We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Apartments” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canavial I & II Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canavial I & II Apartments
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spotlessly clean apartments with friendly staff and management. Every thing is to hand with beautiful beaches in close proximity and a twenty minute walk into town where there are great restaraunts and bars. A really good place to stay for couples or families using the apartments as a base to visit the Algarve and surrounding areas, water parks and marine life at the zoo marine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gil186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    56
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
48
95
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I am currently staying here, but I couldn't wait to get home to write a review, on arrival I was greater by two lovely gentleman, and being a female with a young child they made me feel welcome and safe, they took time to show me around and to make sure everything was good for me, as I was informed when I booked I should pay up on arrival, they didn't even ask, so after I settled in my room I went to find them to pay. They gave me the code for the free wi-fi. Later that evening I want out for a walk to meet my friend who was staying in a nearby hotel, the manager drove past me, then stopped to make sure I was ok and knew where I was going, which I thought was very kind. My 1st night was great, and you have a control to get the room to the right temperature, I've been here 3 days up to yet and I'm having a fantastic stay, my room is cleaned everyday with fresh towels and new toilet roll, I will deffinately be staying here again, made to feel safe and welcome and that for me being a young female with a young infant is very important, very nice staff

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine-siobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have had 3 holidays here and all have been very pleasant and enjoyable. It is quiet. It is about 25 minutes road walk into Lagos where there plenty of good restaurants at reasonable prices and others that are a little nearer: we like a walk after our meal and this is about the right distance back. There is a 1.5 hour cliff top walk (take water) into Luz where you can get meals before returning. You can also go the long way into Lagos along the coast footpath (About 1 hour). Porta de Mos which is 8 minutes walk - has an excellent beach. There is a small supermarket about 15 minutes walk and big ones, 5 mins drive away. The rooms have all you basically need, a3rd bed can be added. many cook their own evening meals. The rooms are kept very clean. Outside sun loungers and pool allow you to relax on site. Owner is very pleasant and helpful. Wifi Access. Some bikes available. We like it very much.

Room Tip: Ask the owner for a room to suite you. There are rooms overlooking the pool and some around the corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here 5 nights last week.. Lovely apartments, excellent value for money and very friendly owner and staff. Half hour stroll into town and taxi back less than 5 euros. cannot fault it and would certainly stay again. Garden is beautiful. Quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashirePusscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a wonderful, wonderful stay at Canavial apartments. We caught a taxi from the main bus station to the apartments. The apartments are about a 7 minute walk from the beach (with a nice restaurant on the beach; San Antonio's). The apartments were peaceful, the rooms were cleaned daily, there were no problems with the shower or water, and the environment is overall peaceful. However, the most special part about the Canavial apartments is the owner, Joao. Joao is a very nice and hospitable person. He invited us into his home to watch the last 5 minutes of the Portugal Eurocup game; he gave us his own bicicycles to ride into town (15 minutes by bicycle); and he was our taxi driver to the bus station when we realized that our bus was leaving in 15 minutes. We will definitely visit and stay with Joao again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amasev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights, and loved it! We had room 9 in canavial 1. The room was spacious, light and had a well fitted kitchenette and nice bathroom. The balcony had ocean vieuws, a table and chairs and a parasol. Good double size bed. The building is a villa with a nice garden with flowers and fruittrees. The pool is great and wel kept. No chemicals/chlorine. We felt like we had our own private villa. Location close to the beach, but not to the (not so great) city centre. Private parking spaces. Friendly owner. Daily maintanence of the room. Great place to relax and explore Lagos! Recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We went to Lagos in May of 2012, used to traveling and staying in youth hostals. We found a great deal with the Canavial Apartments. We loved our stay there. The complex is family run, has a great pool, nice rooms, and it comes with a kitchen. We had maid service every day. She even cleaned our dirty dishes and pots. The Canavial apartments were perfect for us because we had our private rooms but then immediate access to the pool and lawn area. We got to meet people, we all talked and ate our meals outside around the pool area which I thought was nice. We didn't go to the bars and restaurants down town, but had a great time making food and drinks and staying around the pool most nights.
Ohh and the pictures on this website are accurate. That is exactly what it looks like ! Really a beautiful spot.

(+)
-The rooms are very clean
-The beds are comfortable
-Comes with kitchen (we bought food at a small market and made all our meals there to save money)
-Cheap ! there were 3 of us per/room. and when we divided the total bill it was as cheap and in some cases cheaper than many youth hostals we had stayed in
-We had a blow dryer and iron/ironing board
-The pool is great ! beautiful grass and lounge chairs to relax in
-The staff was very friendly and genuinely wanted us to have a great vacation
-15 minute walk to Ponta de Piedade (with the amazing rock formations) and beautiful beaches. great if you don't have a car but want to go see the beaches
-5 min walk to amazing views of the Atlantic
-only a 5 minute cab into town

(-)
-Internet does not work that great. We found a few spots outside where you could get reliable wifi. But you're in Lagos, you don't need to use the internet that much.
-We didn't have hot water for a few hours one day. But the owner personally came around to each apartment to let us know and told us it would be fixed soon, which it was.
-It was hard for us to find the reception desk or staff member when we first arrived

I would 100% recommend this to anyone who is studying abroad, a family, and for anyone who wants to spend time at the beaches! If you want to be by the restaurants, and down town area this might not be for you. However, it is only a 5 minute cab away. and there is free parking for guests of the Canavial if you have a car !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#13 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lagosmar Hotel
Lagosmar Hotel
#18 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quinta dos Caracois
Quinta dos Caracois
#24 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canavial I & II Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canavial I & II Apartments

Property: Canavial I & II Apartments
Address: Canavial Street | Lote A 11 & 24, Estrada do Porto de Mos – Urb. Canavial, Lagos 8600-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lagos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canavial I & II Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The complex is formed by two small blocks of studios situated in a quiet area, close to the sea. Canavial I & II Apartments offers guests two swimming pools for adults and a sun terrace. Sun loungers and parasols are available at no extra charge. There is free wireless Internet access and free parking and a large terrace next to the gardens. Hotel location description The small studio complex is situated in a prime location 600 m away from Porto de Mos beach and close to the other beaches, such as Dona Ana beach (1.5 km) and the famous Ponta da Piedade (2 km). The picturesque historic centre of Lagos (2.5 km) can be easily reached by public transport (bus stop 300 m away), and is around 80 km to Faro Airport. Room description The “Studios 2 Adults” may comprise twin beds or a double bed, a cot or a camp bed (suitable for children aged 1-12) and private bathroom, hairdryer, a kitchenette, fridge, individually regulated air conditioning and safety box (extra charge). There are garden views from the balcony or terrace.”Studios 3 Adults” has capacity for 3 adults. All studios have Internet access, a bath or shower, a 2-ring cooker, microwave, kettle, toaster, tea/coffee maker, satellite and local TV. Comments from hotel The reception is open 9 am to 7 pm. Guests arriving outside these times should please advise the establishment of their estimated arrival time by calling (351) 919259132. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Canavial I & II Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canavial Apartments Lagos
Canavial Apartments Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing