We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We travelled to this hotel in August. We arrived at the hotel around 9pm, and were checked in quickly and efficiently. We had requested an upper-floor room, and while they'd said in their email reply that they couldn't guarantee this, on reaching the room we realised that we'd been granted our request.

We stayed in a very spacious studio apartment. It contained 2 single beds, table + 2 chairs, kitchenette, and bathroom. There was a tv, iron and ironing board, hairdryer and plenty of wardrobe space. The kitchenette was the most equipped I've ever come across in a holiday apartment. It even contained teatowels, teapot stand and ice bucket! The fridge was almost full-size, not the very small half-size ones that normally inhabit holiday accommodation! The bathroom was very clean with a decent enough shower, though not the most powerful. The balcony had the usual furniture; the one unusual thing was that the washing line is blocked from public view by being "walled in" - great idea.

The bar area is furnished with a nautical theme - very nice, but very quiet in the evening; most guests tend to head into Lagos.

The pool area is lovely, but unfortunately there was the annoyance of people reserving sunbeds from dawn! The pool attendant did remove towels every so often, if someone asked them to find them a sunbed. I know it was high season, but there is plenty of space around the pool; maybe the hotel should consider investing in more sunloungers. There certainly didn't seem to be enough to cater for all guests when the hotel is full.

There are 4 nice bars-restaurants to the right of the hotel, and to the left, as you're heading to the town, there is another complex of bars and restaurants. Lagos is about a 10-minute walk away, but be aware that every footpath is cobbled so leave the high heels at home!! We found that overall, the food and wine in Lagos was excellent. We took the time to look up tripadvisor's list of restaurants and we were glad we did - it was worth it. Price-wise, 2 mains and a bottle of wine generally came to between €30 and €50. As it was August, the resort was very busy, and many of the restaurants, especially those on the main thoroughfare, had queues outside them at peak dinner time.

The beach to the east of town is absolutely huge, miles long, but it was very windy while we were there so slightly uncomfortable. The is a little ferry-punt that brings people across the river from the beach to the town and back, for about 60/70c... very useful!

There is a large supermarket behind the hotel, just ask at reception for directions. It's only 3 mins away.

Overall, this hotel and resort is a great choice for all, but especially for families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read nice words from happy clients.
Thank you so much.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 563 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

First class hotel in an excellent location, friendly staff, great food, very clean. No complaints whatsoever. The two bed suite we had was very spacious and cleaned every day. Quite a number of restaurants close by at the marina. A short ten minute walk into lagos central with very many and varied eateries.

Room Tip: Try a double suite with pool or marina view. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phineDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had a wonderful time staying in marina club while in Portugal. We stayed in a studio apt, it was clean and bright had a great kitchen well stocked with everything u could need. The apt was cleaned everyday the only drawback was that the balcony was a little small. The pool area was lovely and we always managed to get a lounger. The location was great, right on the marina equidistant from the gorgeous beach and town centre. All in all a fab place to stay

Room Tip: Studio apts only have view of the road so maybe go for one or two bed apt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words.
Please note that we also have studios in, another building, with Marina or Pool View (superior studios). Standar studios are the ones that are south/land view. You can easily check all our type of apartments and views in www.marinaclub.pt.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for one 1 week (Sept 8th).
1st impressions; well presented sprawling accomodation initially uncertain where it began and ended. Parking very accessible - car park opposite to rear entrance. Note train station easy 5 mins walk away for those arriving by train (cheaper than taxi transfer i'm sure!!)

Reception very efficient; friendly and helpful. Good sense of humour too. Good banter between female receptionists and my husband when he asked for contact details of hotel in 'event of a disaster on our hire bikes!!'

Rooms; We were delighted to be 'upgraded to a partial marina view suite (Thankyou). The suite was light; airy; spotlessley clean and well equipped (did need to ask for wine glasses x 2 as I really don't like my wine in a tumbler).

Rear view is over car park but if on a high elevation can see sea and old town. We also had luxury of a side marina veiw - lovely; especially at sun set.
Personally don't think I would have been happy in rear lower level room which really is a street view from balcony - not something I would expect from 4* accomodation.

Pool; clean, pretty, didn't encounter any problems getting sunbed at any time of the day. I believe hotel has policy of removing towels if placed for long periods unattended (issue never arose during our stay). Pool towels are available for those staying in 4* hotel section.

Gym spa; beautifully presented - didn't use services myself but did note daily offers which seemed reasonable

Hotel restaurant - Appeared ambient for breakfast - overlooks marina. We preferred to chill out on our balcony having stocked up our good sized fridge from local Pingo Dolce which is in easy walking distance. Mateus Rose - 3.5 Euro a bottle - lovel at lunch once I had got my wine glasses!!! Personally wouldn't consider half board option as too many nice restaurants in town to stay at marina on a night!

Hired bikes from hotel - competitively priced; satisfactory bikes - Note no basket/bottle holder so remember a back pack if planning to cycle. Plan your route before you go as no particular cycle routes/maps for Lagos available. We found ourselves on stunning cliff top route and got to Praia da Luz - we are 4 x weekly exercisers & shorter options are obviously available.

The marina; albeit very pretty in my opinion, it is rather soulless. There are a few lively bars and a couple of restaurants near the entrance that were popular, however there are many empty commercial units; bars and restaurants suggesting that the marina lifestyle / vision hasn't really happened here! We ate in the old town every night which is very ambient with lots of bars and restaurants to satisfy all tastes.

Overall: This hotel is probably one of the best placed accomodations for access to both beach and old town. It is a flat easy walk either way approx 15 mins but hotel does have shuttle for those who prefer to ride.

It is a shame that the pretty marina area 'hasn't quite happened' as it would be perfect. Early one evening there was a 'live' music band (promoting an art exhibition in one of the empty units) This totally transformed the ambience of the area and enticed us from our balcony to have our 'pre diner' drink on the marina. All marina unit owners - take note!!!

Lagos old town has something for everyone from boat trips; shopping; bars; live street entertainmnet and plenty of good restaurants. It is really quite ambient on an evening with something for all ages.

Room Tip: If not paying premium for pool view - Request high level room to reduce risk of street view balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cazbaz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank your for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to have feedback from happy clients.
Please be aware that sunbed towels are available for all our guests.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I could not speak highly enough of the staff, they were friendly and very efficient. Lovely apartment, so clean! Location was perfect, if we felt like eating locally at night there were so many nice places near us, and then a short walk across the footbridge brought us into the Lagos nightlife.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind words.
It is always a pleasure to have feedbaks from happy clients.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

After a nice stay our holiday was ruined by a missing article of clothing from our room. The management did nothing to rectify our situation only to deny all responsibility
We were left out of pocket and will never be able to replace this article of clothing which held sentimental value to us

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diggermate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We need to clarify that we, and other hotels, can not be held responsible for articles left outside the safe deposit boxes.
Also want to say that we've searched for the alleged missing blankett 3 times. We checked the entire stock of our laundry and could not find any blankett that did not belong to us.
Finally a word to inform that our staff works with us for many years and are quite used to find all sort of valuables in the apartments and are perfectly aware that they belong to guests!

Marina Club Lagos Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel and apartment complex is superb. When we arrived we were expecting to be allocated a standard studio room with land view, but when we checked in at the reception desk they informed us that they were giving us a free upgrade to a superior studio with a pool/marina view. We were very pleased when we saw the room we were allocated. It was spotlessly clean and the décor was first class. Everything in the apartment was brand new and modern. Flat screen TV with lots of English channels. The staff at the Marina Club Hotel were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel is very close to all the amenities. The resort of Lagos itself has a very relaxed feel to it, with lots of nice places to eat and drink. The problem would be choosing which one to eat in as they all have such tempting menus. The Marina Club Hotel is right on the Marina and if you don’t feel like walking into the town there are plenty of bars and restaurants all around the marina. We have been to Portugal a few times before, but this is by far the best stay here we have had. Top marks to Marina Club and the resort of Lagos. Please don’t ever change. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cp4550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

It was such a pleasure to read your very kind words.

It makes us feel our work is worthy when we get a feedback such as yours.
Thank you very much.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Marina Club Lagos Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 53 in Lagos
1,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,316 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
647 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
453 reviews
1.5 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Club Lagos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Club Lagos Resort

Address: Marina de Lagos, Lagos 8600-780, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lagos
#7 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $73 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Club Lagos Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Club Lagos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Club Lagos Hotel Lagos
Marina Hotel Lagos
Marina Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing