We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Solar de Mos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Solar de Mos Hotel
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Not sure what else I can say, a quiet gem away from the hustle and bustle of your normal Algarve clientele, I am in the middle of a 5 day stay and will definitley return, the cleanliness is superb, fantastic bathroom, very tranquil not sure i have seen many other guests or staff in the last 72 hours but still it feels just right, I can thoroughly reccomend if you fancy a nice chilled break. Enjoy!!

Stayed: July 2012
1  Thank AdrianM853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolardeMos, Owner at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your review.
It's always important for us to have feedback of our work.
Your good evaluation give us a good motive to keep going.
Best regards
Carlos Gloria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 310 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was undecided about choosing this hotel or going for one of the larger hotel chains. I am glad I made the right choice. This small family run hotel is spotlessly clean, well run and the staff are excellent and possess a good sense of humour.
The hotel is set in a quiet rsidential area about a mile from the centre of Lagos and the hotel atmoshere made for a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday. The pool and bar area is more than adequate given that the hotel has only 15 rooms. Breakfast was good and catered for a variety of tastes and lunch time snacks were the usual toasties, etc. At night we walked into Lagos and had dinner so we can't offer any comment on this aspect of hotel cuisine.
All in all we had a thoroughly good time and hope to be back at this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolardeMos, Owner at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear T
Thank you very much for your review.
For us it's, of course, great to know our guests enjoy to stay with us.
We keep trying to do our best.
I wish you a nice time.
Carlos Gloria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week after reading all of the reviews. We have to agree with many- the owners are very helpfull and friendly, location is good, hotel is spotless and rooms tidy. The breakfast is basic cold fare and a bit disorganised and seems as the effort to try to please all tastes confuses things leaving a jumbled election. The place feels like a large villa rather than a hotel but that adds to the intimacy that may appeal to guests. Bottom line, its a good 3 star and for the price I would defiantly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrMarkBennettcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed at this property for three nights and was delighted about my choice. The owner/manager (?) and the staff made me feel welcome beyond my expectations.

The entire hotel feels like a home rather than a hotel: the owner arranged for clearly distinguishable areas to read, to eat or to have a drink. The pool was bit cold in March, but it made a well-kept impression. The bar was well stocked and the bartender patient even with indecisive patrons: he took his time explaining Portuguese wine and beer choices.

The room was spacious, the bathroom generously sized. Breakfast was plenty, with specialties of the region, but catering also to the palates of less adventurous travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeorgeCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolardeMos, Owner at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your review.
It's always important for us to have feedback of our work.
Your good evaluation give us a good motive to keep going.
Best regards
Carlos Gloria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We arrive at this hotel somewhat at the ends of our tether! A bus ride from Seville took 6 hours even though the distance is only about 300km. The numerous stops that make it so slow (even though ticket says 1 stop in huelva there were about 5 or 6). So, finally we arrive at reception, where I'm greeted by a lady who has such a warm smile and good sense of humour. My spirits lifted from this small exchange and she showed us our room. Ground floor with double bed (not two sinlges pushed together as is expected) private terrace and big ensuite and flat screen tv (also not to be expected). The room was spotlessly clean. Bathroom was awesome, large, ventilated, great shower. But it doesn't end there. The first night is the best sleep both of us have in 10 days of travel. Breakfast is a diverse offering of fresh uncut fruits, yoghurt, breads, cereals, 8 kinds of teas & coffee, cheeses, ham, scrambled and boiled eggs. This is uncommon if you get my drift. The pool is large and clean (ph & temperature levels written on a blackboard daily). We stayed an extra night (from 2 nights to 3). The staff are fantastic and the sense of humour I picked up on really unfolded over time to include a long time guest being comically serenaded by staff on her departure. The brother and sister owners are from Lagos and their love of the town and their business shines through in everything they do for their guests and in the standards of their work. We spent a fair bit of time in town too and the distance of the hotel from the town might be a downfall for some as it's a decent walk of about 20mins. The hotel also promotes itself as a four star hotel, which it might be by Portugese standards, but not what I'd consider 4 star. In any case, overall, a terrific hotel experience.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2 if it's available (bathroom suits wheelchair access hence it's luxuriously sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your review.
We are very touched and thankful for your words.
I wish you can find always nice places in your life.
Kind regards
Carlos Gloria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Based on other reviews we choose this hotel for a last minute getaway. We are so glad we did as the hotel and staff lived up to all expectations and more. Without question we would return there.

However please consider the location and make sure that it suits on all counts, distance from airport, distance and gradients to the beaches, to the old town etc. Wouldn't want anyone to be disappointed, we enjoy walking and otherwise make good use of public transport.

Hotel can arrange airport transfer, but check out other reviews, taxi old town to hotel cost €4, bus stop at door (no advice here as we didn't use, but timetable showed route to Praia de Mos and I think Praia D'Ana). Hire car parking at hotel no problem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cl0ver4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your review.
We always appreciate to have feed back. It help us also to understand better what we do and have.
We look forward for your visit in a near future.
Best regards
Carlos Gloria
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here in the last week of May 2012 and I'm so glad we did. We wanted a hotel rather than an apartment but we didn't want a large hotel with lots of kids running around or nightly poolside 'entertainment'. This place was perfect. Clean and comfortable, quiet and perfectly located. It's a reasonable walking distance from old town plus lots of free parking at the hotel for a hire car. The staff are lovely, so friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

I believe the rooms have been refurbished. The one we stayed in was very modern, had a comfortable bed and a large bathroom with brand new fittings.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovebristol_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards.
Carlos Gloria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
453 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 53 in Lagos
390 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
646 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar de Mos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar de Mos Hotel

Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia de Lagos, Lagos 8600-621, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#6 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $69 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Mos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run hotel, with a welcoming atmosphere and a personal service it is built on two floors with a lift. The 15 well appointed bedrooms all with terrace or balcony are equiped with private bathroom (with bathrobe), mini-bar, direct dial telephone, alarm clock, safe (rentable) cable TV and air conditioning, smoke and fire detectors, electric power at 220v. A free parking place direct at the hotel is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Solar de Mos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar De Mos Lagos
Hotel Solar De Mos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing