We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for two weeks in September. We paid extra for a pool view which was worthwhile as I wouldn't have liked having the car park as a view! The reception staff varied, some were more friendly than others. We had a one bedroomed apartment with convertible sofas in the lounge area. Ricardo, the fitness instructor, is excellent. We went on the walking tour and cycling tour even both almost cover the same area. He is great fun and is very proud of Lagos! The Portugese evening in the resturant is to be avoided though. The cost is €25 per person, this includes half bottle of wine. The food is tasteless and no one explains what you are eating. There are so many restaurants in the area serving delicious food with very friendly waiters that I would definitely give this a miss.

Room Tip: Ask for pool/marina view definitely avoid the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your words and are pleased to ear that you've enjoyed your holidays in Marina Club and in Lagos.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    199
    52
    19
    7
See reviews for
168
221
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for a week in mid September. Arrived at about 7.30pm and check in was quick and efficient and very polite. We had booked a pool/sea view with sunny balcony on higher floors but were given an appartment which overlooked a busy road and car park and some scrub land. On top of that there were two huge trees right in front of balcony blocking out a lot of light. We complained to reception but were told that we could not be relocated that night as the hotel was full. The following morning we were given a lovely appt overlooking pool and marina but had to pay an extra E60 for it but was well worth it. The appt was beautiful and very well kitted out. The beds were comfortable and bathroom, though small, was very nice as well and had a bath and shower. The balcony a bit small but lovely all the same with a lovely view. Lovely flat screen TV with lots of channels.
The complex is very well maintained and the hotel areas lovely with white marble and wood. The pool area big and lots of sunbeds but not many with umbrellas so getting a shady spot was difficult. The surrounding areas lovely with a selection of bars and restaurants but it was very quite and there was no music or entertainment (maybe we didnt go to right places). Was disappointed that beach and town of Lagos was a good walk away but worth a visit. On the whole it was very relaxing but felt by 11 o clock at night you could hear a pin drop around hotel.Went on the Dolphin trip which was good fun and cost 50 Euro for two of us. Lovely place for a quite relaxing holiday.

The staff were very nice and friendly and very polite all the time. Supermarket was a good 10 min walk and was hard to locate the first time but it cetainly had everything you could want.

Room Tip: Look for pool/marina view or you will get a busy road and carpark to look at. We had room 310 which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patriciatogher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your words. Please note that you booked a south/land view apartment and probably requested a marina or pool view (we do not have sea view) but it was a request not a booking, reason why you had to pay the difference.
We are sorry for the misunderstanding but glad that overall you've enjoyed your stay in Marina Club.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in a one bedroom apartment booked through Travel Republic.

Our apartment was huge and could easily have accommodated another couple on the convertible sofas in the lounge / kitchen area . My only minor critcism was that it was a little sparsely furnished and could have done with a few more comforts such as cushions and stuff to make it feel a bit more homely.
The apartment had a good sized balcony but again this was sparcely furnished with only a small table and two chairs , it would have been nicer if there was a taller dining table so we could eat out there and some sunbeds would have been nice too.

That being said, the apartment had all of the essentials and provided us with a great base for our holiday . The staff were very friendly and helpful and the whole place was kept spotlessly clean.

Possibly one other minor criticism would be that whilst there are plenty of sun beds by the pool , there are only a few umbrellas, so finding some shade was sometimes a problem .


The nearby beaches are all very nice, the hotel provides a free shuttle to the closest and largest beach and there is a 'hop on - hop off' road train that starts at the marina at 10am and runs until 11:00pm that goes to all of the beaches as well as the old town .It costs Euro2.50 each for an all day ticket.
Lagos old town is a 10 minute walk and has a very good assortment of restaurants and bars and there is always a lot of activity with buskers and street entertainers that give the place a great atmosphere.
There are also a number of bars and restaurants at the Marina itself just a few minutes walk from the hotel and these have live music most nights so there is no lack of entertainment or places to eat and drink. Prices in Portugal are also very reasonable (possibly the cheapest in Europe)

I'd recommend Oasis for a good English breakfast , The lighthouse bar on the upper level at the Marina is great for drinks and has live music most nights .


Overall I would recommend Lagos town as a place for a holiday and the Marina Club Hotel is a great base

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind words and are most pleased to ear that you've enjoyed your holidays in Marina Club and in Lagos.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This Hotel is lovely huge swimming pool no matter how many kids in pool still had room to swim or relax in it. The only thing was there was very few sun shades so you had to get up early to put towel out to make sure you got bed with shade. The rooms were nice and clean, the beds were lovely and comfy had a great sleep and handy to have the self catering. The beach is only across the rd about 5 min walk up the harbor road. The train station is right across too never hear the trains. It's central to everything, there is boat trips from the harbor I would recommend the "dizzy dolphin" company stall on the harbor as they have the lowest boat to water to see the dolphins brilliant trip. The hotel is very quite at night time no entertainment in hotel made it very dead. The restaurants around the hotel are lovely to eat in too. The bar is very small and the bar area to sit in is very small, but there are pubs around the area.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front of hotel road side but it wasn't noisy at all so either side is fine. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your kind words. We are always delighted to know our guest enjoyed their holidays with us!

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Have just returned from 8 wonderful days in a one bedroom suite at the Marina Club. Like other reviewers we cant fault this holiday; the staff were very friendly & helpful with a sense of humour. Our rooms were cleaned daily, regular fresh towels, new toiletires & a decent sized patio. The kitchenette probably had more equipment than I have at home!!!
Plenty of bars/cafes/ restaurants locally; & a ten minute walk away over the bridge Lagos town is full of entertainment especially on a Sat night.
Many choices of restaurants but there is a huge supermarket nearby if you wish to cook in the apartment.
The famous long sandy beach is about 10 mins walk away & has sun loungers & cafes as well as life guards on duty.
We were also given a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine to celebrate my 65th birthday.

If I had to find a complaint it would be that we would have preferred a double bed & the towels could have been fluffy---but this is being really fussy.

Would certainly jump at the chance to return. Love it!

Room Tip: In Sept rooms overlooking the pool aren't affected by noise & have the added perk of also be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wabbit48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to know our guest return home happy with their holidays. It also was our pleasure to have you here for your birthday.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leitrim
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I spent 7 nights at Marina Club with my wife in September. The hotel is situated at the Marina in Lagos. It is approx a 10 min stroll to the town centre. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants situated within the confines of the Marina. The Hotel staff were all very friendly and very helpful. The room we stayed in had a view of both the pool and Marina. The balcony was a little small but that didn't bother us. There are other rooms with bigger balconies which would probably suit families or larger parties. Room was cleaned every day to a very good standard. We didn't eat much at the hotel as we liked to sample the restaurants in the town centre, but when we did eat the food was nice. Pool is a very good size and well maintained. Jorge who's serves in the hotel bar most nights was very helpful with drink selection!! This is an excellent 4 star Hotel and I would highly recommend if any person is planning a trip to lagos. Absolutely no complaints during our stay, fantastic location and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seamiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are most pleased to know you've enjoyed your holiday with us.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. We had a very good stay, the facilities where as advertised and in most cases exceeded our expectations. We where on the ground floor, and our large patio had steps down to the pool area. The whole complex was a joy to stay in, and all staff very friendly. My only criticism was the 'towel race' each morning, but this is down to the mentality of other guests rather than the hotel. Lagos as a town has much to offer and the local beaches are dramatic and well looked after.

Room Tip: Our two room apartment was on a corner, all corner suites have much bigger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puntersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Happy guests are our main goal; therefore we thank you very much for your kind review that shows us that we've succeed!

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Lagos
3,083 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 51 in Lagos
1,345 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.5 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 51 in Lagos
291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Club Lagos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Club Lagos Resort

Property: Marina Club Lagos Resort
Address: Marina de Lagos, Lagos 8600-780, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#8 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#8 Family Hotel in Lagos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Club Lagos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Club Lagos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Club Lagos Hotel Lagos
Marina Hotel Lagos
Marina Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing