We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee place”
Review of Solar de Mos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solar de Mos Hotel
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We are just back from the Solar de Mos and although I normally only review places I have had bad experiences of, I felt the need to add my voice to the positive comments already posted by others.

This hotel was very welcoming and offered a service above what I have experienced elsewhere. Little things like cushions on balcony chairs, light bulbs replaced when asked, towels you can take to the beach, giant comfortable beds, clean well maintained rooms.

I had the best meal of our holiday here, monkfish and prawn cataplana. It takes time to prepare these dishes so need to order in advance as pointed by others but its most definitely worth it!

It's a bit of a walk into town but the peace and quiet of the area again makes it worth the effort and helps to walk of the grub. Nearby beaches were stunning too.

Thanks to Mario, Lena and the rest of the staff for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacque61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Solar de Mos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 302 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights before flying home after a villa rental. All was fine, but it's not the utopia described in some reviews. Staffing levels are stretched and we were told that a meal had to be ordered before 12, even though check in is 2 and this was a first night. Our room was too small and there was no where for luggage. Everyone is friendly and welcoming and the pool is the best feature. It is a long way out of town and not an easy walk in the heat of high summer. Stay here, but expect a sound reliable slightly frumpy hotel. This not nirvana.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We discovered Solar de Mos in 2006 and have returned 2/3 times a year since which speaks volumes,peaceful,hassle free and the ideal place to "chill out".Bus stop right outside no need to walk into town 1 euro 20 fare,taxi back 4 euro.Can't say to much about the staff it will give them enlarged ego's.Traditional Portugese rooms,mini bar refrigerator,enough food at breakfast to feed an army,huge swimming pool considering the size of the hotel.Please don't tell anyone its a well guarded secret.

Room Tip: Not really able to say you might take our's.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We selected the Solar de Mos based on Tripadvisor reviews. We had high expectations which were absolutely met. Nice hotel, very kind staff, quiet, clean, the perfect place for a couple to chill out. Indeed, it is a bit of a walk to the town center, but absolutely managable and quite lovely on warm day. We can certainly recommend it. The reveiws we found for this hotel were mostly appropriate.

Room Tip: Can't say. We took what we got, which was on the ground floor, but it was lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Been here for 10 days and guys it was really a very pleasant experience.
The staff bends over backwards for any wishes from the guests.
Rooms are cosy, air-coed and clean. Try to ge rooms 104, 105 or 106 to have a sea view (far!) and look over the pool.
Breakfast is simple, but sufficient.
The rooms were cleanwd while we had breakfast - these guys are super fast!
Pool is very clean and as the hotel is small you always find empty chairs.
Did not try the hotel restaurant, so cannot tell anything about it.
The hotel is closely situated to Praia de Mos (good beach a bit off the usual ones and good if it is too windy. Try the Antonio restaurant there).
Two small supermarkets are close to the hotel (250m and 400m).
The taxis in high season from city centre to the hotel cost only 5 Eur, so stroll to town, have dinner and take a taxi (! Long waiting queues ca 10-15 min at high season).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sebemig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Good service, good price, good location. A friend referred my family as a Good Hotel. It's located in a clean and relatively near beach in Lagos. Great staff .We will come back for sure in the next year! Best of luck!

Mark Smith

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We opted for this hotel on the strength of some excellent reviews. Some of these were perhaps a little over the top, but the Solar de Mos is essentially a pleasant place to stay. It's quiet and relaxing and the staff were friendly, particularly Mario, who was great fun and extremely helpful. The room was a good size, particularly the bathroom and everything was clean. The hotel is between 10-15 mins walk from the town and the spectacular beach, but we don't mind a walk. Only one requirement stops this hotel receiving a 5 rating and that was the visibility of the staff. The reception and bar were often unmanned, which meant you had to ring a bell and wait a while, but this didn't mar our stay.

Room Tip: First floor rooms seemed larger, but ground floor rooms had a terrace with sun beds.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spencer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
426 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 52 in Lagos
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.5 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.5 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar de Mos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar de Mos Hotel

Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia de Lagos, Lagos 8600-621, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#7 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $66 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Mos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run hotel, with a welcoming atmosphere and a personal service it is built on two floors with a lift. The 15 well appointed bedrooms all with terrace or balcony are equiped with private bathroom (with bathrobe), mini-bar, direct dial telephone, alarm clock, safe (rentable) cable TV and air conditioning, smoke and fire detectors, electric power at 220v. A free parking place direct at the hotel is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Solar de Mos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar De Mos Lagos
Hotel Solar De Mos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing