Tip: Would only avoid a room overlooking the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 night at the hotel. Upon arrival we felt welcome right away. Check in very smooth and friendly.

The staff are very friendly and always able and willing to help, make reservations and give their advice.

Rooms are spacey and the bed is nice. We had the room with pool view. Everything we needed was there.

The location was perfect for us. Although the hotel has no parking of its own we had no issues finding parking space for our car. About 6 min walk to the historic centre (lost of bars, restaurants, etc). To the beaches ( praia don ana in particular) are about a 6-10 minute walk away.

Breakfast was always very good!

Special thanks to jessica who was always willing to answer our questions with a smile!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank marv313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

What a lovely hotel. We booked via LowCostHolidays.com and the one niggle was that we were under the impression we had booked one of the 'classic' rooms rather than the 'standard' rooms. When we arrived we were shown to a standard room, and whilst I think the room (and particularly the bathroom which was beautiful) was very nice, it wasn't quite what we had expected when we booked in terms of décor. So if you do go through a site like that, be sure to look at the photos on the hotel's site too to check what room type you are getting. The standard rooms also have a different pool, although you are still allowed to use the pool for the classic rooms if you wish.
The bonus of having a standard room for us was that it was very quiet because it was out of school holidays, so we were pretty much the only people using our pool. The busiest day was in fact our arrival day, with 2 other couples. It was lovely to be able to walk out of your own French doors from the bedroom, to your own little seating area (complete with small drying area for towels etc which was handy) and then straight into the pool. Once we had relaxed into having the room, we were quite happy there.
The breakfast spread was particularly good; I partook of the yogurts, bread with cheese and fruit, and my partner sampled the eggs and very crispy bacon which he said was fantastic. It was plentiful and no one made you feel rushed. We sat outside under a pretty pergola each morning to eat which was very picturesque. On our last evening there we also sampled cocktails at the bar - I can definitely recommend the Long Island Ice Tea as one of the best I have had.
We asked the hotel receptionist for restaurant recommendations and both were fantastic. It is worth asking as they will have the local knowledge to prevent you from falling into any tourist traps. She also recommended a walking route around the Old Town, which was stunning at twilight when the heat is less overbearing.
In terms of location the place cannot be beaten. Our transfer from Faro took little over 1.5 hours and the nearest beach was a 5-10 minute stroll. The main beach is a little further, but worth the trek. For restaurants and bars, again about 5-10 minutes. The main feature of this hotel was that it felt incredibly calming and quiet, which was just what was needed.
One tip for the reception staff: We never knew whether the hotel has WiFi and if so whether we'd need to pay for it? For 3 nights this wasn't an issue but we didn't have time to go and find out - please can you ensure you include that information when you welcome guests.

Room Tip: Check whether you have a classic or standard room before you arrive ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie_Canterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Was a very pleasant stay and breakfast was good, the hotel is located in close proximity to some great beaches and not far from the Lagos centre. The staff are amazing and very helpful. The only one down side was the balcony wasn't really overlooking anything.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
16.2 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Manuel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Manuel Hotel

Property: Dom Manuel Hotel
Address: Lote 37 Rua Gago Coutinho | Vila Praia D'Ana, Lote 7, Lagos 8600-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Manuel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dom Manuel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Manuel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing