We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK location, nice pool, nice breakfast”
Review of Dom Manuel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dom Manuel Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a lot of trouble choosing a hotel in Lagos. We wanted to be walking distance from The old town centre and beaches, but somewhere with decent rooms and facilities. This hotel is within walking distance of beaches and the old town, but on a hot day it is quite tiring. The breakfast is perfectly adequate. The pool is lovely to relax around/in when the wind picks up in the afternoon and the beaches become unpleasant - you can even get a cocktail! We had a suite room. It was lovely and spacious (although a little dated). The balcony had some lovely swing chairs on it. All in all it ticked all of our boxes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodFollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Dom Manuel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 423 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Small comfortable hotel, large comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts.
Very friendly staff nothing was too much trouble.
Our room had free wi-fi and safety deposit box; the hotel bar prices were the same as the bars in town, which is just a ten minute walk. All in all we had a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davidhlm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband & I stayed here 4 nights. Worked out to be £51 per night. Great room which was comfortable clean & cozy. Lovely staff who were very friendly & helpful. Breakfast had a huge selection and will cater for dietary needs.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicki75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Amazing hotel with history touch.
Extremely good staff.
Polite,cooperative,experienced.
Perfect breakfast!
We stayed before in several aces in Portugal but none of hotels before was like this one.highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katiasp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you want a small hotel that is full of character and charm and want to avoid large, bland tourist type hotels, then the Dom Manuel is for you. The whole hotel, rooms and pool area are kept exceptionally clean. The pool is small and isn't really designed for proper swimming but it does the job of cooling you off. Balconies are lovely and really feel an extension of the room space. It was really useful to have a kettle, mugs and teaspoons in the room although I would advise you bring your own tea and coffee. We also had a fridge in the room. Breakfast is good and perfectly acceptable although not especially outstanding. There is a breakfast area outside which is very civilised but if full, you have to eat inside - the downside being that we found the chairs pretty uncomfortable - but this is a minor issue. It does take a good twenty minutes to get into the centre of town where all the restaurants are but the plus side is that it is within reasonable walking distance to some fantastic beaches.

Room Tip: I would recommend a pool view room on the first floor - it is worth paying a little bit extra
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

we stayed at dom manuel for three nights in july 2012. in general the place is quite nice and offers a piece of quiet in the otherwise tourist-crowded town of lagos. the whole structure is clean and well-kept, staff was polite and accomodating. also, rooms are provided with free wi-fi, which was cool, although it stopped working from time to time.

however, i'd like to mention a couple of things we did not quite like:

breakfast quality was not more than average.

once we asked for a knife at the hotel bar because we wanted to cut some chorizo and cheese we had bought at the supermarket, and we were given one only after complex negotiations. what's wrong with borrowing a knife? if I had wanted to stab someone, i'd brought my own knife anyway!

at our arrival, there were some other people checking in and we had to wait for about half an hour before we were led to our room. Between bringing people to their rooms, Jessica was also busy at the hotel bar and answering other guests' requests. Apparently the hotel's policy is to take as much time as possible for every guest in order to make him feel comfortable, which is OK. But if more than one arrival is foreseen on one particular day, there should be more than one person available to welcome guests and manage other reception jobs at check-in time. Once you eventually made it to the hotel after a long day (as it was in our case) you really deserve to be checked in quickly and you definitely don't appreciate waiting any longer.

I don't know how often this happens but I think hotel owners should consider this last point with care especially because this affects the first impression hotel guests get.

Altogether I think the price is a little bit too high for what is being offered. We enjoyed our stay but were certainly not overwhelmed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in early July for 4 nights. It was the perfect getaway for us. The hotel was charming and filled with character. It was just the start of tourist season so we had nice hot weather and it wasn't too quiet or too busy. In fact this small hotel looked like it only had about ten other visitors at the time of our stay which was perfect for us. It provided a very cosy romantic atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They even provided us with a snack pack on the day of our departure since we would be missing the breakfast buffet. The buffet was served 8:00 - 10:30 a.m. and had an assortment of pastries, eggs, coffee, teas, juice and cold cuts. Drinks were served at the hotel bar in the evenings. Cocktails including Sangria were priced between 3.00 and 4.00 eruos. The rooms were very in excellent condition and cleaned daily. There was a small spa that offered massages for 30.00 euros for an hour and half full body. The pool was small but lovely. The hotel was located up on a hill in a quiet residential area only ten minutes walking from the old town and beach.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in Dom Manuel I and not Dom Manuel II. Dom Manuel II is an extension of the hotel...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 52 in Lagos
372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 52 in Lagos
3,219 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 52 in Lagos
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
2.1 mi away
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
0.5 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 52 in Lagos
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Manuel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Manuel Hotel

Address: Lote 37 Rua Gago Coutinho | Vila Praia D'Ana, Lote 7, Lagos 8600-593, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $69 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Manuel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dom Manuel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Manuel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing